Cover image for NopSec
Logo

NopSec

Is this your company?

NopSec

Add a Review

NopSec Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 25 of over 29 reviews
3.8
65% Recommend to a Friend
76% Approve of CEO

Found 24 of over 29 reviews

3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
NopSec CEO Lisa Xu (no image)
Lisa Xu
16 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Tech

455.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=NopSec~325846
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Management truly cares about each individuals personal development.(in 3 reviews)
  • "3) Great people and culture(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Product, Great People

    Apr 29, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Start-up that makes you feel important, part of a true "team"....upper management truly cares and understand that personal/family situations arise and need to be dealt with as priorities over work.

    Cons

    Due to Covid, I have yet to meet anyone in person...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It is not for everyone, but it can be a stepping stone for the right person

    Nov 20, 2022 - Engineering Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Because executives don't know how to manage product development, they have to rely on you. This means if you are a engineering leader, you will have little resistance to pick the technology you want to use, as long as it is free or cheap. If you are an engineer looking to upgrade your skills, you would get good exposures on some awesome tech built by my team. There were some great individual contributors to work with. The CTO and chief security researcher are great penetration testers and I heard many great pen-test stories.

    Cons

    Executives do not want to admit the product is just a feature, not a product on its own. To force a feature into a product, customers get to strongarm the product team to build custom workflows. This means product roadmap and timeline is rarely in the control of the product team. This is also the reason why they cannot find product-market fit and have to continue to rely on their pentest service for survival. Executives cannot manage and don't know to foster a growth culture. Unless you are a strong leader yourself or trust the middle management that interviewed you is such, you would have to learn on your own while being counted on to deliver. Executives can't find a product-market fit and cannot execute on their own visions. They had a great vision 7-8 years ago, made 0 progress since, and were still selling the same visions to candidates as recent as 2021. Executives treat all departures as betrayals. The moment you resign, they would try to threaten you with non-compete and bluff to make you feel like you can't be a janitor in any other cybersecurity company . Executives don't manage company finance that well. Went through a rapid expansion and then laid off 40% employees + salary cut within 10 months and it is not because of COVID. No budget and lack of planning. You literately have to get approval to buy a book.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the NopSec team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Some good, some bad

    Nov 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some really great people, potentially interesting and impactful work.

    Cons

    Some people that are difficult to work with, company doesn't seem to have found a good product-market fit despite being in business for quite a while.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Move along, nothing to see here.

    Sep 17, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Remote - Relatively modern technology stack

    Cons

    - Sales driven. Changes of priority mid sprint were very common. - Very litigious. Tried to enforce bogus non-compete including threats from lawyers despite not working at a competitor. - Rudderless leadership. Pivoted at least 4 times during tenure. - Family run (CEO & CTO) - Salary and benefits are below the median

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great People, Positive Business Outlook

    Feb 11, 2016 - Digital Marketing Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My top 4 pros: 1) Great product -- Information security is here to stay and NopSec's Unified VRM is a solid IT tool for businesses. 2) Positive business outlook -- I feel secure knowing that the company is doing well. 3) Great people and culture -- Highly collaborative and hardworking talented people. It helps a great deal when you like the people you work with. 4) Compensation -- Highly competitive and professional development is encouraged through a training allowance. 5) Location -- We're at the heart of trendy, techy Dumbo. Good for people who likes trendy and techy things. And live nearby.

    Cons

    Two things: 1) Commute -- Dumbo is a great location, but it's not very convenient for me. This is more personal than anything, and it's actually very doable, but New Yorkers complain about their commute all the time anyway so might as well get it out there. That being said, I'm never late. =) 2) Many hats put on -- Well, this is not so much as a con but something I had to get used to and something you'd have to learn about startups and lean operations as a whole. It's not a bad thing so to speak, especially if it means learning new marketable skill sets and being more involved in the company. Take this as a con if you will. Other than that, I'm all good.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    NopSec Response

    CMO

    We're glad to have you on the team!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Growing company - Great Team!

    Mar 3, 2016 - Marketing Associate in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at NopSec for over 8 months now and I am very happy to work here. Hired into a sales role, I was able to explore my interests and transition into a Marketing position. NopSec provides great resources & training to educate their employees. When I started I knew very little about information security and vulnerability risk management - now I know more than I would of ever imaged. Management truly cares about each individuals personal development. Open communication between marketing, sales, and engineering teams makes it comfortable to communicate and collaborate on a daily basis. And of course working in a start up environment is a huge pro, everyone here truly cares about the product and works well together as a team. The office also has fun team bonding events outside of the office. We recently had a skiing/snowboarding trip and a Chinese New Year celebration.

    Cons

    Not a con for me, but you do need to be ready to work independently and wear many hats. Working at a start up typically means you shouldn't expect tasks to be delivered on a sliver platter, motivation to go above & beyond is important.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    NopSec Response

    CMO

    We're glad you're part of the team! We're committed to everyone's growth. It's great to have motivated and talented members of the team.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great potential

    Nov 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Solid technology, which is the fundamental of a tech company. - Great opportunities. Cybersecurity is getting seriously hot, and the company is getting well-recognized in the industry. - Real skills learned and practiced. Working in a startup means you are exposed to lots of challenges and opportunities daily - that's how you learn new skills and practice them fast. - Great team. Everybody is passionate and helpful! The team is not big so we are connected to each other closely and supporting each other with our expertise from different fields. You will be amazed by your coworkers.

    Cons

    - Common con of working in a startup - you need to learn as you go, at a fast pace.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Took a while to get to 5 stars, but here we are

    Feb 28, 2019 - Vice President Product in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Senior management more transparent than ever before Solving the right problem at the right time Building everything from scratch, not just the product – make your mark

    Cons

    Cons expected from every startup – 1000mph just to survive Inconsistencies in WFH policy

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exciting

    Jan 22, 2014 - Director of Software Engineering in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great startup positioned to grow rapidly Fast-paced interesting work where everyone can make a big impact Very interesting technical problems Developing enterprise cloud solutions, with cloud security Some of the smartest minds in Offensive Cyber Security Management wants you to succeed Clear goals, clear responsibility (Not common in startups) Management is very organized Good compensation for a startup There are benefits including health insurance and stock options Located in DUMBO in a very stylish/hip/driven part of the city

    Cons

    If you like the startup environment, there are no cons. Its the perfect startup. The office can get hot. Hopefully this will be fixed soon.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Exciting start up environment with potential for growth

    Mar 4, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great potential for personal and professional growth. -Team environment where you work together to help one another. -Encouragement and recognition from management. -No repetitive, boring days- since it is a start up, everyone wears many hats and can do a variety of things instead of the same thing every day. -Potential to watch the company grow and expand.

    Cons

    -Not many negatives. It can be difficult to balance many things during busy times, but that helps you work on time management.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at NopSec? Share Your Experiences

NopSec logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Marketing(2)
  • Software Engineer(2)

NopSec Photos

+ Add Photo
NopSec photo of: Best Buddies Walk
NopSec photo of: Conferece
NopSec photo of: Ski Trip - Hunter Mountain
NopSec photo of: Company Holiday Dinner
NopSec photo of: Halloween 2015
NopSec photo of: Chinese New Year Celebration
NopSec photo of: Office outing at Coney Island
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

NopSec Job Seekers Also Viewed

Okta Logo
Okta

4.0

864 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 29 NopSec reviews submitted anonymously by NopSec employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if NopSec is right for you.