Plug Smart Reviews | Glassdoor

Plug Smart Reviews

Updated 21 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Plug Smart CEO Richard D. Housh (no image)
Richard D. Housh
11 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "GREAT & Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Although it is relatively small, this is a super fast growing company! The work hours are flexible, there is a great work culture, and there are many opportunities to grow within. You are able to speak freely and are encouraged to share your thoughts and ideas. Leadership is very involved, takes the time to know each employee, and are all welcoming and very easy to talk to. Everyone in the office is very friendly... and will make you feel apart of the team quickly. The company is employee owned and everyone on staff works very hard.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being that so many people are on site at jobs, if you are in the office it can be nearly empty some days, or packed full on other days so you have to be prepared for every day to be different in the Columbus office!

    Plug Smart2019-07-18
  2. "Employee-owned, fast-paced, and high-growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    100% employee-owned! Small enough to exercise your creativity, put your name on something, and help a growing team deliver great solutions for customers-- large enough to pursue big projects and nurture long-term client relationships. I'm always learning, and I'm always challenged.

    Cons

    Fast-paced work environment and remote working (when applicable) may not be for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring top talent.

    Plug Smart2019-09-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Small but rapidly growing company that has growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is also a lot of opportunity to take on different roles within the company. Again, if you’re not happy doing what you're doing and want to try something else, they’ll work to find a way to move you into another area. The benefits are pretty good, especially for a small company. It is an ESOP and you can feel that from most employees as folks are quick to give and take feedback in an effort to improve the... company.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a small company but growing very quickly (maybe a little too quickly). It can be very tough to keep up with the workload at times. Management tries to be understanding of work/life challenges and makes an effort to hire and keep good people.

    Advice to Management

    Check-in with individual employees periodically. I can be hard for folks, especially new hires, to speak up when things are really going as good as they could be.

    Plug Smart2019-07-22
  5. "Fast Moving Company That Cares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Company Culture - Plug Smart has that feel of a small company with a direct relationship with the leadership within the company. Plug Smart is an ESOP so everyone is very involved with making the company prosper and you feel a part of a larger portion than just your "job title." - Pay - They have had no problem paying anyone what they are worth. Displaying initiative and drive has gotten me a far and quickly.... Honestly if you do well you will get compensated well.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work/Life Balance - This has always been more of a personal thing to work on. Plug Smart does set a high standard and expectations, I personally have always put that on my shoulders as a weight rather than a goal. If I lacked in communication and team effort on my part I feel this the most. This is something that everyone will struggle with every company. Just because someone sends an email over the weekend... doesn't mean I have to react and respond.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep setting the bar high for us, it has made me personally better.

    Plug Smart2019-06-21
  6. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, opportunity to work on both big and small projects. Great Work Culture, ESOP, etc.

    Cons

    The PTO's increase every year But they are relatively less comparing other companies I worked for. But could potentially be negotiated.

    Plug Smart2019-06-19
  7. "A team of Thinkers and Doers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Developer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All hands on deck mentality, supportive and collaborative culture. Great group of talented people to work with, management truly looks to employ the best of the best. If you see areas that need improvement you are encouraged to take charge and make the process better.

    Cons

    Typical growth challenges, PTO could be more competitive

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to team leaders and team members. Seek feedback regularly.

    Plug Smart2019-06-20
  8. "Saving Energy, Building Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plug Smart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A dynamic team that is tackling difficult problems.

    Cons

    Growing pains associated with a small team tackling, big projects.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on building better process and developing talent. Focus on the highest yielding opportunities.

    Plug Smart2018-03-12
  9. "Energy Engineering Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Plug Smart full-time

    Pros

    I was able to work on a variety of projects during the rotation. It was also great to work with another group of co-ops during the rotation.

    Cons

    Office culture was very much, show up to work, do the work, go home, leaving little room for camaraderie.

    Plug Smart2017-10-03
  10. "Plug Smart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plug Smart

    Pros

    Very positive mission to provide energy savings to clients.

    Cons

    Many promises rarely kept by management.

    Plug Smart2017-04-03
  11. "anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Plug Smart full-time

    Pros

    Boutique energy consulting firm. Very progressive fast growing

    Cons

    Upper management clique. If you are not in you are out. Demand unrealistic performance goals. High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Regard your employees. Be honest. Be more professional

    Plug Smart2015-07-05
Found 15 reviews