Oil-Dri Reviews | Glassdoor

Oil-Dri Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Oil-Dri CEO Daniel S. Jaffee (no image)
Daniel S. Jaffee
14 Ratings
  1. "Logistics Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Clerk in Ochlocknee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil-Dri part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very easy going company. Always fits the employees needs when it comes to taking time off for family or other personal reasons. A very relaxing, laid back company to work for.

    Cons

    There are no cons with this company.

    Oil-Dri2019-04-19
  2. "Money is money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Oil-Dri full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none. you overpay for benefits

    Cons

    overworked and underpaid. benefits are expensive and never get a day off

    Oil-Dri2019-08-22
  3. "Winning at Oil-Dri is a Team Game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Honesty 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil-Dri full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Oil-Dri lives up to it's values at all levels of leadership. Competitive compensation and benefits, growth opportunity and recognition.

    Cons

    Due to the type of product, the plants are dusty and subjected to all weather conditions, however the Company puts forth the effort to improve our environment and truly cares about its employees at all levels.

    Advice to Management

    Remain consistent in how you lead and continue to focus on improvements.

    Oil-Dri2019-03-08
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Pucker Up and Kiss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oil-Dri full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you like downtown Chicago, a great place to work

    Cons

    Third gen family business. Kiss the ring culture. If you are ambitious and want to have decision making authority, dont apply here. The Leadership is less interested in growing than in maintaining. Also a heavy turnover of people...everybody who has a significant role is eventually fired and the spin is that it was a "recruiting mistake". Some of these recruiting mistakes worked at the company in leadership... roles 20 or more years. Also, the Cat Litter Business is a dismal place to live - how much passion can you conjure over cat feces?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a professional to manage the company.

    Oil-Dri2019-01-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oil-Dri full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many good people work there

    Cons

    Managers lack awareness of needs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep in touch of operational needs.

    Oil-Dri2018-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Oil-Dri full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay and expansive benefits

    Cons

    Office Politics - family biased

    Oil-Dri2018-10-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Oil Dri (Ochlocknee, GA)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ochlocknee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oil-Dri full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reasonable pay, seasonal overtime and decent benefits with room for growth.

    Cons

    "Out with the old, in with the new"

    Advice to Management

    I have heard many things since my departure. I would just like to know why the veteran workers who were there since the 80's weren't allowed to retire or receive severance packages instead of being fired or laid off. Many of them were great employee's and knew there positions very well and never received any disciplinary actions at all on their records. This doesn't apply to all departments, but when people... place their two week notice, don't just hassle them out the door right away. It's called a two week notice for a reason That's highly unprofessional.

    Show More
    Oil-Dri2018-05-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work. Plenty of opportunities for advancement and learning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processing Team Leader in Ochlocknee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oil-Dri full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Above average pay rates Room for advancement Decent benefits Great HR personnel Many training and learning opportunities Excellent place to build up your resume

    Cons

    Office politics are hard to get by. A bunch of people in management positions have the "IDC I'm right bc I have the authority" attitude. If you are willing to take crap every now and again for no reason you'll be fine.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving the administration and employees. Weed out the workers who are now complacent and feel like they are entitled due to length employment.

    Oil-Dri2017-08-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oil-Dri part-time

    Pros

    Nice people I guess but not worth your time

    Cons

    Too much office politics, not fair payment, family run company people in family make more part time than full time employees

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people because you'll never retain millennials with the cheapness, idk if you know what entry level jobs are looking like

    Oil-Dri2017-06-15
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oil-Dri full-time

    Pros

    Some very good people work there

    Cons

    Upper management has no direction

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company or be more honest with your employees. The outside of the onion looks great. Peal back the layers and you find it rotten at the core. Company promotes core values, but they do not exist at the top. Bottom line, dividends and corporate bonuses much more important than the people.

    Oil-Dri2017-07-11
Found 22 reviews