NASA Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
NASA NASA Administrator Charles F. Bolden, Jr.
Charles F. Bolden, Jr.
168 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Have to deal with red tape like any other government agency(in 19 reviews)

  • "There are no cons to working for NASA(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NASA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Couldn't ask for a better job starting out. Super flexible hours, not very demanding, welcoming environment great benefits.

    Cons

    Not as hands-on as I would like. Much of the actual engineering is done by contractors, on my project anyway.

    NASA2020-06-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Hilo, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NASA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work and the location is really amazing. Laid back work environment with a small team.

    Cons

    The facility is aging so it requires maintenance and repair of old equipment. Since it's a small operation, there isn't a lot of room for advancement.

    NASA2020-05-15
  3. "The bureaucracy is frustrating"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aerospace Engineering in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NASA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's great to work on interesting projects with government benefits and job security.

    Cons

    Project funding is always very limited, large projects take forever, bureaucracy is often stifling. Unfortunately the agency is losing technical expertise and is likely to become just a contracting organization in future years.

    NASA2020-05-26
  4. "Great Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Science Student Trainee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NASA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with some very smart people on important problems in space exploration, aeronautics, and earth science.

    Cons

    Working as a government intern in Mountain View, CA means your pay is low compared to the area's cost of living. Government bureaucracy is a real problem, although not to the cartoonish extent that some expect.

    Continue reading
    NASA2020-05-01
  5. "Great opportunity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NASA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    None This is an awesome work environment

    NASA2020-05-09
  6. "Great Fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NASA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Parabolic Flight, Spacesuits, Engineering Freedom, Hard/Challenging Work

    Cons

    TX Heat, moves slow, buildings are old.

    Continue reading
    NASA2020-04-19
  7. "Great Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Business Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NASA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome place to work, fantastic mission

    Cons

    Working for the federal government and sometimes odd budget

    NASA2020-04-01
  8. "DEVELOP helped develop my"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DEVELOP - Team Lead 
    Recommends

    I worked at NASA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work on compelling projects -You truly learn SO much from this program -I feel like as an early researcher you end up taking the most from these programs

    Cons

    -Unfortunately, even though intentions are good for the program. I really don't think that a lot of change actually comes from these projects. They are short term, and in the end it is up to partners to implement changes or research the topics further, so I'm afraid that due to the quick turnaround.. Most of the time. there is no true outcome from the projects. -It's more about the image and ideas, rather than the actual quality of research -caps at 29/hrs per week for pay... But in reality you end up working more hours. It is tough to do this program and work another job. I was barely making enough money to get by.

    Continue reading
    NASA2020-04-10
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NASA full-time

    Pros

    Good work. Good people.

    Cons

    Decreasing budgets, lack of HQ support, and lost work. Difficult to keep talented young people

    NASA2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and cons"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Division Chief 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NASA full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working conditions and many technological venues to support working from anywhere

    Cons

    Only con is that there are many employees exiting due to retirement thus creating a knowledge gap between the retirees and the new workforce.

    NASA2020-02-08
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 399 Reviews
</>Embed