Pindrop Reviews | Glassdoor

Pindrop Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Pindrop CEO Vijay A. Balasubramaniyan
Vijay A. Balasubramaniyan
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "incredibly smart people, great environment and office space(in 8 reviews)

  • "The fraud and authentication solution is leading the industry(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Going through a few growing pains, but that's expected and being worked on(in 7 reviews)

  • "Benefits could be better (401k match, vacation time off)(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pindrop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are simply amazing. The CEO is full of energy and is absolutely brilliant. I've been in this industry for over 20 years and I've never had the honor to work with such hard working committed people driving towards a common goal.

    Cons

    We do get a little over our skis occasionally when big problems emerge

    Advice to Management

    If you want to shoot for the moon keep letting people build rockets and not airplanes.

    Pindrop2019-01-19
  2. "Great Work and Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pindrop full-time

    Pros

    - I love the work culture - Smart and engaging co-workers - Building really awesome products - Office location is great

    Cons

    - None yet will update

    Pindrop2019-06-18
  3. "Great People - Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - L&D Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pindrop full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pindrop has a true learning culture. People don't just want to be developed, they also find ways to spread knowledge and expertise to others. People are open, sharing their thoughts and rationale. Several people from various functions and levels went out of their way to help me get to know the people and business. Pindrop is investing in their people with leadership development, lunch and learns, and other learning opportunities.

    Cons

    This isn't a con as much as a current challenge - Some functions are balancing urgent needs with long-term goals. The need to urgently respond sometimes conflicts with other commitments.

    Pindrop2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (8)

    "More concerned with shipping new products than retaining talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pindrop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Above-average base salary for the Atlanta area

    Cons

    - Constantly fighting fires, high level of employee burnout, people regularly working nights and weekends - The company is hemorrhaging talent, a lot of the really good ones have already left, there are still some hanging around, but we'll see how long that lasts - Abysmal culture and values that encourage and reward the "work hero" (working nights and weekends), further contributing to employee burnout - Some (very...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The problems with employee burnout and talent retention can be traced back to the company's values, which are a joke. You enable, encourage, and reward working nights and weekends fighting fires. But you put almost zero effort into trying to avoid starting the fires in the first place.

    Pindrop2019-04-23
  5. Helpful (7)

    "siloing and backbiting :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pindrop full-time

    Pros

    Work with some of the most brilliant people in the business. The office is really cool, and if you need to get out for a sec, you can walk to a couple of different coffee shops.

    Cons

    Siloing is a huge problem, and there's a big issue with cross-team backstabbing. My team would often get permission from our director to work from home, but then we'd hear that we "just didn't come to work" from someone on another team. We launched a new product in three working weeks, through a snowstorm, but we still got treated like we weren't doing our work.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people. Build better bridges between teams.

    Pindrop2019-03-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pindrop full-time

    Pros

    Smart folks with strong work ethic. Research scientists are always there to help each other. Freedom to do research of choice on paper but ..

    Cons

    .. there is NO career path. - Too many customer questions that have nothing to do with research leading to degraded morale. Department is at the bottom of the pecking order in the company. - Actual research work is a luxury afforded to few. - The ones with zero research expertise in management indulge in politics (probably the highest in the organization) and are simply incompetent. - Top management is making amends to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look deep within to find the source of discontent in the team. Curiosity and not politics is what matters.

    Pindrop2019-03-01
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Exciting tech, brilliant people, siloed teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Pindrop

      Pros

      The technology is amazing. The people are brilliant.

      Cons

      Teams that should be working together are siloed, and there’s a lot of backbiting.

      Advice to Management

      Get everyone on the same page. Snacks are great, but they aren’t a replacement for quality culture.

      Pindrop2019-02-12
    • Helpful (6)

      "Would Not Recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - BDR in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Pindrop full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Snacks, food, education budget, travel to conferences.

      Cons

      Severe leadership problem. Board appointed mid managers have 0 idea what they're doing. Executives that aren't leaders. I would go more in depth but I don't have the energy or patience.

      Advice to Management

      Take some leadership courses or read some books on leadership.

      Pindrop2019-03-14
    • Helpful (6)

      "Engineering"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pindrop full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Management listens to concerns and acts on them. If you report something in the monthly anonymous survey, it will usually get addressed. - Sales / business side does a great job. If you build something great, it will get used. - Company is disciplined. It looks for opportunities within / near its niche. There's expansion, but no wild pivots. - Best in class products produced by high-talent folks. - Employees...

      Show More

      Cons

      - Company is big enough that you might not know where a request or decision came from, or the reasons for it. And sometimes requests get lost in translation along the way. - The customer-adjacent roles (CS, Research, QA) often get stuck patching up rushed projects.

      Advice to Management

      There should be a formal vetting system in place for new projects or big changes. That vetting should include cost / benefit analysis, prototyping, and performance benchmarking. It must happen before production development begins.

      Pindrop2018-11-02
    • "Great people and a bright future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pindrop full-time

      Pros

      Great team, supportive culture and caring leadership. A very smart gang, excellent technology stack, highly positive outlook.

      Cons

      Going through a few growing pains, but that's expected and being worked on. (right focus on improving).

      Pindrop2018-10-21
    Found 79 reviews