RealSelf Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
74%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
RealSelf Founder and CEO Tom Seery
Tom Seery
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've never had trouble with work/life balance, or with taking time for an appointment or personal matter(in 20 reviews)

  • "Snacks, dog friendly, flexible hours(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "With quick expansion there are always growing pains and I have high hopes RealSelf continue to work through it well(in 10 reviews)

  • "Company is growing so fast it's getting a bit crowded (but that's being taken care of)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Transparent, Helpful and Personable"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Work Life Balance, Teammates, and Professional Development

    Cons

    I don't have any Cons

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2020-04-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "So-so product and scattered direction from above."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RealSelf full-time

    Pros

    Smart and friendly team members. Nice office. Decent compensation.

    Cons

    Leadership is inconsistent and change management is non existent. You'll be told RS is not for everyone, when things get tough. I saw very little leadership on my way out, very little compassion, and not so much as a handshake or a thank you. A lot of coldness and poor communication.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2020-05-21
  3. "Lots of changes, but worth sticking around"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    #1 without a doubt is the coworkers. People care, people are friendly, people are understanding, etc. Beyond that, it's a place that feels like work takes place on marathon cadence vs. a sprint or a scramble. I've never had trouble with work/life balance, or with taking time for an appointment or personal matter. In recent years the office has moved strongly towards remote work, either partially or in full. Pay is solid for this range of company. Not megacorp-scale, but I'm also not working megacorp hours or megacorp stress either. There's a stronger corporate ethic than usual, I've seen. There's a regular pattern of civic and corporate giving/efforts, and when possible it bleeds into product decisions for the better. On-call rotations are pretty light-weight, and there's a solid shared goal in making sure disruptions don't keep alerting. There's room for internal advancement, which I haven't seen much of in this industry. I've been promoted and it feels like I'll be able to continue being promoted (hopefully).

    Cons

    There's a tendency for company or department initiatives to get ~80% of the way to execution/completion and then trail off. There's also a pattern of key internal-facing efforts being bottlenecked by higher-ups who are already stretched thin, letting those efforts get bogged down. Some key people are taking on the work of multiple people in their position while staffing-up happens. More power to them, they're great, but the creaking is audible. Career advancement criteria is murky, with the main reference being an old document that was silently deprecated and talk of an upcoming draft that keeps being deferred.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2020-02-19

    RealSelf Response

    February 24, 2020CEO

    Career advancement is really challenging for companies to get right. I recall seeing an HR industry survey where just 1 in 5 employees felt their employer was doing a good job meeting career ambitions. That's an appalling disconnect and it's not something we will accept at RealSelf. On the contrary, we want to enable personal growth and we're going to continue to bring transparency to important aspects such as career pathing and clarity to why 30 of your peers received promotions in the past year. But no matter what tools, training and processes we roll out, career advancement depends first-and-foremost on a healthy, ongoing dialogue with your manager and leadership. You can imagine how easy it is for a company to have a vastly different perspective of what they want in the future of an employee than what an individual may seek. I doubt you came to Glassdoor for advice, yet I can't understate how important is for you to bring your career and personal goals into 1:1's and performance checkups. Likewise, identify training, mentoring and skills development opportunities you want to pursue for your next role, not just your current one. Another area of challenge for early stage companies is staying focused. In the past few quarters I have not really observed the 80-percent behavior in practice beyond shipping MVP's. That said, with our product leadership changes we've introduced greater discipline in the product development process of looking ahead at the beginning of the month and back at the end of the month to ensure we are delivering on our commitments. If you see us slipping back to our old ways, please flag this and let me know!

  4. "Love RealSelf, Love the People, & Love What We Do!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior RealSelf Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relaxed laid back culture, everyone from top down is so supportive of your work and career goals, you will feel valued for your work and any feedbacks, management is always fair, caring and responsive, everyone is committed to the same mission, and lots of free snacks and drinks!

    Cons

    Parking around the stadium is expensive $16-24 average per day, but RealSelf gives $100 per month towards parking and transportation. We also work from home two days a week now so that helps.

    RealSelf2019-12-12

    RealSelf Response

    January 16, 2020CEO

    As you mention, work from home -- and remote work for many teams -- saves both commute time and money. But I also hear from our team members that they really appreciate the way it provides more "heads down" time and fewer distractions. At the same time, we are fortunate to have great tools (e.g., Slack, Zoom, Outreach and Google Docs) that allow us to stay hyper-connected and informed. These are important because RealSelf is a global team that reaches a global audience. As of this writing we have team members in 13 states and three countries.

  5. "Great people, great benefits, and great mission!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at RealSelf for a little over a year now and am so happy I made the move last September! We have an incredible mission, great culture, benefits, pay and room for growth. There is a lot of opportunity to own your career path here and if you work hard you are compensated for it - I was promoted a little under my one year mark! My manager and team are extremely supportive and helpful. The best part about working here, in my opinion, is the people - everyone is so great to work with and so passionate about the work we do. Other perks: Great culture, beautiful office space, super flexible work schedule with WFH opportunities, free snacks, fun office events, employee development grant, opportunities to explore what you're passionate about.

    Cons

    Change is a constant here - if you don't like a rapidly changing environment this likely won't be a great fit for you.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2019-10-08

    RealSelf Response

    February 5, 2020CEO

    I apologize; I just noticed that Glassdoor appears to have lost my response to your posting! I fully agree that listening and being direct are essential. Both are integral to the culture at RealSelf. One step beyond listening is taking action. Along these lines I've challenged our People team to only ask a survey question if we intend to use the feedback to make new decisions. Nothing is more frustrating when you take the time to give feedback, and it was just a "check the box" exercise that employees were surveyed. This month is our annual culture survey and I assure you I'll be diving into the results and RealSelf will become a better employer because of it. Please take the time to be heard. I am indeed listening.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Perspective is Worth Its Weight in Gold"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director of People in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started at RealSelf just over 3 years ago and then about 3 months ago I left. That is not where this story ends however. This week, I returned after being gone exactly one quarter. It was hard to leave, but easy to come back to. I went to try out an opportunity that, at least I thought, I could not miss. I learned a lot, but most of all I was able to take a step back and get perspective. Sometimes the old adage, the grass is always greener is true and sometimes what is right in front of you is where you need to be. Of course there are hard times, there will always be ebbs and flows, but you can say that about anywhere you are. I will say though that at RealSelf the good times far outweigh the tough times. I also don’t want to forget to mention the RealSelf team. I have never worked with such dedicated and caring people. I thought about them every day while I was gone. I will end by saying, anyone that is currently here or considering joining, if you have concerns or just want to talk about RealSelf, please reach out to me. I am happy to share my experience and also talk through what is on your mind.

    Cons

    To be here, you have to be comfortable with change. The good news is that we offer support for this, but it's not always easy for people to handle.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2019-10-02

    RealSelf Response

    February 6, 2020CEO

    I am delighted you are back at RealSelf and that you shared your experience with departing and then returning. On the topic of departing the company, I truly believe that we should treat a person really well on their arrival, and great on their exit. While I am very passionate about retaining our talent here at RealSelf, I am also proud that we play such an impactful role in a person's overall career and personal development. We have over 500 RealSelf alums, and they’ve gone on to great new roles and companies ranging from Amazon and Zillow as well as early stage startups. I credit the culture at RealSelf for reinforcing the attributes that make for these expanded career opportunities: emotional maturity, critical thinking, and being a one-team oriented player. Once again, I am excited to see you re-engaged at RealSelf-- together we’re making us better!

  7. "Continues to be a great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a company, RealSelf is very thoughtful about its employees. From how org changes are relayed to the layout of the office space and everything in between, there are a number of ways each day that employees are being factored into decisions made. While every company has its ups and downs, throughout it all the overwhelming feeling from employees, especially those in leadership, is respect for one another. This company aims to work with employees to help them reach their professional goals. Through our formal professional development program or even one off conversations that our HR team offers, if you want to grow within the org that will be made possible for you. With that said, there are a lot of changes happening currently, hopefully for the better. If you prefer a stable environment with minimal change, this may not be the best place for you right now. I don't think it will be like this forever though.

    Cons

    There have been quite a few changes in leadership over the last year. I'm hopeful that will steady out now as we seem to have a pretty good group in charge at this time. Company revenue is not booming like it has in years past so budget, bonuses and compensation are much tighter than we have previously seen. Again, i'm hopeful this will turn around in the near future.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2019-09-27
  8. "Great people and culture, rough waters ahead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RealSelf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are thoughtful and bright. Leadership is active in working on challenges the company faces, and clearly communities with the rest of the business. Tom and the rest of the execs are open, honest, and seem to care about their people. The analytics team is rebuilding, and there is a lot of opportunity there for someone to come in and make impact. The work/life balance and benefits are second to none. The office space is also great.

    Cons

    It’s gotten better but focus seems to be an issue. Often times context or priorities switch. I ran into cases where I worked on something for two weeks that was decided to be no longer needed and dropped. But this has happened a lot less in the last three months. The business is trying to get its footing after a decade of growth. A lot of turnover in the last six months

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2019-10-11
  9. "A great place to grow and impact change"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. It's a testing environment and you're empowered to try new things and make a role what you want it to be. The work is mission-driven and the challenges are unique. I'm personally interested in this part of the beauty industry so the work and the community I engage with energizes me. I love the office environment–it's open, inviting, dogs are allowed, and hours are flexible (but it depends on your manager). I also love that the company participates in large community causes and regularly invites or notifies employees of service projects to be a part of.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing (i.e. reorgs, goals, office environment) so that means you have to be agile and flexible, and work with sometimes ambiguous or broad goals. Most times this is great, but it can be a con because it can slow progress in some areas even when it's growing other parts of the company. This can lead to a lot of uncertainty but managers are pretty supportive through changes and transparent of what's to come. Career-pathing isn't always clear but that is starting to change. Representation of women/women of color in leadership isn't as prevalent but that is starting to change as well.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2019-10-10
  10. Helpful (8)

    "There is no growth opportunity in this company unless someone quits and you fill their position"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RealSelf full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance in the company.

    Cons

    Dog friendly office and office perks are not the only criterion for ‘good work culture’. During my time at Realself I experienced mobbing, so good luck fighting for acceptance. Lack of direction and ever changing priorities are some of the other challenges for the working teams.

    Continue reading
    RealSelf2019-08-29
Found 126 reviews