Novavax Reviews | Glassdoor

Novavax Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Novavax CEO Stanley C. Erck
Stanley C. Erck
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits and work life balance is great(in 5 reviews)

  • "The company makes an effort to offer work-life balance and pays a fairly competitive rate(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "trials for RSV where the primary endpoint wasn't met(in 4 reviews)

  • "No product approved, so success of company depends on outside funding(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "System Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Novavax

    Pros

    Good people and nice environment

    Cons

    Noting to complain about the company

    Novavax2018-12-14
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Intern 

      I have been working at Novavax full-time

      Pros

      It was a good internship

      Cons

      not enough time to work on projects

      Novavax2019-06-14
    • "good company to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Novavax full-time

        Pros

        good benefit, good work environment

        Cons

        need better strategy for partnership

        Novavax2019-05-22
      • "Better compensation needed"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Research Associate I in Gaithersburg, MD
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Novavax full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -Benefits are okay. -There is a big shutdown at the end of the year so you can take a long vacation if you want. -basically unlimited sick time

        Cons

        -Salary is very bad -no career potential or promotion

        Advice to Management

        You're doing all right with what you have right now, but you're going to lose many valuable people for higher paying jobs if the salaries remain low.

        Novavax2019-05-21
      • "Clinical phase is tough"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in Gaithersburg, MD
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Novavax full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Novavax is trying to launch novel vaccines, which is an exciting opportunity. Most of the people who work here are committed to that goal, which creates a lot of alignment around what we are trying to achieve.

        Cons

        Clinical trials are tricky and we've had two phase III trials for RSV where the primary endpoint wasn't met. That puts future success for the company in doubt.

        Advice to Management

        There is not enough planning at the department level. Yes, we are trying to launch a vaccine to commercial phase. But we still need detailed planning year to year at department levels to ensure alignment on projects and priorities.

        Novavax2019-05-06
      • "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Novavax

        Pros

        If you can bend your knee and keep talking great things and pretending hard working, you will survive very well

        Cons

        Changing the data, poor statistical knowledge. People make critical error is ok to management team, because they only care about how to get money from idiot investors.

        Novavax2019-05-06
      • "Novavax a vaccine biotech company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Research Associate I 

          I have been working at Novavax full-time

          Pros

          Mostly friendly co workers and management

          Cons

          No product approved, so success of company depends on outside funding

          Novavax2019-03-26
        • "ok experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Novavax full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            fast paced, good fun people

            Cons

            unstable management, unpredictable, low job security

            Novavax2019-03-30
          • "Not a good place to grow"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Management 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Novavax full-time for more than 5 years

            Pros

            Competitive salaries, and at a date in the past, good stock plans.

            Cons

            Don't Drink the cool aid. Novavax attracted , employed and cultured the the unemployed aggressors local to the rockville/gaithersburg corridor.

            Advice to Management

            Take a step back and look at what you need, don't just pick up the castaways.

            Novavax2019-03-15
          • Helpful (3)

            "Job"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Novavax for less than a year

            Pros

            Possibly will listen to this review.

            Cons

            Management widely practices intense intimidation tactics and refrains from allocating resources for very scant training.

            Advice to Management

            Pursue basic leadership and management training.

            Novavax2019-01-15
          Found 67 reviews