RBC Reviews | Glassdoor

RBC Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 328 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
RBC CEO David I. McKay
David I. McKay
79 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes you can get very long hours due to extremely tight deadlines(in 91 reviews)

  • "Minimal Work life balance depends on the job scope(in 85 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Corporate Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY

      I worked at RBC full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Conservative and strong corporate culture. Employees are mostly treated well. Pay seems in line or better compared to bulge bracket banks.

      Cons

      Location downtown is somewhat inconvenient.

      RBC2019-06-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Culture was good-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Support Officer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good culture, enjoyed the town hall meetings.

      Cons

      Pay was not good, kept adding to my "mandate".

      Advice to Management

      Have to pay to retain top talent.

      RBC2019-06-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Canada in the US - refreshing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Canadian culture Good Pay Great perks Great office location Great outlook

      Cons

      Canadian culture (slower pace with not so direct communication)

      RBC2019-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at RBC full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Much better culture than wire house firms. Management and home office personnel are accessible and friendly. Technology spending is huge and will make for better efficiency and competitiveness in the market.

      Cons

      Pushing out a lot of technology fast and furious - can be overwhelming but will eventually be incredibly appreciated.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the awesome Midwest culture!

      RBC2019-05-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to start a career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Investment Banking Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great culture Access to senior leaders Strong deal flow Highly encourage A2A promotions

      Cons

      Not following through with some work life balance initiatives

      RBC2019-05-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Operationns"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analyst in Jersey City, NJ

      I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I like working with diff plp & expose to diff products in diff area.

      Cons

      I'm a type of person that very reliable even when I'm sick. I still make sure my tasks is delivered.

      RBC2019-05-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good Company-"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good company. They treat employees well and allow flexible lifestyles.

      Cons

      A bit political at times.

      Advice to Management

      Do as you say.....

      RBC2019-05-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Aim high on initial salary. ANNUAL increases lower than average based on 20 years in industry."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Risk Management Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      On-site ammenities, fitness benefits, if prev employee you are grandfathered in to 401k and PTO levels.

      Cons

      Difficult to get hired within by other departments. They want someone who can fill positions with exact experience which negates the whole purpose of trying to explore others areas of organization.

      Advice to Management

      Advise managers to look more at overall quality of individual and tenure with RBC. If one is in unable to move to new roles within, they will likely be forced to seek jobs with local competitors especially if salary limits are close to stagnant.

      RBC2019-04-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Average but it was a job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good salary Good charitable giving Good location Good health insurance Interesting work

      Cons

      Highly political Limited opportunities Negative work environment in some teams Talented staff leave Some people are not happy because they are not a top 5 investment bank

      Advice to Management

      Offer more career mobility and invest in talented staff

      RBC2019-04-19
    • Helpful (1)

      ""Will not refer this company to my enemies as i want my enemies to be alive" :)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at RBC full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Not Applicable for any Positive remarks

      Cons

      The CCAR Team is highly unstructured, Toxic, Incapable and Discriminatory team. It was a big nightmare to work with this team

      Advice to Management

      Replace Human Resource management with Puppet of senior management team

      RBC2019-04-19
    Found 328 reviews