OpenBet Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
OpenBet Group Chief Executive, Digital Jordan Levin (no image)
Jordan Levin
1 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Very disorganized - constant reorganization and low retention on senior management positions(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lack of pay rises across the board(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging fast pace environment"

    3.0
     

    I have been working at OpenBet

    Pros

    fast pace, New directions and challenges each year or project.

    Cons

    needs more diversity. super tight schedules with no time to slip.

    OpenBet2013-07-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Bad management decisions"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Athens
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In normal circumstances it is generally a good place to work. Flexible working schedule, good work/life balance, nice working environment.

    Cons

    At the time of need (COVID-19 crisis), the company didn't seem to care about its employees and took immediate actions to reduce its loss by firing people, reducing payments and applying furloughs.

    OpenBet2020-04-02
  3. "Not great, not terrible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenBet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance The management within Australia is/was competent and cared about the employees Fun team to work with Really smart engineers Occasionally interesting problems arise and it's a fun challenge as an engineer to find a solution

    Cons

    Everything you heard about the tech being legacy is wrong. It's not legacy, it's ancient. You should be a paleontologist to be working with something that ancient. The primary language used is TCL and the database is Informix, enough said. Pay is much lower than what you could earn at competitors. Let's just say you are looking at a 25-30% raise if you switch jobs. The local management within Australia is great, but I can't say the same about the ones at the top of the food chain. The company has been sold thrice in the few years I have been there. Their primary focus is constantly looking for higher bidders instead of focusing on making a sustainable product or rewriting the decades old code. The tech debt is, well let's just say at Chernobyl levels and it's a testament to the engineers that the product is still managing to hold well even though it's dated.

    Continue reading
    OpenBet2019-12-07
  4. "Nice place to start your career"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    People culture, offices, international exposure

    Cons

    Complex organization, minimum understanding of decision making process, limited documentation

    OpenBet2019-04-10
  5. "Great working environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Athens
    Recommends

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers, great office and benefits, work life balance. Good career opportunities. Java teams

    Cons

    Legacy tech stack such as TCL

    OpenBet2019-02-24
  6. "Great working conditions but poor working content"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chiswick, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenBet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great multicultural colleagues - Great working conditions - Good Benefits

    Cons

    - Outdated technologies and methodologies - Tasks set from external "customer" companies could end up being dull - Strict hierarchy could block new members from being involved in more interesting tasks

    OpenBet2019-03-01
  7. "Work life balanced"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time

    Pros

    Great vacation package. 3rd year reaches 6 weeks.

    Cons

    Try to get the highest salary because after that, there won't be much raise

    Continue reading
    OpenBet2019-02-11
  8. "Friendly environment but Management issues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Athens
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very friendly collaborative environment - Very good work/life balance

    Cons

    - Not good people's management - Medium to low salaries - Outdated technologies

    OpenBet2019-02-23
  9. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Athens
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenBet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worklife balance Nice people Good attitude from the management

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    OpenBet2019-02-07
  10. "Graduate Software Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Software Engineer in Chiswick, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenBet for less than a year

    Pros

    + Really nice people in the company + Very flexible working hours + Very nice office + Training + Fun working enviroment + Nice location in Chiswick park

    Cons

    - Legacy tech stack (TCL, informix) - Customer focus

    Continue reading
    OpenBet2018-11-22
Found 144 reviews