Net Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Net Health Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Net Health CEO Anthony Sanzo
Anthony Sanzo
5 Ratings
  1. "Good Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Net Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    employee development is supported friendly, pleasant environment

    Cons

    some long hours, but it is noticed & appreciated

    Continue reading
    Net Health2019-04-06
  2. "A mixed bag, but certainly not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Net Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked at Net Health long enough to get more or less the full scope of things, but not long enough to have seen long-term trends, I'd like to note that most of the content of the reviews prior to about 2017 are not really an accurate representation of working here - particularly in terms of pay, diversity, and workload - as management has ostensibly taken these concerns seriously. - Compensation is quite sufficient and very competitive for the Pittsburgh area - Management is generally easygoing, friendly, and responsive to concerns - General software development focus is making every attempt to shift toward high quality, highly refined, low-dependency software to phase out its incredibly messy legacy code base. They take improvement suggestions very seriously and absolutely encourage both innovation and sensible criticism. There is a constant focus on process improvement. - The company is rather social and friendly and clearly puts forth both effort and reasonable expense to make the company a nice place to work. I personally am more of an introvert and find some facets of the culture to be rather tacky, but this is also respected and there is never any requirement to participate if the purpose is strictly to socialize - There is very often some excellent food in the office. It isn't a strict policy - you can't always count on free lunch or that a snack will be waiting for you when you want one, but way more often than not there's plenty to go around, and often it's from some excellent local Strip District restaurants. - The company is profitable. Having worked in unprofitable places, this really can't be understated, because it impacts everything.

    Cons

    - The company's software backend is currently a giant mess of partially-implemented standards, outdated dependencies, and hacked-together workarounds. The frontend is a mess of disjointed features bundled together by a russian nesting doll of over a decade worth of "we should start using this javascript library". I've been around the block and, while this isn't the worst I've ever seen, it's definitely not on the better end of the "shoddy legacy platform" spectrum. It'll take actually years to get off of this platform, and that's daunting and definitely boring sometimes. - Since I've started here, the company's processes generally have given me the same feeling that you get when you catch your foot on the sidewalk or something and stumble forward for a little bit. You're not going to fall to the ground, but it perpetually feels off balance and clumsy because changes happen too rapidly for you to ever feel like they've taken root. I believe that this trend will continue at least for the next 12 months, but probably longer. - There's a significant amount of bloat to the engineering teams - they're just too large to communicate or innovate quickly, largely because of the need for a few keepers of Legacy Knowledge to be present on each team. The cumulative effect is a ton of repetitive meetings and discussions about what constitutes "agile" development. - Perhaps as a side effect of the company being inclusive and social and empathetic, the culture is soft to a fault sometimes. A certain percentage of the engineering department (pretty much every role) is dead weight and counterproductive to the overall goals, and I get the sense that nobody is ever really fired for non-performance.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Good place to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Net Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do their best to make work 'fun'. They have snacks (at least for a few days, until your fellow employees hoard them at their desks), and a once-a-year meeting in Pittsburgh. The Strip District is a great area . The people you work with - for the most part - are young, fun, energetic.

    Cons

    Don't expect your ideas to be implemented. No matter how much experience you do or do not have. Although they always say they pay industry standard - they do not. You definitely have to leave, or just realize you'll be living from paycheck to paycheck. They are full of promises - but never follow thru. (Medical/dental benefits are horribly overpriced).

    Continue reading
    Net Health2019-02-23
  4. "Still have ways to go, but getting there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Net Health full-time

    Pros

    1. People that I've worked in my department are awesome and they have my back and I have theirs 2. Teams now have more autonomy on how work gets done and done the right way. 3. Slack....enough said 4. Free snacks all the time and the occasional free lunches 5. We are working to improve our application to make it more distributed and less monolithic

    Cons

    1. Benefits could be a bit better. I feel that's why sometimes people we want to hire don't want to work at Net Health due to that. 2. Sometimes we butt heads when two departments have strong opinions on something but they are opposite ends of the spectrum. It can cause riffs between departments 3. Too many quick deadlines. 4. Need to make our Connect events all virtual. The company spends money flying and providing hotel rooms to remote people and non-Pittsburgh office people to Pittsburgh. The money can be spent elsewhere like better benefits and providing better tools and resources for all departments at Net Health.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2019-01-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with a very bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Net Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great leadership, wonderful culture. Benefits are very reasonable.

    Cons

    The pay is below industry average.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2018-10-08
  6. "Great company working trying to avoid plateau"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Net Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture. People there enjoy working with each other and work hard.

    Cons

    Lack of formalized processes harms knowledge transfer. Vision is generally good but execution is lacking. Growth rate has stagnated and middle management has too.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2018-10-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not as amazing as it appears"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Net Health full-time

    Pros

    The people that you work with are well selected and qualified, Dress code is casual, Fun happy hours, unlimited sick time, lot of alcohol at every office event

    Cons

    There is no career path that you can count on, No direction from your boss about what goals they are willing to help you accomplish, No training given for new hires, Work life balance is dependent on who your boss is, HR policy is not followed across the board such as WFH or flex hours as they are open to change depending on who your boss is

    Continue reading
    Net Health2017-10-21
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fascinating Work and Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Net Health

    Pros

    Rapidly changing environment as the company seeks to build economies of scale makes for a fascinating work environment. The people here are excellent to work with.

    Cons

    Changing processes and products lead to many unknowns. Departments need to communicate on a more effective basis across functional lines.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2017-06-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Net Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast growing company that is a leader in a competitive market, company that values it's people, great culture, leadership that listens, I have all the tools I need to do my job well

    Cons

    Some things have changed with the growth of the company but policies and procedures have to be put in place with the growth that we have experienced. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the base pay is not competitive, but the other benefits trump that for me.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2017-06-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Net Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, tons of fun events and chances to get to know your colleagues and their significant others, always new opportunities to grow and step into new challenges

    Cons

    I don't think we have the most competitive salaries for some positions.

    Continue reading
    Net Health2017-03-23
Found 32 reviews