OPNET Reviews | Glassdoor

OPNET Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Jerry Kennelly
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Really smart people everywhere in the company(in 5 reviews)

  • "Excellent work-life balance, diverse portfolio of products, many opportunities etc(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of layoffs and uncertainty after the riverbed acquisition(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Smart coworkers, uncertain environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OPNET full-time

    Pros

    You will get to work with very smart, motivated and passionate colleagues.

    Cons

    Lots of layoffs and uncertainty after the riverbed acquisition.

    OPNET2018-10-08
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Technician in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OPNET full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very relax environment. Everyone works hard and play hard. Upper management took good care of their employees. Very friendly environment. Great place to learn and grow.

    Cons

    None really. Everyone seem to get along.

    OPNET2017-09-08
  3. "Sweatshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer Network Modeling in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OPNET

    Pros

    Great company that had the technology but lost focus and vision, did not make the right strategic decisions to survive.

    Cons

    The old OPNET was a total brown nose environment. On technical matters, you are expected to defer to higher-ups on the brown-nose chain. "I'm right because I'm the VP"!

    Advice to Management

    Be less arrogant.

    OPNET2015-12-10
  4. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at OPNET

      Pros

      Overall size of the firm

      Cons

      Benefits and Paid Time off

      Advice to Management

      Invest in employees

      OPNET2015-12-04
    • "Channel Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bethesda, MD

        I worked at OPNET full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        my manager was incredibly smart and patient and taught me a ton!

        Cons

        MAJOR egos to contend with on the sales team

        OPNET2015-10-22
      • "One of the best companies I've ever worked for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director in Bethesda, MD

        I have been working at OPNET for more than 2 years

        Pros

        - Great culture - Smart people - Lots of growth and opportunities to develop yourself - Drink from the fire hydrant philosophy

        Cons

        - Got acquired by Riverbed

        OPNET2015-07-01
      • "Micro management at its worst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at OPNET full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great products that a re nice to haves for an IT company. Some tools are very helpful but are priced where only Fortune 500s can afford them

        Cons

        To say that OPNET was a micromanaged company is not strong enough. Spending time in SCM seems more important to management than making sales!

        OPNET2015-07-14
      • Helpful (1)

        "Product Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at OPNET

        Pros

        Great company with excellent people. OPNET gave a start-up atmosphere for an established company. People were always friendly and ready to help.

        Cons

        Not many cons from this organization. There is ample room for growth with a decent compensation package. A lot of autonomy for most positions as well.

        Advice to Management

        Management did a great job while with the company. From the pre-IPO days to the eventual acquisition, they made sure that the company had a stable growth path.

        OPNET2015-06-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bethesda, MD

        I worked at OPNET for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Great company to work for, with super focused management

        Cons

        Acquired in 2012 and the Cohen brothers moved on

        OPNET2015-05-17
      • Helpful (2)

        "Decent company made worse by Riverbed"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Applications/Pre-sales Engineer in Nashua, NH
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at OPNET full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        OPNET no longer exists. During my limited time there I created relationships with many very talented folks; most of whom have since left.

        Cons

        Riverbed is oppressive. It has a typical big company feel and the associated politics.

        Advice to Management

        It wouldn't matter; they don't listen. A big thumbs-down to my former manager who has since retired.

        OPNET2015-04-07
      Found 55 reviews