SCS Direct Reviews | Glassdoor

SCS Direct Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
SCS Direct President  Howard Greenspan (no image)
Howard Greenspan
15 Ratings
  1. "I worked for SCS for 9 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Stratford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The CEO is a wonderful person. Also eccentric..but lovable. He tries to be good to his employees. He is honest. I became his first Vice President. If you work hard and do your job correctly he will see that. He listens to peoples ideas.

    Cons

    He can be a little scatter brained. Lots of irons in the fire at any given time. What you think is important and what does can be very different sometimes. Choose your battles wisely but Choose them you will be ok

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2018-06-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few nice people that work at the company.

    Cons

    Below average compensation and PTO so lots of turnover. If owner paid a decent wage/salary he would be able to attract talented employees and wouldn't have as much turnover and would actually save the company money in the long run. Company is disorganized and everything is a fire. Company is struggling. Owner is unethical and often involved in lawsuits. Owner also posts fake reviews on Glassdoor. Look for the reviews that say its a great place to work and have a few "negatives" that aren't really negatives and that's how you know which ones he wrote.

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2019-11-04
  3. "Relaxed Work Enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in Trumbull, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment. Overall everyone is very nice. Working in the buying department was awesome. Every day is a challenge, but it's fun. You're around awesome people and everyone is willing to help each other. You have the freedom to make decisions and you get what you put in. If you work hard it pays off.

    Cons

    Career growth felt limited. Compensation is far below the average and benefits aren't great.

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2019-05-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Trumbull, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most people are friendly, company tries to promote good work life balance. Also put’s on company sponsored events

    Cons

    Benefits severely lacking below industry average PTO very expensive Health insurance. Company has some financial issues, limits opportunities Not a top down clear approach

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2019-05-20
  5. "Lacks leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Direct full-time

    Pros

    Some good people to work with

    Cons

    Owner lacks leadership skills. Claims to run an agile company but it’s actully chaotic and undisciplined. No executive team. Micro management style. Major internal problems. Owner unethical.

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2019-03-09
  6. "Not a career opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Controller in Trumbull, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stress free environment. Thats about it.

    Cons

    No career growth, owner only listens to himself, awful expensive benefits, well below market PTO (Easter Sunday is listed as a company holiday off and there are maybe 5 or 6 company Holidays), bonuses are a joke (owner pays based on tenure and even thats a joke), no real direction as a company, no true senior leadership, no development opportunities. Owner hires people, but makes every decision. Believes he knows everything you need to know to run a successful business. I tried to make changes and grow the company, provide suggestions to make help profitability, but those suggestions went on deaf ears. I gave up trying and high tailed it out of there. Strongly suggest if you are looking for a career, personal growth or add experience look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2019-03-30
  7. "It's all depends on your preference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    casual atmosphere, nice professional peers

    Cons

    You have to be in the right department to be appreciated

    SCS Direct2017-09-23
  8. "I loved the place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Sales Manager in Milford, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed CEO and fun group.

    Cons

    I see people writing reviews about the salary/wages paid. Is that the company's fault? You accepted the job, I'm sure it wasn't a surprise when you got your first paycheck!

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2017-06-14
  9. "Good Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCS Direct

    Pros

    Great company to work for, fast growing and good energy.

    Cons

    Too many parties, AC breaks periodically

    SCS Direct2016-07-18
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Truly the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in Trumbull, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCS Direct full-time

    Pros

    SCS has become my home over the past year. Like any new job, you may be a little intimidated at first but there is no better community than here. Not only is management guiding you, but you also have the support of the whole team. In the buying department, we are rapidly growing and everyone is here to help one another out. There is not one person who is not willing to drop what their doing to help someone else out. It is a very open community and we all want everyone to succeed. The Director of Buying oversees all in the department and there couldn't be a better person for it. He is very rational in all his decisions and will bring the best out of you. He will help you better understand everything as a whole and help you become the best you can be. Anyone can tell you how to do something, but not everyone can teach you. He excels at providing the tools you need to be able to figure problems out on your own, which is a not only crucial in this job, but in life. It is great to have a leader in the department who is very easy to talk to and voice your opinions to, and is well respected by all. The working environment is the greatest here. The company has a very laid back dress code and allows you to really be yourself. Every day, I feel like I can truly be myself here. Simply being allowed to dress in jeans or even shorts and sandles brings me to a place where I am more comfortable and confident, which in turn allows me to be more focused and produce better results. I really feel like the environment here brings the best out of people. We are fortunate enough to be allowed to make our work space our home. If you walk around the office, especially come Christmas time, you will see many people have decorations up to brighten the mood and bring out a better vibe for all. The owner of the company is very down to earth and understanding of his employees. He wants everyone to succeed and helps create this great working environment. He turned our kitchen into a hybrid of also being a game room. We have a shuffleboard table, a 2 person basketball arcade game, darts, and a cable TV. Many employees will stay a little while after work just to hang out and enjoy these activities because it really is a fun place to be. We work hard and play hard. He is responsible for holding many annual company events such as a bowling night, a Holiday Hill trip, a zip lining trip, and many more. He will also send company wide offers for fun, Like a March Madness bracket competition in which he is offering his employees cash prizes and paid time off, or offering bonuses for creative ideas in new product developments. He doesn't have to do anything like that, but he does. That is the kind of person you want to work for and will help drive and motivate you to succeed even further. He will tell you to treat the company like your own, and he really gives you the power to feel that way. SCS is rapidly growing for a reason. Every week it seems like there is someone else on board joining the team. We have recently moved our corporate office to a new permanent location last year. This was the third building the company has moved to within the past 5 years. We have been able to grow and expand so quickly because we have great upper management who has visions for what is next and how to continue our growth. They continue to provide a great overall experience for the employees who in return excel at what they do because they love the business they work for. I honestly never could have imagined finding a job as good as this. To be able to wake up and go to work and come home happy is a huge thing for me personally. Take a moment to look at other people in your life, whether it be friends or family and see if they are able to come home from work with a smile on their faces. Most people come home and complain about their jobs. This is never the case with me, and I couldn't be happier.

    Cons

    I honestly can't really come up with anything off the top of my head. Some reviews complained about money, but there is great opportunity to be successful here. Money is earned not given, and hard work is noticed and rewarded.

    Continue reading
    SCS Direct2016-03-30
Found 21 reviews