PECI Reviews | Glassdoor

PECI Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Phil Welker
21 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PECI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AMAZING people, fun office, lots of perks

    Cons

    Difficult market to be successful long term.

    PECI2019-02-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PECI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to try something that they hadn't tried before. And bring a community of people into what you wanted to try.

    Cons

    Many managers had been promoted rapidly to keep up with organization growth. Some lacked previous management experience, making it rough on both the managers and the people they managed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue pressing for management education.

    PECI2018-04-02
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PECI full-time

    Pros

    Well intentioned, committed people across the entire organization. Culture was vibrant and engaging. Hard working and service oriented. Acquired by much larger, for profit company, which was right business decision but killer for the culture.

    Cons

    Acquisition was rough. Integration planning lacked any real, tangible commitment from the acquiring organization. Turnover resulted and some of the best of PECI passed away. Ratings below reflect assessment of PECI, not acquiring company.

    Advice to Management

    Retain the former PECI'ers if you can - they bring a solid experience and deep commitment to a sustainable organization and an energy efficient world.

    PECI2016-10-25
  4. "Goodbye"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PECI

    Pros

    Easygoing, mission-driven, good people, innovative,

    Cons

    Weak management, unclear direction, poor strategy, too crunchy

    Advice to Management

    sell

    PECI2016-10-17
  5. "PECI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PECI

    Pros

    Interesting, valuable work. Smaller company feel. Good salary and benefits. Collegial, do-good culture. Nice office with great view and excellent location in downtown Portland.

    Cons

    Company struggled with changing industry and increased competition. Financial troubles led to layoffs. Management decided to move forward with an acquisition by CLEAResult.

    PECI2016-04-21
  6. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PECI full-time

    Pros

    Very mission driven company that was focused on taking care of its customers

    Cons

    Like all companies there were some growing pains and times that were good and bad

    PECI2016-01-28
  7. "It's a Good Company That Needs to Get Aggressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PECI for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance was great with this company. Benefits were very good

    Cons

    All contract work, so the future of your job depends if they gain more contracts from the utility companies.

    Advice to Management

    Go after business, if not the competition will eat you alive.

    PECI2015-08-25
  8. "Great company, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PECI full-time

    Pros

    I loved working for PECI! The culture of the company was outstanding and the people who worked there truly believed in the mission of the organization. The perks were great and benefits were comprehensive. I felt like management heard my future growth goals and helped me to achieve them.

    Cons

    I was sad to hear that PECI was purchased and is no longer a nonprofit. I'm sure the culture has changed significantly since I worked there in 2011.

    PECI2015-06-22
  9. "Not Ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PECI for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great, passionate, bright, people who sincerely care about energy efficiency.

    Cons

    Poor leadership has created a toxic culture of fear.

    PECI2015-07-22
  10. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PECI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture, solid management approach to a shifting market.

    Cons

    Still too centered on shielding the company's challenges to staff.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with positives and negatives, challenge teams to offer ideas for improvement and implement them.

    PECI2015-01-06
Found 40 reviews