Paylocity Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Could not rave enough about the work/life balance(in 186 reviews)

  • "Being able to work from home has been fantastic(in 85 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains of a young company(in 63 reviews)

  • "Work life balance doesn't really exist around year end(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Paylocity and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Best job I have ever had

      Apr 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Schaumburg, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Excelled with Retention during Pandemic (no mass layoffs) - Encourage Work/Life Balance - Provides resources for Employees to deal with all types of accommodations - Family-centric - Great Benefits - Competitive Compensation - Encourage growth and self-betterment

      Cons

      - Stressful job in a stressful industry

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      The best job I've had by a mile

      May 9, 2021 - Director of Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/life balance is amazing. The leadership, starting with Beauchamp, is world class. I have no doubt Steve actually cares about the people. I have worked at many big organizations and PCTY stands alone when it comes to leadership. I feel very fortunate to work here ad cant wait to see what next decade brings.

      Cons

      Growing pains can lead to some frustrations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company, Management Could be better.

      May 4, 2021 - Account Manager III in Schaumburg, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really feels like the company cares about employees. The company didn’t pay anyone off during COVID and there were no pay decrease. They did pause the 401k match and merit increases, but I rather have that then stress wondering if I’m going to have a job. CEO and other Executives hold regularly meetings to answer employees question and they are very transparent with us. Extra time off was given to use for COVID related absences, this wasn’t something they were required to do under COVID legislation (due to our large size). They did it anyway and got not tax credits in return. I was able to use the time to do e-learning with my 6yr old. There’s opportunities to develop your career for current position and future goals. But you have to be your own advocate! Management asks you about your development plans during monthly meetings, but that will only get you so far.

      Cons

      Client Service Managers are rarely impartial and could be more engaging. Team Leads seem overwhelmed and distracted, being remote further compounds this and leads to less/no engagement. Workload can be stressful, so resiliency is a must! The Client Service department feels like is secluded from the other departments, since the majority of our interactions with others are through help tickets. This makes networking and career planning difficult, so you really have to get creative.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      If your not working at Paylocity, you're doing it wrong

      Apr 12, 2021 - Implementation Consultant II in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Treat you with the up most respect and value you as an employee, you are NOT just a number, you and your opinion matter -Very relaxed environment, you can run implementation as you need and there no micromanaging, they are always there when you need them and will have your back in any situation -The pay is appropriate for the work you do, I worked for a competitor before coming over here where they did not treat me good and I did double the work for half the pay, when they gave me the offer here I almost spit my drink out because the pay was way above what I was expecting - Very Tech motivated so the system has a lot of features that can do what clients want unlike other payroll systems -We are like one big family, the employees really know each other and even though we are a lot of work from home employees all over the country we have this special bond -Time off Benefits are amazing here and they get better as you grow with the company, they are also very flexible when it comes to taking time off planned or emergencies

      Cons

      -When I first came on the training was not that great as they had just lost their training team and covid had just started throwing the training all out of whack but I already had an extensive time and labor background so it was not that difficult for me

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Technology, Great Culture, Massive Growth company!

      Apr 13, 2021 - Sales Director in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are so many, it may be hard to list all of them, but here are a select few. - During Covid, PCTY did not lay off a single employee, as culture was on center stage. No comp plan changes, and senior leadership honored all bonus, and even created ways to help sales qualify for Presidents club. Even though we couldn't travel for it, they paid us out the cash difference. #class Technology and the investment in technology continues to be legitimate competitive advantages. I could go on here for a while... Culture, is the best i have experienced across 20 years of sales which includes 5 publicly traded companies. Comp - uncapped circle bonus, stock bonus and ESPP are things we rarely see with our competitors. Full benefits, 401k, FSA etc! Impressive growth fuels plenty of opportunity for future growth and career pathing! No Glass ceiling here! Diversity and Inclusion - Paylocity truly believes in this, and they walk the walk, as close to half of our RVP's are women! Development - we constantly are offering ways to develop and the resources for self-development and instructor lead development is outstanding! Work life balance....this is not a 40 hour a week job, but you control your calendal! Channels - working with Channel partners provides residual income opportunities.

      Cons

      Major Market sales are complex, and the market is highly competitive! As technology evolves, each of us are also required to evolve and adapt. In our market, PEO competition creates challenges and opportunities for skilled sales reps.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Company That Cares For Their Employees

      Apr 12, 2021 - Software Test Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paylocity truly cares for their employees and it shows in everything they. They truly believe in investing and treating their employee with value and that in return the employees will be able to work at their best and provide a great product for the clients. How much Paylocity values their employees was reflected even in the hiring process when I first started with the company. They gave me a very aggressive salary offer because they truly believe in my value that I would bring to the company. Then after starting work I was met with nothing but encouragement and support. Even when going through the pandemic the Paylocity executives made it very clear that the mental and physical health of their employees were of utmost important! Paylocity is hands down the best company I have ever worked for and I plan for this to be the last company I work for because I love it here so much.

      Cons

      I love it here and any cons are so out weighted by the pros that I can't truly think of any.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company I have ever worked for!

      May 4, 2021 - Product Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paylocity is a wonderful company with all the opportunities in the world to those who are willing to put the work in and communicate openly. Leadership is very empowering and the engineers are top class!

      Cons

      The overall time off package and 401K matching are good but could be better for a technology company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of good, still struggling with growth

      Feb 15, 2021 - Associate Product Owner in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really like Paylocity for a lot of reasons. It is clear they care about their employees - the response to COVID was incredible. They highlighted their main goal is to keep everyone employed. They started weekly calls with the executive team to bring transparency. When some hard decisions were made to not do merit increases and stop 401k matches, they were clear an up front. On the technology side, much of product & tech is remote full time, which is a huge plus. Getting the entire company to remote at the beginning of covid was almost a non-issue (from someone not directly involved in that effort). I have a lot of fun never having met the majority of my coworkers in person. Benefits are competitive.

      Cons

      There's a lot of work expected - especially on the product side. As I've been looking at getting promoted I have been told more times that you need to "be doing the job for a long time before you are promoted to it". This honestly feels extremely true. This role is pretty infantalizing, even though I've been in product for years. I get treated as a newie and like I don't know much of what I'm doing. They're moving faster than they're prepared for. The previous mindset was that every team was it's own start up. But now we're trying to integrate and be a seamless suite and that's really hard to do when there are no standards. Every time you talk to someone else in leadership, you get a different answer.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Apr 16, 2021 - Sales Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, local management is good, the manager that hired our team is a phenomenal human being. Love the fact that our company is mostly remote which allows for much dedication to our work and our clients. Love the work and offering we provide to our clients. Training is good. Our clients and our employees are truly co-creators in our solution...a solution which is constantly improved upon and an open architecture, positively fluid solution.

      Cons

      They've changed commission structure which most of us were not pleased about. Also changed some other things with pay and sales territories which weren't to the employee advantage. A few territory changes seemed to accommodate one specific employee within our team and adversely affected the rest of the team. It's turned into as ongoing issue that doesn't seem to be resolved which is adversely affecting the our team cohesion. Service has changed a bit in that we have tons of new hires who are still learning that our clients should come first always but we seem to be working through it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Paylocity or bust!

      Jan 14, 2021 - HCM Account Executive in Schaumburg, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The integrity of the overall organization is top notch and is really why I came here almost 5 years ago. I heard that it was the cream of the crop, but didn't imagine that it would be this special of a place to work. My Director, Regional VP, Solution Consultant and everyone above sets an example that positions me to do my job to the best of my ability. In my time with the organization, I've never been put in a position to compromise my integrity. I love selling the product and our modern workplace solution that helps organizations move into 2021 and beyond. I also love that even prior to Covid, they supported and believed in us to allow us to work from home. I work my tail off, but am strongly encouraged to be a great spouse and parent. Continue to invest in the product as we do. Don't lose focus on having Raving Fans that love our software

      Cons

      We aren't going to stop growing because our product and service model are the best around, which I'm thankful our clients boast about on our behalf! WE HAVE TO HIRE MORE IMPLEMENTATION CONSULTANTS AND SERVICE REPS. I respect that we're a growth company and hiring more sales people is inevitable as far as the business plan, but not continuing to hire in Implementation and Service in mass numbers will eventually catch-up to us. Implementation needs more people to ensure our more tenured IC's don't leave due to burnout.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,573 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Paylocity Job Seekers

    HCM Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Client Services Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Implementation Consultant II
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Paylocity? Share Your Experiences

    or