PreferredOne Reviews | Glassdoor

PreferredOne Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Loved working there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PreferredOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In our department, our voices were heard. It was fast paced and interesting. Lots of teamwork !!

    Cons

    Some decisions on cases would take longer than anticipated. Communication between departments could be improved.

    PreferredOne2015-09-14
  2. "People are friendly and professional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PreferredOne full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is just the right size to be able to be agile, yet has the financial backing of Fairview Health Services. I have only been here a half a year and have been invited to meet with our President/CEO David Crosby 3 times as a newly hired employee. Employees here take pride in doing right by the customer. They have the tools to deliver what customers need and at a fair price so have a really good retention... rate.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tribal knowledge without a lot of process documentation is going to lead to trouble when all of the senior people retire.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you have a plan how to hire, train and develop talent in order to replace the many people who will be retiring in the coming few years.

    PreferredOne2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PreferredOne full-time

    Pros

    Improving culture now part of larger Fairview organization

    Cons

    Runs as a fairly lean organiztion

    PreferredOne2018-11-21
  4. "From + to a -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PreferredOne full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It was good when there was variety. Until not and voice was not heard.

    Cons

    They had the thermostat set at 75 at least, year round. Manager gave rules but they didn't even follow them. Couldn't move to another department either.

    Advice to Management

    Really listen to what your employees are asking or saying.

    PreferredOne2018-09-22
  5. "Small Group Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden Valley, MN

    I worked at PreferredOne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    much more of a relaxed atmosphere than other similar companies

    Cons

    the company is growing and has seemed to lose some of its "small company" feel

    PreferredOne2018-06-05
  6. "Provider Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PreferredOne full-time

    Pros

    Good PTO and good co workers

    Cons

    Not much movement available

    PreferredOne2017-09-22
  7. "Great place but with changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PreferredOne full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being a health insurance company it is self insured and has great benefits. Most of the individuals are great and have a desire to serve the customer.

    Cons

    Because of the regulations in the industry there are a lot of changes, including in personnel. Displacing workers, while leaving others to bear the work is a challenge.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so rigid with expressing of culture and alternate views. Having a "diversity" program that actually has restrictions is not embracing diversity.

    PreferredOne2017-04-25
  8. "Not a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at PreferredOne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a nice location. It has free parking and a huge parking lot. On site cafeteria with amazing food.

    Cons

    Horrible place. No one talks to each other, you stay at your cubicle all day, high stress levels, no advancement, departments don't speak with one another. The worst thing about it all, however, is the waste of paper this company does. There are at least 20 printers going nonstop, all day, every day. It was ridiculous. I've never seen a company be SO wasteful in my life. It was so unnecessary and was one of the main... deciding factors on why I left.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is almost 2017. There was so much waste (employee's time and resources) into making so many paper files. Look into going paperless. Seriously. Extremely wasteful company, I don't know how you are going to fit all of your hundreds of paper folders for your clients into your building in ten years.

    PreferredOne2016-12-22
  9. "PreferredOne"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Golden Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at PreferredOne

    Pros

    Small, intimate, company with some nice perks. Convenient parking and location. A great Building and Grounds manager who cares about the people as much as the building.

    Cons

    Micromanagers, disrespectful, oppressive environment. Because of this, the emplyees felt they could not ask questions or even talk to each other in the office. Little to no respect for management. Observed lack of confidentiality by HR.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees professionalism, education and experience. Stop micromanaging. Move into the 21st century in employee relations.

    PreferredOne2016-09-04
  10. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salaried in Golden Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PreferredOne full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy commute. On the bus line. Free parking.

    Cons

    Management not in touch with or concerned about employee satisfaction. No advancement opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    Happy and engaged employees go halfway to the ends of the earth for their employers...

    PreferredOne2016-02-29
Found 15 reviews