New Look Reviews | Glassdoor

New Look Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 564 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Alistair McGeorge
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff discount provided after passing probation period (usually about 8 weeks)(in 99 reviews)

  • "Pros: 50% discount on all new look clothing(in 77 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rotas are often unpredictable and management often do not allow alterations(in 33 reviews)

  • "Long hours with out breaks and unpredictable shift patterns(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look for more than 2 years

    Pros

    New challenges and experiences with professional company where the performance in retail management

    Cons

    Need to understand the required information

    Advice to Management

    Training programs

    New Look2015-07-20
  2. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at New Look part-time

      Pros

      Really enjoyed it, people are all very friendly

      Cons

      Management can be unfair sometimes

      New Look2018-12-12

      New Look Response

      December 17, 2018

      Hello, sorry that you are no longer a part of our New Look family, it sounds like you had some friendly colleagues! We really appreciate you taking the time to shout about all the great experiences you’ve had at New Look.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Not bad for a student job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at New Look part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      discount used to be 50% off everything except sale and concessions but now it has gone down to 40% which is still quite good, but 50 was better obviously. because the rota is never set in stone you are able to let management know if you cannot make a shift which they will then probably ask you to find someone to cover it but if not they are usually understanding

      Cons

      They will post the rota and say "it may change" well what's the point of posting it then? How can anyone make plans if they don't know what hours they're working until sometimes 2 days before...if you're looking to work a lot of hours this is not the place to go as sometimes you will only get 4-8 hours a week.

      New Look2017-12-08
    • "Nice environment & culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at New Look

        Pros

        Job rotation kept things interesting and the management staff were great.

        Cons

        I was signed to a 4 hour contract but was working over 25 hours per week.

        New Look2014-09-19
      • "Good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at New Look part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Employees discount Friendly staff Decent management

        Cons

        Only offer 4 hour contracts barely had any any hours for staff to work

        New Look2019-05-18
      • "Good place to work part time"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at New Look part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Friendly Staff Work wasn’t difficult

        Cons

        No pay increase over time worked there

        New Look2019-05-16
      • "Sales Advisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at New Look part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        excellent discount - 40%!, worked with some lovely people, good management, easy job if you listen, shift goes in quickly, never stuck doing the same tasks every shift, flex holidays which is fab

        Cons

        breaks are very poor! only entitled to a short break after 6 hours. have to stay behind when your shift is over sometimes up to half an hour to make sure everything is tidied as it should be.

        Advice to Management

        more time should be invested in training new starts

        New Look2019-05-07
      • "good while it lasted"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Advisor and Keyholder 
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at New Look full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        -Genuinely amazing team, worked in 3 different stores and each one felt like a family -recognition for KPIs

        Cons

        -My store ended up closing but didn't get told for a while, there was a constant feeling that we would get kicked out at any point even when we weren't one of the stores that were told that were to be closing. -The reigonal manager and other visits completely ignored our store leading up. -Very hard to move up within the company

        Advice to Management

        stop favouring certain staff

        New Look2019-05-07
      • "New to New Look"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Retail Operations in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at New Look full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        A really friendly workplace - our team all get along very well and interactions with other departments are generally positive and cooperative. A great place to learn new skills and to grow alongside a lot of smart and talented people. Everyone seems really committed to the turnaround plan and there's lots of exciting things happening. Management are really considerate of your work life balance and have supported me...

        Show More

        Cons

        There has been some instability due to the business' financial position and restructuring, which has affected our productivity and ability to make an impact, however this does seem to be clearing up now. Not everyone in the Support Centre moves as fast as the business itself does and so sometimes you will find yourself chasing people for basic things, however if you are tenacious, there's usually a way around this. ...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Keep communicating about the plans for the future, and ensure everyone is focused on the updated values as they really do work

        New Look2019-05-03
      • "Sales Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at New Look part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Amazing managers Good benefits Good share of hours

        Cons

        Staff discount has decreased since starting, still good at 40%

        New Look2019-05-02
      Found 564 reviews