New Look Reviews | Glassdoor

New Look Reviews

Updated August 24, 2017
297 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
New Look Chief Executive Anders Kristiansen
Anders Kristiansen
83 Ratings

297 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • 50% discount, discounts on selected stores/services (in 70 reviews)

  • 50% staff discount after 3 months probation, incentives to achieve targets e (in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • it's like being punished for something you can't help and the managers guilt trip you loads if you can't pick up last minute shifts or are sick (in 11 reviews)

  • Biggest con is not allowed to have any drink on the shop floor, not even allowed water (in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look (More than a year)

    Pros

    New challenges and experiences with professional company where the performance in retail management

    Cons

    Need to understand the required information

    Advice to Management

    Training programs


  2. "Nice environment & culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Job rotation kept things interesting and the management staff were great.

    Cons

    I was signed to a 4 hour contract but was working over 25 hours per week.

  3. "New Look Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Worcester, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Worcester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Busy, bubbly environment, Great customers, Great staff

    Cons

    Not a lot of hours available as seem to employ a lot of part time staff rather than full time, poor pay

    Advice to Management

    I suggest trying to make new employees feel more welcome as new look tend to be a small team


  4. "Different experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor
    Current Employee - Supervisor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New Look full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - 40% off clothing and New Look Perks including discounts off cinema tickets and phones etc
    - 25% family and friends
    - Met and work with lovely people

    Cons

    I have worked in a small and 2 large stores and the larger stores are 10x harder to work in for definate. The company have had to make cut backs and there just simply are not enough staff members to keep the shop running to its best potential. Covering manager for maternity was not suitable for the role as they did not have the best people skill set and after constantly asking for different shifts to make it fairer between the management team and to gain experience in visual merchandising and other job roles, that was not met and was told 'it's for the business's needs'. Store has gone downhill since last manager was there as she was brilliant. The last 8 months have been very challenging for this store regardless of who runs it. Sales expected to be produced with as little as two days notice, promotions always being added because the company cannot sell the product as none of the customers want it. Hours always changing and short notice for everything the company want to add on a DAILY basis is rediculous and staff are getting seriously fed up working for a company that cannot make up their minds on which day they want a particular project to launch when the company expect you have full flexibility for a 4/8/16 hour contract. No loyalty from the company or some managers, can go in and never have a day sick, always come in early, work 6 or 7 days a week, never complain and never even get a thank you. Training can't even be thought about for people who want to progress in the company as the payroll just isn't there and positions are being closed down to save costs, so it's harder to progress in the business. Customers are becoming more and more demanding every year making your job harder (not made easier by New Look with the approach the have towards customers).

    Sounds like a mostly negative experience, but have been enjoying working more recently since moving to a smaller store as it's less work loads on less people and an amazing store manager. Would love to be able to speak to big bosses to give them an insight into how I/we feel!

    Advice to Management

    More like advice to head office, CEO and Managing directors - stop producing masses and masses of product and stock piling when it simply cannot be sold when we have to launch massive sales to get rid of it. Employ more fashion forward buyers/fashion designers and reconsider what materials you use ansmost products become faulty soon after buying them. I could go on!

    New Look Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Talent Sourcing Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. We are really disappointed to hear that you’ve not have the experience with us that we would want or expect. It is great news, you are happier in your new... More


  5. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at New Look part-time

    Pros

    Progression
    staff uniform
    current trends
    working environment
    clean

    Cons

    involvement
    spoken down to
    lack of responsibility
    valued
    working hours

    Advice to Management

    to give people a chance to show what they are capable of

    New Look Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Talent Sourcing Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see that you enjoyed working in a progressive fun working environment. We thank you for your review and wish you continued success in your new... More


  6. "Great place to work, but some people ARE CRAZY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    50% staff discount on all products !!!

    Cons

    As a sales assistant - Like with all places of work employees and even managers can be blatantly rude to you. Depending on the size of the store you are easily replaceable and just a number as opposed to being a person. It can be like a reality TV show working in store sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Show more appreciation to your staff and give more opportunities
    to show excellence in areas.

    New Look Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Talent Sourcing Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see you enjoyed our company discount, with regards to the other points you have raised, we will ensure they are shared with the relevant teams... More


  7. "Cuts and Higher Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    staff and fellow management were all lovely people, staff discount was ace and the visual part of the job was really fun and always kept you learning newness!

    Cons

    Really difficult to progress without having to move to a different city! Personally I think you should be able to progress within your own store. Manageress of the store put you off positions telling you "you would be better just doing what you are doing" just because she had her favourites and wanted to persue someone else into the job. Worked as a sales assistant for 5 years and told I would never be management, so had to apply in a different city and was offered right away! Eventually I moved job, and when I did the store manager knew my new boss and tried to sabotage my new job! Also you are expected you to be sales and service, visual and operational! The cuts are horrendous and teams are still expected to deliver HEART, accounts, OIS, and everything else you used to be able to achieve with a much larger team. I understand cuts are happening everywhere but it is an unrealistic exprectation to still be able to achieve tgt/LY/KPIs

    Advice to Management

    Take pride in the people that actually work hard to keep your store a float. And if someone is quite well capable of doing the job, do. It hold them back as people need to move on in life instead of making it easier for you!

    New Look Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – HR Graduate

    Thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately we’re unable to comment on sensitive work situations. If you are keen for this to be investigated further or feel that you have not been given the... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked and under appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Deputy Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New Look full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Started at Newlook at the age of 16 worked my way up to deputy. From 2011 to 2017 really enjoyed it up to 2016 everything just started going down hill for the company and store.
    Pro was it's good for younger girls as it helps boost confidence.
    Fun place to work.
    Good team
    Lovely RBM's
    50% discount
    Had good opportunity and training up until 2016 (change of rbm and cost cuts)
    Learnt a lot from people who actually wants to train you.

    Cons

    - cost cut changed but expectations went up.
    - no perks only 50% discount
    - the amount of money you spent in store with 50% discount works out under minimal wage allowance at £1800 annually and you get pulled up if your not using enough of your discount.
    - work over your contracted hours and don't get paid. But if your. Min under it gets deducted.
    - poor manager didn't know how to visual or run the floor so I did everything. Also lots of favourite people. Told HR they didn't do anything.
    - favourites the people that didn't do they're job but don't priase the staff.
    - racism sometimes go on in store.
    - store manager won't hire gay people (my brother in law) worked at Christmas temp and wanted to come back, management team wants him back but store manager always says they're no vacancies even though I've been interviewing people all week!
    - manager leaves early eveyday but clocks her self out.

    Advice to Management

    Cons was the reason why I left I put up with it for 3 years and I just got fed up, people have spoken to the manager but nothing's changed. This is why they're are high staff turnovers in this store and high sickness but she blames it on uni leavers. I think it's unfair how she can get away with this. Also the old manager gave me so many opportunities to go away for model store and concept but since things changed all I do is run the shop
    Floor for her and visual all she does is sit in the office on Facebook. Comes down to cover lunch and that's it home time for her. (London is not my location) I'd rather not say. Due to avoiding conflict as it's a small area

    New Look Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Talent Sourcing Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. We are really disappointed to hear that you’ve not have the experience with us that we would want or expect. We want to reassure you that we do take the... More


  9. "Not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland (UK)
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New Look (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    40% Discount, NL employee perks scheme.

    Cons

    Not acknowledged by company, last minute with changes or adding new lines to sale. Company constantly cut hours, often left under my contract hours which managers happily help me with. Perks are okay/good. Can't easily progress. Minimum wage, no pay increase on Sundays, Bank Holiday Mondays, Night Shifts and Christmas Eve. Work/life balance is difficult.

    Advice to Management

    In store managers are absolutely fine and very helpful, company is badly managed and needs some serious improvements.

    New Look Response

    Aug 16, 2017 – HR Graduate

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see that you enjoy the perks you've gained whilst working with us! However, we are really disappointed to hear that you did not have the... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work and under appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Former Employee - Sales Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New Look full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Work alongside some of the best people. I've made some lifelong friends through the company. Good staff discount. It's main,y the people in the stores that make this company what it is.

    Cons

    Easily replaced. Not appreciated at all. Don't look after hard working employees who commit to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Fight harder for the people who make the company what it is. The long and unsociable hours they put in. You cut hours and jobs and still expect us to deliver amazing customer service while you sit in your office telling us we aren't doing good enough.

    New Look Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Talent Sourcing Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. We are really disappointed to hear that you’ve not have the experience with us that we would want or expect. We want to reassure you that we do take the... More


Showing 297 of 312 reviews
Reset Filters