MicroAge Reviews | Glassdoor

MicroAge Reviews

Updated Apr 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Jeff McKeever
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "So HAPPY I made the switch to MicroAge!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive - Field 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *They give you freedom to work your book of business. *You get treated like an adult, so no managers over your shoulder asking you about your call count, or if you show up 1 minute late. *The executive team generally seems to care about my success. I came from a company in which the C-Level execs really separated themselves from the sales team. Not much interaction. At MicroAge it's hard to see a line of where...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the time change is tough to deal with since MicroAge is on MST - you learn how to work around it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing because there are a lot of happy sales people here.

    MicroAge2018-01-08

    MicroAge Response

    January 10, 2018HR Manager

    We are SO HAPPY that you are SO HAPPY to be with us!! We provide the freedom to be successful and will always have an open door to address questions and concerns. Even with time zone changes, we're only a phone call away. Reach out to us anytime!

  2. "Lots of freedom, way too many fees taken from you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroAge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of freedom, come and go as you please, if you are hitting your numbers they leave you alone.

    Cons

    Way to many fees, they pay a draw you pay back from commissions so no salary. Pay a load on all sales which sucks on big revenue deals, they take over half your spiffs after load added, commission take a hit if customer pays late. They call it 50% commission but really in the 30's with load and fees and no salary. Also, way to many useless trainings and monthly meetings that are a waste of time.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the nickel and dime fees on everything and put an end to all the useless trainings.

    MicroAge2018-01-04

    MicroAge Response

    January 10, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We understand and appreciate our comp plan is not a good fit for all sales professionals. Our plan is positioned so our Account Executives can manage accounts like it were their business. This requires, for example, setting upfront expectations for ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "MicroAge is progressing fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team, and great environment. Lots of recent positive changes.

    Cons

    Nothing negative about working here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward.

    MicroAge2017-10-13

    MicroAge Response

    January 10, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to enlist the feedback from our associates so that we keep moving forward with positive changes. We appreciate your confidence in us.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "MicroAge career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love working for MicroAge. It's family.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons but there is also no opportunity for upward mobility. Its time for a career change after 12 years.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps a more salary/commission balanced compensation plan.

    MicroAge2017-10-04

    MicroAge Response

    January 10, 2018HR Manager

    We are so happy that you love working here. Especially after 12 years!! Your feedback is valuable and we would be happy to discuss further. Stop by and speak with one of the Execs to share your ideas!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative & Caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The executives along with my peers really do care about the success of MicroAge and each associate within. We are always looking for ways to improve, never settling for less, and clearing paths to get things done. This is not done at anyone's expense either. One of our values is to "Act With Integrity" but also to "Have Fun"! We are CONSISTENTLY recognized and rewarded for a job well done. I appreciate having the ability...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't really have any. Nobody is perfect, but MicroAge knows that and they do everything that they can to work with associates in order to bypass challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to request feedback. Listen and act.

    MicroAge2017-09-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MicroAge full-time

    Pros

    This position was back in 1995 but learned a not from them. Onsite roles were just picking up steam as opposed to just field work.

    Cons

    Small company and vulnerable to larger companies to take over contracts.

    MicroAge2017-08-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1. culture 2. leadership team 3. ease of doing business

    Cons

    no developed lead generation programs

    MicroAge2017-04-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Associates are given the ability to run their own business and succeed or fail based on the effort they put into the job. Tools and assistance are given to them in order to help them grow and keep themselves accountable. The compensation plan is the best in the industry.

    Cons

    If you are inexperienced in sales or with technology your ramp up time will be a little longer than most, so MicroAge generally looks for experienced people. It is also a flat organization, so there is not a lot of room for advancement if that is what you are looking for.

    MicroAge2017-03-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MicroAge full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment - entire team focused on company values. Very high integrity, high growth technology company. Treats their employees with the utmost respect. Sales associates are directly compensated for their performance.

    Cons

    Not much - too much free food?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and growth of the company -- continue to hold administration responsible for their performance.

    MicroAge2017-03-13
  10. "Resting on its 1990's laurels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MicroAge for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can remember.

    Cons

    From my time there - poor management and oversight; inability to understand the changing workplace; poor compensation and benefits; high energy but lacked direction; some questionable business practices;

    Advice to Management

    Using the MicroAge name is interesting since the original company was liquidated, even if the name was repurchased out of the liquidation.

    MicroAge2016-12-21
Found 38 reviews