Pepperdata Reviews | Glassdoor

Pepperdata Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Pepperdata Co-Founder and  CEO Sean Suchter (no image)
Sean Suchter
9 Ratings
  1. "A new Pepperdata"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata full-time

    Pros

    Intelligent and mature colleagues and strong engineering team. The company has gone through vast changes in management and culture, the old leadership that was responsible for the layoffs has been replaced by some very experienced executives that focuses on responsible spending, transparency and work/life balance. There's tremendous stability under the current management team. The whole office feels like a big family, there is no ego or individualism. The coworkers are some of the brightest I've ever worked with. The outlook of the company seems positive.

    Cons

    Average benefits similar to other startups using Trinet

    Pepperdata2018-11-15
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pepperdata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The engineering staff is talented and disciplined, and most are experienced developers. Best practices and a good engineering culture were put in place early in the company's development, so is part of the DNA, and probably exceeds any other company I've worked at. The projects are challenging and interesting. Everyone is self-motivated and seem to legitimately enjoy being there, which makes for a really nice working environment.

    Cons

    Enterprise sales never seems to move as fast as you'd like. It sometimes feels hard to move the needle as an engineer.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2016-10-01
  3. "Great tech and environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata

    Pros

    I like how we built new technology before anyone else did, and we're constantly learning about new areas. The company is looking to expand beyond the limited Hadoop market, and that's good.

    Cons

    Enterprise sales has been slow - deals come in but they seem to take a long time. Also the expansion beyond Hadoop will mean a lot of new stuff has to be built, that carries risk.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2016-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great product, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata full-time

    Pros

    Very inclusive and transparent culture, the co-founders and leadership team given regular updates on company trajectory, strategy, and future. The unlimited vacation is a great plus. It is not a "work until midnight every night" type of startup - the employees and the leadership team value a healthy work and life balance.

    Cons

    Things can be disorganized at times and employees can feel a lack of direction from management. Sometimes there are too many meetings, and not enough action.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2016-09-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a promising startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata

    Pros

    Seemed to be promising company when I joined as new funding round closed and many hiring were going on. The goal was to double headcount in next 6 months or so

    Cons

    Company could not meet the revenue expectations for long and laid off ~40% workforce not to fail completely. Don't think it will grow further too much given startup ecosystem suffers from funding.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2016-07-20
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a sales rep, the most important thing to me is that our product solves real problems for our customers. We have a solid base of big name customers running over 10,000 nodes with our software in production, which is incredible for a company of our size! Pepperdata has the best office culture of any company I've ever worked for. Everyone works hard (it's a startup), but the executive team trusts their employees and give you the flexibility to balance work with family and personal life. In the office, there's always something going on to bring everyone together, whether it's beers on Thursday, games on Friday, or company lunches.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about the company itself. I've been in the Hadoop industry for several years and it's clear the technology is approaching mainstream adoption. As more companies move Hadoop intro production, Pepperdata's TAM will grow even more.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2015-10-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "OK if you're not in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The engineers are really smart people and most of the rest of the staff are nice folks. The product is pretty good, though there are some rough edges. They also provide cool equipment (laptops, etc) to all employees.

    Cons

    I don't know if it's just me but this may be just too early or we have the wrong product at the wrong time. When I joined I was told that we had "closed" a number of deals and frankly that was not the case. They were paid for trails at best. If you talk with Couldera or Hortonworks most of their people think that Hadoop can already do what Pepperdata does with Yarn. I don't think that's completely true but I can see the point that they are making.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2015-10-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "I look forward to coming into work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Program Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pepperdata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are a ton of pros to working at Pepperdata. I've been here almost 2 months, but here's what I've found to love so far: - GREAT people - my colleagues and the leadership team. Everyone is friendly, helpful, funny, and hard working. - Good work/life balance. Many of my friends tried to warn me away from joining a startup, but this place has (what I have come to learn) is very unique to startups - we work hard but there's also the understanding that you can't work 80 hours a week without burning out. People can leave early if they need to, and rarely do we stay much past 6. - Great vacation time. We get unlimited vacation - and the co-founders encourage you to take AT LEAST two weeks - everyone deserves a break, and the mindset here is "if you get your work done, you take time whenever you need it". We're a company of adults. - Social culture. Every Thursday afternoon we walk around the corner for a team coffee, or down the street for a beer/soda. It's a great way to connect with your colleagues outside the office. - Awesome benefits. They use TriNet so you can choose the healthcare / dental / vision that works for you. No stress (which means less doctor visits required!) - Amazing technology - we offer a solution that is truly unique in the industry. No one else has the resource optimization technology that Pepperdata does. I expect this company will grow a LOT in the upcoming few years.

    Cons

    - Well, in January, we are moving to Cupertino and I really like our current location in Sunnyvale. But, depending on where you are commuting from, this could actually be a Pro. - Sometimes you can get intimidated by the level of intelligence around here. But, no one has an ego about it, so it's really not an issue.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2015-07-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Happy to be here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata

    Pros

    I love working here because I get new challenges projects. For example, I was setting up an environment and noticed a bug. I reported the bug to our engineering group and the CEO asked me for what I thought was the root cause. After I explained the root cause he said "Go ahead and fix it, then" Another data point to the openness and trust of the organization is that we have weekly meetings where the state of the business is discussed and input into the business encouraged, usually with a one-on-one session or a group meeting if enough folks merit a separate group discussion. As an example, I asked if the new office space we are looking to lease would have video conference capabilities. A couple of days later the CEO set up a Chromebook with a camera in the old office to test how to best implement a permanent solution in the new space.

    Cons

    Pepperdata is a West Coast company, expanding across the country and with that there are some typical growing pains. For example, meetings that are scheduled in the early afternoon pacific time bleed into the early evening on the east coast. But, I have seen this change as well with meetings starting earlier in the day to accommodate the east coast team members.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2015-05-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepperdata full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product, co-founders and executives that are not only well-known in the industry but clearly care about the success of the company and the individuals in it.

    Cons

    Typical challenges of sales at a startup- prospecting and gaining mindshare/market share. A little early on the marketing efforts but they provide tools to enable you as much as possible otherwise.

    Continue reading
    Pepperdata2015-04-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews