Network Rail Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Network Rail Chief Executive  Andrew Haines
Andrew Haines
74 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some poor management plus a lot of weekends & nights working(in 15 reviews)

  • "There can be very long hours to be worked(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great work life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Network Rail

    Pros

    - Flex work style - Leave at 5pm - No micro managing - Trusted to do your work - Excellent benefits

    Cons

    - Bad pay - Managers somewhat disengaged - People take advantage of the benefits, i.e. sick pay, maternity pay and you end up having to cover three jobs at the same time - Difficult to move to different teams

    Network Rail2015-03-10

    Network Rail Response

    July 24, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave Network Rail a review on Glassdoor. We really appreciate it! Reinold Talent Acquisition Manager

  2. "Good benefits. Company is slowly changing"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Procurement in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working. Paid holiday of 28 days. Pay. Bonus.

    Cons

    Slow to change. Lots of nepotism. Hasn’t embraced D&I. Very white middle aged man heavy.

    Continue reading
    Network Rail2020-05-29
  3. "Fantastic Placd"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signaller in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great bonus schemes Made to feel part of a family

    Cons

    None for me, it’s too good

    Continue reading
    Network Rail2020-05-28
  4. "Countless opportunity."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time

    Pros

    Strong team work ethic Great opportunity to develop your career in several roles Strong pay and pension

    Cons

    Long hours Lack of communication between departments

    Network Rail2020-05-26
  5. "I worked at Network Rail for a year inbetween my studies, enjoyed it very much and learnt a lot"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement Finance Analyst in Cardiff, Wales

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team atmosphere and communication, everyone is very friendly

    Cons

    Lots of changes within teams

    Network Rail2020-05-25
  6. "great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Network Rail full-time

    Pros

    5 days volunteer leave, 28 days AL

    Cons

    sometimes progression could be a bit slow

    Network Rail2020-05-20

    Network Rail Response

    June 1, 2020Head of Recruitment Marketing & Engagement

    Thanks for your positive review and for sharing details around the leave entitlement and volunteer leave. it's disappointing to hear that you saw (career) progression as a bit slow and hope this isn't the reason you left the business. Network Rail prides itself on the progression and development opportunities for our colleagues and so we'd love to get any further feedback from you on how we could improve this. Thanks again for your review and we wish you every success in your design engineer career.

  7. "Network Rail review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Conformance Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very diverse company with lots of opportunities to move around.

    Cons

    Hard to change culture of working in some teams who are set in their ways.

    Network Rail2020-05-17

    Network Rail Response

    June 1, 2020Head of Recruitment Marketing & Engagement

    Thanks for your review and for highlighting the opportunities at Network Rail. We were really interested to hear about the culture of some teams and we're hoping that the Putting Passengers First programme will help bring a united focus across all teams on doing what's best for our customers. Thanks again.

  8. "great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time

    Pros

    Caring, progressive, limitless career opportunities

    Cons

    Large organisation with lots of red tape

    Network Rail2020-05-12

    Network Rail Response

    June 1, 2020Head of Recruitment Marketing & Engagement

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for sharing your experience at Network Rail. It's really positive to hear about the caring and progressive parts of your job and we appreciate the feedback on red tape. You'll know that the company is focused on Putting Passengers First and a comprehensive programme of systems thinking projects to strip back that red tape. Thanks again for your review!

  9. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and interesting work.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be a little bureaucratic.

    Continue reading
    Network Rail2020-05-13

    Network Rail Response

    May 14, 2020Head of Recruitment Marketing & Engagement

    Hi and thank you so much for providing a review, really pleased that you find the culture and work as positive. We're working hard to remove bureaucracy and the Putting Passengers First programme is proving lots of opportunity for devolved decision making, something that we have seen really come into it's own during the COVID 19 crisis. Please do chat to your line manager or through our Putting Passengers First Yammer group for any suggestions you think could help us to continually improve. Thanks again.

  10. "A good place to start"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Network Rail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cheap transport, progress, discounts, visit new places, happy to speak with people

    Cons

    Shifts , Dangerous, no enough staff, customers can be aggressive ,

    Continue reading
    Network Rail2020-05-06

    Network Rail Response

    May 14, 2020Head of Recruitment Marketing & Engagement

    Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As a safety critical company I was concerned to see your comments included dangerous. We'd really appreciate if you could let us know more and I have provided details below on this. Speak Out is our confidential reporting service run on our behalf by an independent company. You can use the service to report concerns, suspicions or knowledge of wrongdoing taking place at Network Rail. The service is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year and you can make a report anonymously, if you wish. You can access Speak Out by calling 0808 143 0100 or online at www.intouchfeedback.com/networkrail Thanks again for your review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 596 Reviews