Messer Construction Reviews | Glassdoor

Messer Construction Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Messer Construction CEO Thomas M. Keckeis (no image)
Thomas M. Keckeis
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Compensation, work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • "Oh an the EXPECTED work hours are 10 hours a day, 6 days a week(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project Engineer Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Messer Construction

    Pros

    Great people to work with. My supervisor really took the time to teach me. Fast paced and always changing. Room for advancement.

    Cons

    Sometimes when project was slow, I wouldn’t have much to do.

    Messer Construction2019-05-09
  2. "Solid organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Messer Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Solid even during recession Benefits Good reputation

    Cons

    Very conservative Behind on vacation amount Behind on flexible schedules

    Advice to Management

    Great company, be more open to the changing needs of employees on where and how they work

    Messer Construction2019-10-11
  3. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laborer in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Messer Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are understanding if you need time off for your family.

    Cons

    If you aren't friends with a higher-up, don't expect to get promoted, ever, or at least not within a decade or so. They play favorites and don't care to hide it. This is the worst company I've ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on merit not who you are friends with or who brown noses the best. Also, get better insurance.

    Messer Construction2019-08-30
  4. "Good company with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Messer Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, understanding of schedules or sickness, will not have to use vacation days. Competitive pay and great opportunities for growth. Employee ownership pays off if you stay with the company for the long haul.

    Cons

    Sometimes like of effort on the operation team impacts you. This can cause extra work for you to clean up.

    Messer Construction2019-05-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good long term career path, if you aren't very good at your job and have no aspirations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Messer Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Low-mid level performers won't have to worry about losing their jobs regardless of how the economy is doing (managers, not craft). ESOP is a good retirement account, IF you plan to work here for 40+ years, IF the government doesn't take it away, and IF the company isn't bought out.

    Cons

    If your ambitious in your career path...look elsewhere. The senior level managers are all 40-50's age and will do anything to make themselves seem better than everyone else. Oh an the EXPECTED work hours are 10 hours a day, 6 days a week...again that's EXPECTED . So kiss your home life goodbye.

    Advice to Management

    Calling yourself "best in class" by focusing on only the data that you want to and ignoring everything else does not equate to success.

    Messer Construction2018-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Carpenter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carpenter in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Messer Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work Hard and you will go far. Excellent company to work for

    Cons

    Traveling to different markets all the time can get overwhelming.

    Messer Construction2018-08-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Messer Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company, ESOP, good work life balance

    Cons

    They put very little effort on training managers to deal with people. My direct manager on my jobsite was difficult to deal with, had terrible people skills, favored some employees over others, overlooked workplace bullying and discrimination, and would talk behind the backs of his employees. I would never let anyone I know work for Messer.

    Messer Construction2018-07-16
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Admin - Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Messer Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful new office. Almost everyone was very nice. I would recommend to a friend, but definately not in the department I worked in.

    Cons

    Be careful what department you work for. Management in department I worked in was not acceptable. Berating and critical. He was right, you were wrong. I dreaded going into work every day.

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at management. Be aware of turnaround in specific departments. Just because they make the company should not be the only reason they are kept on.

    Messer Construction2018-06-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Accounts Payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Messer Construction full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ESOP, Not being micro-managed, Learning opportunities, Growth opportunities

    Cons

    Office tends to be cold.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support and encourage your team members.

    Messer Construction2018-04-23
  10. "Great Opportunity for Growth and Long Term Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Messer Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Owned, Supportive Culture, Opportunities for Advancement, Autonomy with support when needed, Community Support and Involvement, Location, New Corporate Office Building with Convenient Location, Training and Coaching Opportunities, Tuition Reimbursement

    Cons

    Office runs excessively cold year round.

    Messer Construction2018-04-24
Found 45 reviews