Red Wing Shoe Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Wing Shoe Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Red Wing Shoe CEO Mark Urdahl (no image)
Mark Urdahl
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product even greater reputation(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "They like to keep temps there without hiring them on full time for years(in 4 reviews)

  • "There are no cons that I can think of(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GREAT COMPANY & CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Wing Shoe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing product that you will be proud to sell. Upbeat and honest company culture.

    Cons

    Retail Hours. Open 7 days a week.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the great work

    Red Wing Shoe2019-11-19
  2. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Sales Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for the type of job.

    Cons

    Retail hours, no overtime hours or pay.

    Red Wing Shoe2019-11-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling and ability to connect and work with management

    Cons

    Slow hours with little meaningful work to do at times

    Red Wing Shoe2019-11-11
  5. "Great Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job if you have a good manager, flexible hours, good product, somewhat of a commission, laid back environment

    Cons

    Pay is low, some customers can be aggressive, commission structure was recently changed leading to lower income, very little room for career advancement except as a manger

    Advice to Management

    Change the commission structure, allow associates to make money off of boots as a percentage.

    Red Wing Shoe2019-10-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent work environment, not so good diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Red Wing, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Some good people

    Cons

    Hires a handful of people from India to show diversity No other races are hired or respected Low opinion of employees Initiative and hard work are not recognized Racist management Now only hires temp workers to avoid paying benefits Temps are treated poorly and their work is not valued

    Red Wing Shoe2019-10-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Old, white males dominate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Red Wing, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pretty good deal on shoes

    Cons

    RWSC is a sexist, non-inclusive culture led by old white men who hire younger white men to work for them. The leadership team veils their sexism and racism by hiring the occasional woman or person of color but those people are not treated equally. The few women who are in leadership roles succeed by falling in line with the old white men in charge. If you can get over the sexism and inclusivity, you will be... challenged to get anything done in a culture that is antiquated, painfully slow and indecisive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening to and protecting each other and realize that you are an out of touch company. This will take major change and likely will not happen with the current people in place.

    Red Wing Shoe2019-11-04
  8. "Great retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Red Wing Shoe full-time

    Pros

    Employee discount Great product Good pay and hours

    Cons

    Rude customers Disorganized upper management

    Red Wing Shoe2019-09-30
  9. "Corporate is great!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Niles, OH

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great American made product! All of the people you call to deal with at corporate are fantastic

    Cons

    Was asked to resign from a dealer store because I told them i was looking for better wages to grow

    Red Wing Shoe2019-09-27
  10. "Racist Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Fairfield, CA

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great customers, good experience with business management

    Cons

    Little wiggle room because with scheduling because store is understaffed. Wishy washy management unwilling to give a voice to the employee

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when they tell you about the management

    Red Wing Shoe2019-09-28
  11. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Red Wing Shoe full-time

    Pros

    Good hours, decent pay. Holidays off.

    Cons

    I don’t know, pretty good place.

    Red Wing Shoe2019-09-13
Found 94 reviews