Merkle Reviews | Glassdoor

Merkle Reviews

Updated October 17, 2018
263 reviews

Filter

Filter

US - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Merkle Chairman and CEO David Williams
David Williams
162 Ratings

263 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Flexible including remote work-from-home options for many positions" (in 39 reviews)

  • "Flexible start and end times, strongly focus on ensuring you have a healthy work-life balance" (in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "My advice would be to ask the teams you're interviewing with about their culture, work-life balance etc" (in 57 reviews)

  • "Long hours due to client demands" (in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great career opportunities and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Client Services in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is solid opportunity to take ownership of your career direction and growth at Merkle. The people are smart, collaborative and enjoyable to work with on a daily basis. The projects are often fun and challenging. Clients are credible and commonly appreciate the value delivered. The leadership team is very supportive.

    Cons

    With multiple office locations and new acquisitions each year, it remains an opportunity for Merkle staff to instill a cohesive office culture and bring together such a vast team.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to share goals, leadership team objectives, financials and acquisition updates with full transparency to keep your best employees engaged.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not recommended if you want to grow your career or skills!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    “Unlimited vacation”
    Flexible work location (sometimes)

    Cons

    Leadership is more or less non existent.
    No clear career path or job descriptions but expected to set goals to “level up” even though the next level and expectations are not given.
    Sales were non-existent to new clients in my sector, basically a dying company from the side I was on.
    Absolute chaos on what the company is doing / where it is headed.
    A zillion emails spamming daily with pointless stuff you care nothing about nor do they apply to you.
    No clear manager / expectations on who does what on a project - total free for all “kill or be killed” model.
    Lack of structure in every part of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Watch your employees closely, listen to them and take concerns seriously about hostile work environments. Maybe start with some structure and organization. Do not expect employees to set goals when they don’t have clear knowledge of “how to progress” to the next level because it has never been given to them.

  3. Helpful (11)

    "Good Idea, Bad Execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some smart people, it really depends on the team

    Cons

    Merkle lures people in to work with them boasting about unlimited paid time off, excellent people, and a good work-life balance. In practice, it is the opposite. The unlimited PTO is actually flexible paid time off, the people are great but management sucks, and there is no work-life balance. Refrain from coming here.

    Merkle Response

    Aug 29, 2018 – HR Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are correct, our vacation plan is flexible, not unlimited. It is designed to allow our employees the ability to maintain a healthy work-life... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Media Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - Senior Media Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever known are the people I've worked with at Merkle.

    Cons

    Great support and knowledge from managers but most Directors are horrible.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – People Department

    Thank you for writing a review! We couldn’t agree more with your comments about our people – we absolutely have great people doing cutting edge work, and that is really what makes Merkle such a great... More


  5. Helpful (12)

    "Prison Conditions - toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hagerstown, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hagerstown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Close to home but really no other positives. If I think of any I will add them, but no holding breath

    Cons

    Management, salaries, nit-pickiness but also inconsistent. You get punished for being sick, something you can't help at times.

    Advice to Management

    Get some training! Also, stop playing corporate head games with employees. Also, allow notes, and treat the employees like persons rather than objects; we are ends in ourselves and not your mere means!

    Merkle Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – HR Administrator

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your employment with Merkle has not been a great experience. We encourage you to reach out to your HR point of contact to discuss any issues or concerns.


  6. Helpful (10)

    "What You See Is No What You Get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Email Developer in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Email Developer in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Talented co-workers. Flexible time off. Work with high profile clients.

    Cons

    Flexibile time off, but you get noticed if you actually use it (taking 8 days off in 6 months became an HR issue). Long hours. I was working sometimes 18 hour days but got questioned about what I was working on. Management had co-workers reporting to them on my performance behind my back, but not giving me direct feedback so I could correct issues (managers claimed I was given feedback on work where some things were missed, but I was not. I was basically called a liar when I defended myself). I only ever received positive feedback so I had no idea there was an issue until one day a manager 1:1 call was actually a call with HR telling me I was in trouble. Completely disrespectful professionally. I was trained on one way of doing things, diverted to a separate project for 5 months, then expected to return to my normal workflow like a seasoned veteran in one week, and the entire process was different when I returned. No project managers, only account managers who just bend over backwards for the client. There are no boundaries with the client, so everyone is constantly stressed out.

    Advice to Management

    Don't pretend to be proactive and supportive when you are not practicing it. If there are issues with someone's work they need to be told about it so they can take steps to correct it, not be ambushed with a bunch of quotes from a co-worker's feedback in a call with HR that is your 30 day warning before you lose your job. Just because managers don't have visibility into someone's work does not mean they are not working; how is it the employee's fault that no system exists for tracking their work and efforts? Apparently glowing feedback from the client itself is not enough.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 19, 2018 – People Department

    Thank you for the feedback. Merkle’s vacation plan is designed to allow employees flexibility around balancing work and life while still meeting the needs of the client and the business. On average... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    "A lot has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Director in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merkle full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Smart People, Flexible environment, good pay. Work-hard, play-hard culture (that can also be a con....depends on you)

    Cons

    Increases have dwindled to nothing, even if you're a top rated performer. All about the margin, no matter the cost to the employee (meaning no more work life balance, which Merkle used to tout in recruiting). Too many unhappy people, means crappy attitudes all over the place. Not how it used to be!

    Advice to Management

    Get back to focusing on employees and clients. Make Merkle fun again. Give more than 2% to top employees. Scope clients accordingly - and don't make employees pay the price for being short-staffed.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – HR Administrator

    Thank you for your review. We agree that we have incredibly smart people and are glad that you enjoy being part of our flexible and supportive environment. Regarding pay increases, Merkle continues... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Unpredictable work environment with demanding clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Remote opportunities
    Unlimited vacation
    Supportive management (but have little power to actually change anything because they are as stressed as you)

    Cons

    Clients walk all over you
    Unpredictable and long hours
    Stressful work environment

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting clients stress out the teams. 60-80 hour+ work weeks are not uncommon and many people work weekends. Set boundaries with clients so they are not walking all over the account teams. Then the account teams stress out resource teams.

    Merkle Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – HR Administrator

    Thank you for writing a review. We do work hard at Merkle (but most of our employees do not work a 60-80 hour work week). We have the opportunity to work with incredible clients, and sometimes client... More


  9. Helpful (9)

    "Typical Corporate Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Search Marketing Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Search Marketing Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work environment and colleagues were great.

    Cons

    Management lacked communication skills. Very corporate style company with little benefit to hard work. Preformed multiples layoffs with little to no reasoning. The company seems to have a retention problem with employees - "Revolving Door".

    Advice to Management

    Your employees drive this company. Communication is key when it comes to continued success.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "A Typical Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merkle full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Transparent communication from CEO to all staff; outstanding client list and opportunity

    Cons

    The DAN acquisition has the company making (bad) short term decisions

    Merkle Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – HR Administrator

    We agree that we are fortunate to have an excellent CEO who values being highly transparent with our employees on the status of the company. With respect to your comments on DAN- the Dentsu Aegis... More


Showing 293 of 531 reviews
Reset Filters