PRA Group Reviews | Glassdoor

PRA Group Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 301 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Kevin Stevenson
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some great people in non-manager roles(in 12 reviews)

  • "Pays bills, can advance, free lunch end of month, can b a fun environment at times(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management extremely unprofessional(in 14 reviews)

  • "Collections is not for everyone but it is customer service oriented here(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very Great and Busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PRA Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managing accounts and legal docs

    Cons

    Very busy. No time flexibility

    PRA Group2019-01-15
  2. "Becoming a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart, trustworthy, ethical senior management team. Great colleagues. Good overall, affordable benefits 401k match

    Cons

    Not enough holidays/PTO to maintain a healthy work/life balance PTO is less than all prior companies for which I've worked; well below competition Only 6 holidays. I've never had less than 9.

    Advice to Management

    Management moving in the right direction. Maintain the momentum.

    PRA Group2019-08-17
  3. "An awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People everywhere from co workers to leadership are awesome people.

    Cons

    Just because I have to put something, the actual job you do can be stressful sometimes.

    PRA Group2019-08-13
  4. "Very Fickle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Representative in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PRA Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great base pay, good benefits, the VP’s are nice, they have catered lunch at the end of each month & food trucks that come by occasionally.

    Cons

    The operations managers are very fickle. Some are nice and will help you even if you’re not on their team, most of them will ignore you if you’re not on their team, even if they’re the closest manager available. Also, this company looks for any reason to fire you, especially outside of tax season when it gets slow. The turn over is pretty high because of this. The base pay is high so they have a certain amount of money...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting the OM be so lazy, it hurts more than it helps.

    PRA Group2019-08-10
  5. "Not the best place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Representative 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Set schedule, base pay is decent

    Cons

    Rules are constantly changing Very unnecessarily stressful work environment

    PRA Group2019-08-05
  6. "High stress, continuous change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at PRA Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of benefits, cafe and gym on site

    Cons

    Constant changes, almost unobtainable goals, constant threats and pressure for goals to be meet.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way "you" want to be treated.

    PRA Group2019-08-01
  7. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispute Resolution Specialist in Hampton, VA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits,Overtime,Paid tuition Assistance, and Flexibility

    Cons

    Only PTO no vacation or sick leave

    PRA Group2019-08-01
  8. "Management is the problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SAE 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PRA Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Great training. Lots of benefits offered.

    Cons

    The management is a joke. Specifically a huge problem with managers becoming inappropriately involved with subordinates.

    Advice to Management

    Someone from outside of the local sites should come in to interview and hire for promotions from within. Unqualified individuals are promoted constantly. A person who has never taken a collections call shouldnt suddenly find themselves a manager.

    PRA Group2019-07-31
  9. "Horrible company - learned a lot about what I DON'T want to settle for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in Jackson, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PRA Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is decent Corporate is great - every site should mirror the VA site good benefits

    Cons

    The Jackson, TN location has a lot of challenges. There is constant favoritism from upper management. You don't get promotions based on your performance, it's based on if the manager(s) like you. The AVPs sit in their bubble all day doing nothing but constantly firing people for not being "productive" enough. I was asked to do things that were morally and ethically wrong and against company policy. When I refused, it...

    Show More
    PRA Group2019-08-12
  10. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Quality Monitoring Specialist in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at PRA Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, enjoyable staff and quality work

    Cons

    The new location is far is traveling by bus or train

    Advice to Management

    Always keep fair communication lines open.

    PRA Group2019-07-26
Found 301 reviews