NDS Reviews | Glassdoor

NDS Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 283 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
NDS CEO John Chambers
John Chambers
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance & Compentiation(in 50 reviews)

  • "Free food,Nice Working environment,goods mangers,work on latest technology,(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Don't know about other teams, but My manager used to do micro management, Very old technology, nothing new to learn apart from design patterns in java(in 10 reviews)

  • "Could be better with work life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "market director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NDS full-time

    Pros

    has good enviroment nice people

    Cons

    stress out, sometime need bring work home

    NDS2018-02-10
  2. "Staff Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Costa Mesa, CA

      I worked at NDS

      Pros

      Pace was just about right, not too fast, not too slow. Very professional environment.

      Cons

      Not much development, mostly integration.

      NDS2016-11-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "An OK Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate Architect 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at NDS full-time

      Pros

      1 Freed food 2. Bonus not part of CTC

      Cons

      1. Hectic work. 2 . Saturday can be working 3. Old technology like Flash 4. No growth

      NDS2016-01-07
    • "SE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NDS

      Pros

      Good workplace culture and technology

      Cons

      Nothing much about cons here

      Advice to Management

      Nothing much about Management here

      NDS2015-12-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Risky company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA

      I worked at NDS full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Work life balance is good

      Cons

      Lot of firing happening now a days in cisco video technologies

      NDS2015-08-23
    • "Test Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Test Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at NDS

      Pros

      Very Professional Environment, Company is very focused to making everyone feel right. Company offers very good benefits, and is focused to maintain a good work/life balance.

      Cons

      Sometimes Repetitive Tasks, no career grow opportunities. Negotiate a good starting salary otherwise you will be stuck with a low salary for the rest of your time at NDS.

      Advice to Management

      Give better bonuses, and salary increases, make salary increases and promotions of the company more transparent. Spend more money on education benefits.

      NDS2015-04-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "NDS (now part of Cisco) Questionable leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Costa Mesa, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at NDS

      Pros

      Immediate teammates were like family. Opportunity to work across cultures. Work on evolving technologies. In a pretty decent location in the OC.

      Cons

      very segmented operations even between teams who were supposed to be working together, weak leadership when pressed on important issues at the ground level, questionable enforcement of company policy, kept bad employees around rather than remove them. victims of budget cuts just like everyone else, but handled poorly - had to get approval for printing in color?

      Advice to Management

      grow a pair. show a little, scratch that, A LOT more concern for the employees. invest in the employees who WANT to be there and who are doing good.

      NDS2015-03-19
    • "Small company - hard workers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at NDS full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        great employees to work with; hard working

        Cons

        need more consistent direction from management; no loing term vision

        NDS2015-01-27
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great company but, some needed change"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in San Antonio, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at NDS full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great hours and great staff to work with.

        Cons

        They are going through some growing pains and are not focused on the clients needs.

        Advice to Management

        None

        NDS2015-01-10
      • "I was dissatisfied with my work experience with NDS."

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at NDS full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          My salary and benefits were satisfactory. My best experience was with some of my co-workers. The main facility is conveniently located.

          Cons

          My working conditions were dirty, cramped and unsafe. I had insufficient room and shelves to organize parts. The room was so small that I could not use safe practices to handle units. This resulted in me having frequent back problems. ESD protection was also very poor in my area. New product introduction processes were also very insufficient. It was difficult to get needed parts. It took months to get an order of one...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          New product introduction should be a much more organized process. Higher priority should be given to ergonomics and ESD.

          NDS2015-01-01
        Found 283 reviews