MetricStream Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

MetricStream Reviews

Updated January 19, 2018
334 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MetricStream CEO Shellye L. Archambeau
Shellye L. Archambeau
196 Ratings

334 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (5)

    "Great Company to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior PMO in Bengaluru (India)
    Former Employee - Senior PMO in Bengaluru (India)

    Pros

    Awesome Work Culture, Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Every company has some or other concerns, but how much of this concerns impacts your personal and professional life is what matters. I have never came across of any such thing.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    MetricStream Response

    Jun 18, 2017 – Manager

    Thanks for the review. Wishing you a great career ahead .


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer
    Former Employee - Technical Writer

    I worked at MetricStream full-time

    Pros

    A lot of actual writing to do, the experience fully equips you with the confidence to create 200+ pages guides under tight deadlines.
    Also, the big client names look great in your resume.

    Cons

    Lagging behind in incorporating new tools and standards. None of the latest documentations flavors are used - and some of them have been around quite a while - xml (DITA), html and markdown, in conjunction with github, jekyl/ slate, no DITA tools are used. No new trends or tools for online help are used. The writers are pigeon-holed into different teams - A suggestion - Give opportunities to the writers across different teams to try out API writing. To try out screencasts. Train them for it. Give them opportunities to create new templates in newer tools. (Oh wait, first get licenses for the newer tools). Unless that is done, you are just boring them with the same ol' workflow documentation in word and framemaker.

    Advice to Management

    See cons for suggestions. Don't restrict the "project writers" to stick to the same type of work. Expose them to what the api writers, training team and "product writers" are doing. The skill gap hits you hard when you are looking out for a new job and don't have the experience required in so-n-so tool or standard.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Mismanaged company, no internal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetricStream full-time

    Pros

    Work- Life balance is great

    Cons

    Lots of promises, little action.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, give them opportunities they deserve or you will continue to loose valuable employees


  4. "Director, Program/Engagement Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program/Engagement Manager in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Program/Engagement Manager in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetricStream full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, work from home, top rated software, good teamwork

    Cons

    No 401k matching, focusing on India hires, project management in India

    MetricStream Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Manager

    We value the concerns and opinions of MetricStream alumni, and we are committed to a diverse and talented workforce that is aligned to our cloud-centric business model. We have been widely endorsed... More


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Mismanaged, immature, inexperienced leadership on a fast declining company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MetricStream full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pay commensurate with tier 3 companies in similar industry.

    Cons

    Lots to detail unfortunately.
    - leadership has never run a company to growth nor profitability.
    - company although started in 1999 still claims it's a start-up.
    - make up, lip stick and nail polish on surface to hide a dirty pig which is the truth -- the management lies about everything from product, technology to revenues.
    - customer comes last for this company. The leadership will lie and sell product to the customer and then leave them in the dark with a non functional product that will require lots of stitches to make it work!
    - the company does not have a policy of caring for it's employees. to the contrary, there's very little trust and confidence entrusted in it's own employees. Every thing from expense reports to daily work is grilled to death. Sad but true!
    - very distasteful culture with little recognition for talent and employee contribution.
    - unethical practices unfortunately including fake stories and self promotion to the market, media, analysts who are often paid tons of monies to write positive reviews and rankings.
    - the company is way behind on technology, and keeping up with it's competition.
    - revenue goals have been missed quarter over quarter - leading to mass layoffs recently and continuing into 2018. Wouldn't be surprised if the company is put up for sale soon in 2018 or just goes belly up without future funding.
    - the company is run like a family business by the top management.
    - it is common practice for the top management to use abusive language and yell at employees.
    - very poor morale and the management cares too little about it.
    - employees are required to work 24 x 7 with the India Office running most of the development, and expectation is for the employee to be available on phone, emails even during vacations.
    - product quality is sub par with a very unstable, non functional product wit too many bugs.
    - customer and product support is zero.
    - would think twice, thrice before making a decision to join this down spiraling company.

    Advice to Management

    Let go. Go work for a real large software company and learn how to run a company! Please gain experience and maturity.


  6. "Very Good Domain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MetricStream full-time

    Pros

    Good Culture and professional growth

    Cons

    Lacks Vision and No Communication across organization

    Advice to Management

    No Visibility and lack of communication

    MetricStream Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Manager

    We value the concerns and opinions of MetricStream employee, and we are committed to a diverse and talented workforce that is aligned to our cloud-centric business model. We have been widely endorsed... More


  7. "Good Product; execution and management needs improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MetricStream full-time

    Pros

    - Good functional product but could be more configurable and less customized
    - GRC is a good product space

    Cons

    - Few of the managers are sufficiently trained
    - New product introduction not handled well
    - Too much emphasis on the offshore model
    - Not a good work-life balance as employees are expected to be on calls late in the evening and available early in the morning as well
    - Did not see all of the internal hype about the product turn into deals

    Advice to Management

    Continue to improve career path efforts else staff will continue to turnover. Work on training managers to be managers; not just technical resources

    MetricStream Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience at MetricStream. It’s unfortunate that your expectations were not met. We wish you all the best in your career.

  8. "Mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MetricStream full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Unclear direction from management. Difficulty implementing software leading to unhappy customers.

    MetricStream Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Manager

    We value the concerns and opinions of MetricStream alumni, and we are committed to a diverse and talented workforce that is aligned to our cloud-centric business model. We have been widely endorsed... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Not a great company for enthusiastic developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    -big teams
    - flexible hours
    - good people

    Cons

    - you won't learn much
    - the work you will get requires very basic and very minimal knowledge.
    - not a place to grow
    - random management decision of org change or firing people is prevalent

    Advice to Management

    - make better and more informed decisions

    MetricStream Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Manager

    We value the concerns and opinions of MetricStream alumni, and we are committed to a diverse and talented workforce that is aligned to our cloud-centric business model. We have been widely endorsed... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Could be much much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MetricStream full-time

    Pros

    Startup environment, plenty to do and learn.

    Cons

    Crazy and long hours. Zero Creativity.

    Advice to Management

    Need to give people the ability to think and execute. Telling them what to do all the time just kills creativity.

    MetricStream Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Manager

    We thank you for taking the time and sharing the areas where you think we need to improve. There is a lot of exciting and cutting-edge work that is happening in different parts of the organization... More


Showing 334 of 341 reviews
Reset Filters