Merkle Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Merkle Chairman and CEO David Williams
David Williams
394 Ratings
Pros
  • "You'll be working with a lot of smart people, mostly(in 71 reviews)

  • "It is also nice to have the option to work from home(in 64 reviews)

Cons
  • "It would have been nice to negotiate my salary, but the work life balance made up for the compensation in my eyes(in 68 reviews)

  • "There are many long hours on the job, so the workload can be demanding(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Tremendous Leadership By Craig and David"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Have read the recent reviews, nearly all related to the current pandemic in a negative light. Felt the need to respond to this unprecedented situation. This is not a fake or planted review, I am a long term employee in the Pittsburgh office. * The leadership team (Craig and David specifically) plus the crisis management team have been outstanding. These are scary times, the transparency, calmness and focus are reassuring to the employees. Myself and many others sincerely appreciate. * Merkle has built an incredible, economically strong company that can weather alot more turbulence than other marketing firms. The org structure, portfolio approach to services and focus on growth are giving leadership alot more options than other companies. * The sense of community and camaraderie has really come through this past month. Employees checking on each other, the social media posting, working from home advice, the virtual happy hours. The culture that has been built since 1988 is still what keeps me here and motivated.

    Cons

    Right now, personally do not have any. Minor concerns about Dentsu integration, but not a high priority in near term.

    Continue reading
    Merkle2020-04-05

    Merkle Response

    April 8, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for this feedback. Yes, we do have great leaders like Craig and David, but we also have amazing leaders, such as you. We want to thank you and all of our people that work hard to make this company a tremendous success. In regards to Dentsu, our integration is going to bring amazing opportunities for all of our employees in 2021, and we are looking forward it.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits (including flexibility) Team Career opportunities Support for employees Culture

    Cons

    The only constant is change.

    Merkle2020-04-22

    Merkle Response

    April 22, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to have you as part of the Merkle team!

  3. "good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - QA Automation Engineer 

    I have been working at Merkle full-time

    Pros

    It is a nice experience to work there

    Cons

    nothing really bad about this company

    Merkle2020-05-11

    Merkle Response

    May 13, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this platform. We’re really thankful to have employees like you, who contribute to Merkle’s great success. We hope you will continue to grow and develop your career at Merkle with all the wonderful opportunities that are available to you.

  4. "Solid"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growth oriented, strong culture with long term view

    Cons

    fast pace not for everyone

    Continue reading
    Merkle2020-04-20

    Merkle Response

    April 22, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. Here at Merkle, we understand that our work environment is fast-paced, and we are proud of the work that our employees do. We also pride ourselves on the fun, yet hard-working, culture that we have cultivated here at Merkle.

  5. "If you have drive and want to learn - this is the place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people get noticed and get opportunitites

    Cons

    If you want a "nurture" company - this is not it - it's a "growth" company and if you like that you with thrive. Growth doesn't just mean business, personal and professional growth - being pushed to grow.

    Continue reading
    Merkle2020-04-17

    Merkle Response

    April 22, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you recognized that we are a “growth” company. We’re particularly proud of our growth with our existing clients because it shows that our employees truly deliver value to our clients.

  6. "Best company I've worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation, Leadership, Communication, Opportunity, Vision, Employees are all good people

    Cons

    Very distributed, most work from home so if you are junior need to be close to office location, for senior people remote flexibility is a plus

    Continue reading
    Merkle2020-04-17

    Merkle Response

    April 22, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for sharing your experience. Here at Merkle, we work with great people and great clients and all the positives you shared above flow from those two foundational aspects. Thanks for all your hard work. We agree, our leadership has done a tremendous job guiding us through the times of COVID-19, and it is amazing to see our employees strive to support each other through these unprecedented times.

  7. "Some of the smartest people in the biz"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership, flexibility, collaborative, smart, growing

    Cons

    Remote work approach for some can create lack of connectivity

    Merkle2020-04-17

    Merkle Response

    April 22, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for giving your feedback on this platform. We agree, working at Merkle means working with some of the best people in the business!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time

    Pros

    salary, health insurance, dental insurance

    Cons

    The culture: Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

    Merkle2020-05-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Leadership and Toxicity in Austin"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bonding among those not in the top four leadership positions.

    Cons

    An unprofessional, toxic, dictatorship like work environment. Management has never really asked for feedback, yet seems to think everyone is happy. Leadership in this office will do anything to make a buck. Promotions are handed out based off of popularity. Merkle should really take a closer look at what's happening in Austin. I'd avoid the company for the near future as you won't get paid fairly for work (salaries were reduced bc ONE client cut back media spend) no 401k matching or promotions happening in 2020. God forbid something happens to the bottom line!

    Continue reading
    Merkle2020-05-09

    Merkle Response

    May 13, 2020HR Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. COVID-19 has had an unprecedented effect on the economy as a whole, as well as Merkle. While our clients still value the work we do for them and remain partnered with us, many have put off new projects and that has had an effect on our business. As a result of that, Merkle made the decision to enact a company-wide pay reduction, with our senior employees taking the highest pay cuts. Because of this, we were able to save jobs and avoid laying off any employees. We’re very proud of our employees as they pull together as a team to support our clients through these difficult times.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fulfilling Work, Not Enough Pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paid Media Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with are great, and you're able to really hit the ground running at lower levels, gaining a lot of valuable experience very quickly

    Cons

    The biggest drawback of Merkle is that pay is not competitive with other agencies, despite management repeatedly claiming it is

    Continue reading
    Merkle2020-04-14
Found 722 reviews