Phone.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Phone.com Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Phone.com CEO Ari Rabban
Ari Rabban
11 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phone.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support by management, given the tools to grow your career, constant stocked treats in office, friendly and helpful environment, endless opportunity for advancement. Plus 100% PAID insurance benefits. Never a time my work/life balance was not considered or I felt like just a number. Overall great experience

    Cons

    If you are adaptable to change and motivated to grow your career, there would be no "cons"

    Advice to Management

    Management here puts great effort into keeping employees happy, keep it up!

    Phone.com2019-06-12
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phone.com

    Pros

    Free food, great benefits, and pay the bills!!!!!

    Cons

    Bad management and leaders!! Lots of turnovers!

    Advice to Management

    Stay away from this job, it’s a waste of time!

    Phone.com2019-08-24
  3. Helpful (4)

    "keep your head down and don't talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Phone.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    snacks, parties, lunch, the people

    Cons

    CEO acts like nothing is wrong COO has no clue and doesn't want to learn. Managers have got no experience or training. Truth When our leaders come to visit, they ignore us when they should ask us what we think. We are encouraged to keep problems quiet. They would love it if we never talked Drama is encouraged to distract from having to deal with problems No room to grow if you are not in the club. That... cool club they got going on is like high school No one wants to fix the problems. The pile of issues, tickets, and company problems keep growing, and we all just pretend they aren't there. Empty promises to make us settle down How can you fix it when you can't say its broken. Tells you all you need to know about their plan to fix problems I am not mad about my time here. I work and you pay me. I should have read the reviews. They were 100% right. Work here to pay the bills but never stop looking for the next job. Or make it in the cool club and don't try to fix anything and you will be a manager in a year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire real managers. as much training as the managers can get you should give them. listen to that CMO seems to know the deal. fix what you know is broken. you won't listen at work so maybe you will listen here.

    Phone.com2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phone.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone treats me with respect, schedule flexibility is definitely happening and there is vertical movement if you the type of person that likes to keep productive.

    Cons

    reduced physical office space, parking is bad sometimes, no gender neutral bathrooms.

    Advice to Management

    Better 401k plan

    Phone.com2019-06-03
  5. "A place where you learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Poway, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phone.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to innovate and add value immediately. No, micromanagement. Very Flexible and relaxed environment, Work from home. Company sponsored paid training. Catered lunches, snacks, and drinks.

    Cons

    Normal small company cons, some disorganization.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more clarity into what different teams are responsible. Organize more team building events

    Phone.com2019-06-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Take any positive reviews with a huge grain of salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phone.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks and drinks. That about sums it up for the "Pros".

    Cons

    Bad leadership - Check Low pay - Check Limited opportunities - Check Problematic product - Check Plenty of workplace drama - Check High staff turnover/attrition - Check All you really need to do is read the negative reviews here on Glassdoor. They're pretty much all true. It's best to sort them by most recent reviews first. You'll notice all the newest ones are terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company if you can. Quite frankly I don't think anyone is dumb enough to buy it. The competition is eating you for breakfast.

    Phone.com2019-05-26

    Phone.com Response

    June 19, 2019HR Director

    Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that your time at Phone.com did not meet your expectations and that you felt there were limited opportunities. We pride ourselves in utilizing our Customer Service department as the launch pad to a robust career with the Company and we frequently promote from within. With respect to pay, we look at market data and internal equity when determining pay and we also look at what we provide to our employees overall. We have an exceptional benefits program, such as fully paid health benefits for our employees AND their families, which most companies do not provide. I am unhappy to hear your feelings about leadership and workplace drama and would appreciate hearing more so that we can improve things. That being said, not all companies are the right fit for all employees and I trust that you will find the right environment for you and your career in the future.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Management will actively miss lead you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phone.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks, Free Basic Health care plan.

    Cons

    I found that this company is run by bad Management all the way to the CEO. The COO will make promises that they know they can't keep and actively miss lead you. This job is low pay and high stress. They keep raising the demands of their CSRs but don't pay them more to help compensate for the new demands. Not a fair place to work.

    Advice to Management

    When you make new demands on your CSRs you should pay them accordingly. Stop promising things you have no intention of delivering.

    Phone.com2019-05-08

    Phone.com Response

    June 19, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It is good to see that you saw the value in the company benefits and the free snacks we provide. We put a lot of thought into the benefits we provide to our employees and, as the Company pays for healthcare not only for the employee but for their dependents as well, we consider this as part of an employee’s overall compensation package. Regarding high stress levels, as in any company, and especially in one that is growing quickly, Customer Service teams will experience a level of stress given their direct contact with customers and the collaboration across teams to address customer issues. However, at Phone.com we provide our reps with intensive training prior to starting their positions, and we try to promote an environment that fosters collaboration and “fun” so as to provide balance. Regarding management, It is concerning to hear that you feel our management has actively mislead you as both our leadership and human resources teams are working to promote an environment of transparency. We are also working to build systems and implement practices to ensure fairness across the organization. As your experience may not have been in line with what we are trying to promote, I would welcome any insight you would like to provide. Please feel free to provide me your additional feedback at HR@phone.com.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible environment if you're not part of the "cool kids" clique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Phone.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free medical Free lunches on Friday Opportunities for overtime

    Cons

    In the Poway office, there is a complete lack of leadership. Managers and supervisors, including the COO, gossiping and back-stabbing front line employees and in some cases each other like high schoolers. Blatant racism at high levels. Tiny work spaces for CSRs. Unethical business practices. They do not pay market rates.

    Advice to Management

    You're being lied to

    Phone.com2019-05-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not a great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Phone.com full-time

    Pros

    My paychecks never bounced, and there was never a lack of things to do.

    Cons

    In my opinion, this company fundamentally lacks integrity and leadership.

    Phone.com2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phone.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing company. Happy customers. Passionate team. Caring management. Promote from within. Good benefits. Pay 100% health care to all employees and their families.

    Cons

    A lot going on. Fast pace. Constant development. Not sure it is a con but not the place if you are looking for a relaxed 9-5 job...

    Phone.com2018-12-14
Found 32 reviews