OuterBox Reviews | Glassdoor

OuterBox Reviews

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
OuterBox Founder & CEO Justin Smith (no image)
Justin Smith
35 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OuterBox full-time

    Pros

    A fast paced, energetic, positive environment full of smart people. Do great work and be rewarded in a million ways.

    Cons

    None I can think of so far..

    OuterBox2020-01-30
  2. "Don't Be Fooled by the Bad Reviews Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Specialist in Copley, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OuterBox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Among the many great things to highlight about working at OuterBox are the high standard of work, friendly and helpful people, and reasonable and fair expectations of employees. If you are driven and intelligent enough to ask questions you will love it here. You have access to experts in the field and they are more than happy to share their knowledge.

    Cons

    I suppose if you were searching for a heavily corporate and rigid environment with no personality you would dislike this company.

    Continue reading
    OuterBox2020-01-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Specialist 

    I have been working at OuterBox full-time

    Pros

    Great on-boarding processes and awesome people all around you.

    Cons

    Not sure there are any at this time.

    OuterBox2019-10-03
  5. "Challenging, Fast Paced. Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Specialist in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OuterBox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team atmosphere, lots of learning opportunities, casual environment

    Cons

    Hard work, sometimes tedious work especially for the specialists and newer hires.

    Continue reading
    OuterBox2019-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Client Results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Strategist in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OuterBox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The results we get for clients are awesome. As a strategist, we create strategies. If you're a good strategist (everyone here is now, not everyone always was), then you can make great strategies for clients.

    Cons

    Don't have anything worth complaining about. Yes, it's work

    Continue reading
    OuterBox2019-09-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place To Work...With A Few Expected Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Strategist in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OuterBox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *GREAT team culture. There is not a lot of "throwing under the bus" when things go wrong, management is truly more concerned with fixing problems and moving past them than blaming individuals (within reason, of course.) *Competitive pay and benefits / 401k matching / health / dental/ vision all that good stuff *Flex Time *Company has shown consistent growth year over year since I've been here, lots of potential for career growth here. *Catered meals (once or twice a month) *Fun company events (picnics, parties, dinners, all that jazz) *Awesome coworkers! I sincerely like everyone that works here... rare for a company this size *All three owners work just as hard as everyone else. They truly care about the company and the employees on a personal level. Other agencies I've worked at I've never even met the actual owners...

    Cons

    *Downtown Akron construction is a nightmare right now but that won't last forever (or will it?) *This is not an "easy" place to work. You will be expected to work hard and be productive. Similar to other agencies I've worked at in this regard. *Open office environment can be a tad bit distracting but I've come to prefer it to having smaller shared work office or cubicles. It is also nice to be able to ask your coworkers for help and input without having to get up from your desk. This also helps create a more family-like environment too, which is a pro.

    Continue reading
    OuterBox2019-08-28
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Growing Pains are NOT the problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO Strategist in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OuterBox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not many to speak on other than the free benefits, which aren’t that great to begin with.

    Cons

    Toxic management culture, tries to keep it everyone maxed at hours and if you deviate from the budget hours, you are staying late. This happens OFTEN as the sales team sells way more than this company has the manpower to work for. Overtime happens often. Which being salary and maxed out is sometimes difficult to pack in. I worked late almost daily and often went in on the weekends to make up time that was spent in meetings or wasted. The catering meals happen maybe twice during my entire time here. The “benefits” are some of the worst I’ve ever had. If you go to the doctor at all you will probably pay out of pocket and if you see a specialist forget about it: I was constantly sent a bill. The “strategist culture” is a joke. The techniques are extremely dated, they don’t utilize any new SEO practices and really are a classic example of the blind leading the blind. The recycle the same few strategies for each client. It’s amazing as many clients sign with them that do, and the wants that sign won’t be staying long. Turnover is not only horrible with staff but with clients as well. Many accounts I worked on didn’t make it six months without threats to quit or actually quitting. Management brags and talks a great game but this company internally is hurting. They truly don’t have any new strategies to boast and have no well-developed long-term marketing plans to put into effect. For a successful career in digital marketing, run away.

    Continue reading
    OuterBox2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "If you want to have no work life balance. This place is perfect."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OuterBox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Your coworkers. There is a "at least we're all in this mess of an organization together" culture. You can tell who has written the positive reviews on here, and it's mostly sales.

    Cons

    Incredible amount of stress, and absolutely no support from management. Their lack of processes and organization is going to be their downfall. Turn over rate is insane, and clients are always pissed because there is never enough bandwidth to get things done when they were told they were going to be completed. It's not lack of efficiency, it's owners thinking they are amazing and that sales and money rolling in equals success.

    Continue reading
    OuterBox2019-08-08
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Don't get fooled by the five star reviews here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OuterBox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This agency is the worst. Nothing to appreciate about this place. Not the place to grow and succeed long-term. Frat-bro culture with upper management.

    Cons

    They have fired a lot of good employees, while keeping the ones around who should be to blame for incidents. It's all about power and money.

    OuterBox2019-08-06
  11. Helpful (2)

    "EH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - SEO Specialist in Akron, OH
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OuterBox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cool place - people make work enjoyable

    Cons

    Management is in their own world - very much a frat-bro culture

    OuterBox2019-04-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 49 reviews