KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

OpenVPN Technologies

Engaged Employer

OpenVPN Technologies

Add a Review

OpenVPN Technologies Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 23 reviews

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
OpenVPN Technologies CEO Francis Dinha
Francis Dinha
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The team is also very collaborative.(in 3 reviews)
  • "famous company that achieved leadership in the market with only a few talented people.(in 3 reviews)
  • "I also appreciate the flexibility which allows me to work remotely when needed.(in 2 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The Best Professional Experience of My Life

    Jun 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong leadership that respects everyone at every level of the company Brilliant subject matter experts Collaboration across all departments -- virtually no silos Generous pay and benefits (100% remote workforce, unlimited time off) Nimble -- if something isn't working, or could just work better, make the change Robust products that are continually evolving to meet customer needs Enthusiastic customer base and open source community Dedicated support for humanitarian efforts Mutual respect and support among co-workers No political maneuvering

    Cons

    There really aren't any cons to working at OpenVPN. It's a stable company with strong leadership and great people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing, supportive workplace

    Mar 24, 2022 - Creative Content Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership really cares Flexible schedule Great benefits Supportive and dynamic team

    Cons

    The products are a bit complicated so there’s a learning curve if you haven’t worked in cybersecurity before.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Oct 13, 2021 - Technical Support Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work as job are 100% remote. The company allows for their employees to be creative and express new ideas. In addition the employees are helpful in all aspects and keep open communication.

    Cons

    None so far. The company is great

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    xxx

    Jul 7, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people, nice environment, flexible

    Cons

    The technology is pretty old.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    great global coworkers

    May 26, 2021 - Technical Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can work remotely and set my schedule, I have coworkers who are borderline genius, we are constantly improving through retrospectives, and the work is both challenging and something I feel competent at.

    Cons

    We could use stronger project management structures.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent Culture

    Jun 11, 2019 - Social Media Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and high pay. As a homeschooling mom of 3, I'm able to work from home and still bring in money which is huge. I have enjoyed my time with OpenVPN and look forward to continuing growing with the team. The culture starts at the top, with the CEO and bleeds down into every department. We do have a flexible schedule but there are high expectations and deadlines to meet. A big part of being apart of the company is having integrity to do what you say you're going to do.

    Cons

    Biggest con is not being in the same room, building, or even state as other people. I love working remotely, but there are times a good brainstorming session in the same room would be nice!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company with open-source roots

    Jun 27, 2018 - Infrastructure/Support Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I applied to work at OpenVPN, I was looking for a position that would allow me to grow. That is exactly what I received - this is a company that will let you take on any projects/tasks as long as the end result is beneficial. Everyone here is learning and gaining new knowledge constantly. It is a fluid environment that deploys new tools constantly. Exactly what I hoped it would be.

    Cons

    OpenVPN is moving fast, if you want to sleep-walk through your work days, this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Realizing our growth potential!

    Jun 27, 2018 - Vice President Business Development in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at OpenVPN full-time for 6 years. We have seen rapid growth in company size and dominance in the software VPN market space. We are servicing millions of customers from the consumer to small business and the largest enterprises in the world. We offer a flexible work environment like no other, competitive pay, great benefits, and amazing People to work with!

    Cons

    We are a "mature" startup so we sometimes wear a lot of hats, but this does feed our need to explore our capabilities.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Exciting growth opportunities at OpenVPN!

    Jun 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I began my work with OpenVPN as a contractor three years ago and have been able to grow my career to new heights, gaining new skills thanks to the fluid and open environment at the company. I love that I can be creative and take charge of new strategies without being micro-managed. I also appreciate the flexibility which allows me to work remotely when needed. The team is also very collaborative. You won't find a better CEO to work with; he is extremely generous and cares about his employees deeply. - great compensation - great benefits package - remote flexibility

    Cons

    I'm not sure that these are cons, however people considering OpenVPN should be aware that you need to be a self-driver. The CEO expects you to take initiative and come up with ideas/strategies that take your execution. This is not a typical corporate job where you walk into a cookie cutter position with everything handed to you. This means there's no limit to your growth in the company. You can start as a contractor and quickly climb the ranks here.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great environment

    Nov 22, 2017 - Network Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A visionary CEO. Successful and profitable business

    Cons

    Needs to improve organization

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with OpenVPN Technologies Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at OpenVPN Technologies? Share Your Experiences

or