Medivation Reviews | Glassdoor

Medivation Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 53 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Medivation CEO David T. Hung, MD
David T. Hung, MD
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great science, good people, good benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great location, friendly working environment, strong teams(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is going through a massive growth so lots of growing pains(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "highs and lows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Medivation full-time

      Pros

      Great people, fun culture from the beginning

      Cons

      Tumultuous decision-making toward the end

      Medivation2019-02-22
    • "Surreal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medivation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great science, good people, good benefits

      Cons

      Only place I've ever worked where people were terrified about imminent capricious job loss and a few tyrants in senior positions

      Medivation2019-04-04
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medivation full-time

      Pros

      Intelligent staff, great location, profit sharing

      Cons

      Fast paced, aggressive management

      Medivation2019-01-28
    • "Fast-paced, exciting work place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Corporate Counsel in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medivation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      collegial and friendly work environment, super smart colleagues

      Cons

      lots of fire drills and preventable emergencies due to lack of planning

      Medivation2019-01-10
    • "Maintenance Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Conroe, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Medivation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      great benefits and some room for advancement

      Cons

      "me too" movement type culture. accusation no evidence can get you fired

      Advice to Management

      not good

      Medivation2018-10-23
    • "Best Company I've Worked For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medivation full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Medivation had a great vision and treated its employees superbly. There were many opportunities for advancement and to move into other areas of interest.

      Cons

      Some managers were big on micro-management. Early research initiatives were often very secretive.

      Advice to Management

      Discourage cliques and take a mature management approach that does not put on too much pressure or stress the details.

      Medivation2018-03-23
    • "Culture and Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Medivation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people, closeness, and respect. Work is fast paced and very enjoyable.

      Cons

      Work is demanding for all.

      Medivation2017-11-19
    • "Awesome Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Medivation

      Pros

      Very nice culture, cool projects, lovely colleagues. Really enjoyed my time there!

      Cons

      There isn't really anything to complain about my experience at Medivation.

      Medivation2017-11-15
    • "Great Vision, Good Company, Growing pains"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Medivation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great vision, good product and portfolio, Saving patient lives, fairly competitive salary, good benefits, good location, free drinks- coffee- fruits- snack-food

      Cons

      Small company mentality. Original employees combative of changes. refuse to grow and change their business practices for the better. Lots of clans and gossiping. Poor and non-existent processes. Promotion/ advancement is on the favoritism basis instead of merit. Incompetent senior leadership. Inefficiency.

      Advice to Management

      Good job selling the company to Pfizer.

      Medivation2017-10-17
    • "Associate Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Medivation full-time

      Pros

      Influence across the organization, exciting environment, great co-workers, excellent location.

      Cons

      Weak infrastructure, upper management, computer systems are not ideal

      Medivation2017-09-25
    Found 53 reviews