Nav Reviews | Glassdoor

Nav Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Nav CEO Levi King
Levi King
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Making a positive impact on millions of small businesses(in 16 reviews)

  • "Everyone here believes in what we are doing (helping small businesses)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "We're a start-up and dealing with typical growing pains(in 7 reviews)

  • "No cons, Excellent company to work for(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Best company - Employee focused and Honors their mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit and Lending Specialist in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of perks. But not the buttery "this job is rough so heres some perks to smooth you over" kind of perks. Since I've been here, I've seen first hand the real and carefully thought our perks they offer that are really geared towards employee well being. Unlimited PTO - for sick, mental health, and vacations. Nav talks - life tips and mental health talks monthly to help employees find tools and resources to be the best version of themselves CEO/execs - always willing to talk, personable, and, usually, big ol softies that really care about this organization and the people that help make it a success. Feedback - management is always willing to receive feedback and discuss changes, opportunities, etc for both the business and their interactions with others. They also provide realistic feedback to their employees and are willing to discuss further if the employee disagrees with the feedback provided (because perception can be subjective on both parts) Peers - respectful, encouraging, and friendly. The break room is always full of great conversations and connecting HR - works hard to ensure everyone feels heard and supported. (from personal experience) In all, I've worked for startups, non profits, and well established billion dollar businesses... and its apparent that Nav has worked so hard to find a great balance between work and personal life. They have a willingness to HEAR their employees wants, needs, concerns, etc and strategize solutions that work for both the business and the people.

    Show More

    Cons

    Rough start with training but thats understandable because we arent a typical call center environment with full classes. you learn as you go. and its already being resolved because its a startup, i think some people can be frustrated with the fast pace and ever changing atmosphere of a startup. As well as some stagnancy in upward movement and promotions. (although ive seen new positions created and opportunities in other departments)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    From what i can see, you guys are doing great with the delicate balance of being in management. Never lose the human aspect and always strive to learn and adapt to the personalities of your diverse employees but also don't take it personally when you cant please everyone. Your hard work is appreciated!

    Nav2019-10-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Best job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive and transparent compensation (with equity!), flexible work arrangements (hours and remote), tons of career development opportunities, awesome coworkers and culture, and a mission that I really believe will do a lot of good in the world.

    Cons

    Fast-paced and frequently shifting priorities and internal organization (it's a growing startup, after all)

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to the mission, keep doing good work, and keep listening to feedback. There have been growing pains, but I think they're inevitably a part of a business growing so quickly, and I think that they've generally been handled well. Sometimes change can be difficult and unpopular, but those decisions have to be made even if we can't always agree.

    Nav2019-10-19
  3. Helpful (10)

    "I Like it Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am compensated fairly. I have an incredible amount of flexibility in my work hours and activities. My direct managers are knowledgeable and friendly. The mission of the company is rock-solid. AND lunch is catered in almost every day. My life at Nav is no-compromises awesome.

    Cons

    I think management is aware of this and working on it, but they could be more transparent in hiring and firing.

    Nav2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (6)

    "The best company I have ever worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love working at Nav. As an engineer you gravitate to companies that you like working for and also companies that will help elevate your skill set. Nav offers me both. I work with super talented and pretty brilliant engineers who have zero ego. The code reviews are detailed and have made my code so much stronger. We unit test everything. If you want to own huge features and not just be a small fish in a big pond, Nav is the place for you. I feel that the company cares about my well being. My manager is always checking in for burn out. Also they understand that you are human and understand that there may be days when your kids is sick and you need to work from home. Management listens to my concerns and I am not afraid to voice those concerns! Oh and the unlimited time off is real, you can take as much time as you need so you perform at your best.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons in my mind!

    Nav2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Incredible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible leadership, flexible hours & vacation, remote work, catered lunch, great culture, great mission

    Cons

    The only downside I can think of is traveling distance if you do not live close to the office; but then this is countered by the flexibility of remote work during the week. I have no concerns about our mission, direction, or team.

    Advice to Management

    I absolutely love working at Nav, and have never worked for a company that has even come close to the degree of care and generosity that Nav and its leadership show for the employees. Our executive team is unmatched, and our CEO is an incredible, genuine and talented leader. Being a part of Nav means sharing in a culture that is kind and indivisible, with a mission that changes lives. Others have mentioned turnover and attrition but we are in that stage of growth where the departure is less symptomatic of deeper issues and more a changing of the guard as the people who've been there from the start seek to make changes in their career. I feel so fortunate to be a part of this company, and even more motivated to help us reach our goals, and would want to reiterate to our leadership that I am with them every step of the way.

    Show More
    Nav2019-10-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Under Repair (follow up to "Under evacuation")"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company mission Unparalleled work life balance Competitive pay Catered lunch Executives who listen and care and work hard to keep Nav, Nav Some of the most talented people you'll ever work with

    Cons

    Nav is maturing, resulting in lots of growing pains. One of which is under developed channels to address employee issues. Nav is diligently working to address this. See the "Under evacuation", I wrote it. I wished I wouldn't have been part of this recent flurry of negative reviews that looks like a smear campaign. Now with everything going on, it's too late to pull it down without making Nav look even worse. That review only reflects a brief snapshot of my time at Nav. Prior, it was the best place I've ever worked.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please keep listening to and addressing the pain points we are feeling. Please keep working to help management address the concerns around communication, career progression, and a sense of belonging. I took for granted all of the positive of the last 3 years, and let all of the negative the last several few months consume me, and unleashed it, through the wrong channels. Would I recommend to a friend? I have many times. I wouldn't right now. But, I hope to again, in the future.

    Show More
    Nav2019-10-25
  7. Helpful (7)

    "There's a lot of upside once we crack the nut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Marketing in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nav has a huge vision and if executed will make a huge impact on the economy

    Cons

    Growing pains. You need to be okay with a certain level of ambiguity.

    Nav2019-10-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "2019 has been a rough year for Nav"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch 4 days a week, decent pay, unlimited PTO & a good mission. In 2018 this list would have gone on and on about Nav's great culture, innovative thought, smart people, transparency, ownership, etc. but that just isn't true anymore. Although, I do hope and believe it will be again.

    Cons

    Politics have taken control of the culture. Sycophants are consistently rewarded for their "loyalty". Independent thought has become a four letter word and will most likely land you a severance package.

    Advice to Management

    The best way to end a bad run is to change strategy.

    Nav2019-10-20
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Investors Beware...looks good on the outside but not on the inside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nav full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A mission you can believe in. Employees are well fed Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Company looks terrific from the outside but values are not upheld internally Fear is pervasive Politics abound and employees get fired for reasons that have nothing to do with performance. Company sends out numerous surveys to gauge employee satisfaction. They're supposed to be anonymous, but they're not. Employees who tell the truth are fired. New employees get half a day of on-boarding. Training is minimal. Employees who quit are coached by their direct manger on what to say in the exit interview. If the person doesn't want to burn their bridges, they do it. Lots of wasted money Team leads don't tell the CEO the truth about their departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Notice the theme that's pervasive in your negative reviews and recognize that you may not know what's really going on in your company. Take a look at your key leadership positions. Many of them are the root of the problem.

    Nav2019-10-14
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Used to be amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nav full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEO is sincere and has a great goal that he is extremely passionate about. Over the years, I have made fantastic & life long friendships. Leadership used to be top notch, people who could be trusted and listened to. Communication used to flow, trust was given, issues were discussed and employees were treated with respect (disagree or agree, didn't matter, viewpoints were wanted and considered). Good work/life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Notice how everything in the pros column is labeled as "used" to be awesome? That ship has sunk. Previous leadership has been replaced with "Yes people" in middle management. Middle managers serve themselves. Those who speak up are accused of not caring because they're not drinking kool-aid.... Instead of retaining previous talent, HR has decided to "we don't negotiate in salaries because we're fair". Messengers or anyone who speaks up about issues is shown the door. Doesn't matter if you think you're fair when you're not paying market rate.... Core problems of communication and direction haven't been resolved in months. Chief People Officer hired her friends who now believe they run the show. And they are: straight into the ground. SO MUCH RED TAPE to get anything done in all departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Entire HR department needs MAJOR overhaul, but that won't happen unless founder decides to start at the top of the department., put 1-2 people in the department and start rebuilding from ground up because the migration of devs and actual talent has pretty much already happened. To CEO: stop dismissing criticism at company meetings and be aware that people are not complaining just to complain.

    Nav2019-10-14
Found 61 reviews
</>Embed