SPARC Reviews

Updated May 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
SPARC CEO Elizabeth Buske (no image)
Elizabeth Buske
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The purchase by Booz Allen Changed Management style in some departments(in 6 reviews)

  • "Like all growing companies, especially startups that grow fast, there are growing pains(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Acquisition"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SPARC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People were always helpful and nice - Great work life balance, always understood when you needed to have a half day for personal reasons - Senior software engineers were willing to teach and have learning sessions - Good salaries for Charleston SC

    Cons

    - Part of Booz-Allen Hamilton now and the large company bureaucracy happened

    Continue reading
    SPARC2018-07-16
  2. "Hipster Daycare"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Daniel Island, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPARC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Paycheck - I can't even come up with the 5 word minimum!

    Cons

    - This place is daycare for all the hipster dorks living in the Charleston area - Only a few lame & boring projects to work on - Almost exclusively government projects - Annoying wannabe Silicon Valley "culture" - Have to do bait & switch to get you to work there - Managers will lie to you - Lots of people screwing around all day - Not the place to stay current or advance your tech skills

    Continue reading
    SPARC2019-05-22
  3. "Analyst"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SPARC full-time

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere Friendly people Great work and home balance

    Cons

    Below market salary Owned by government contracts No growth opportunity No annual bonus Annual salary raise does not correspond with performance No guarantee of salary increase with position movement

    Continue reading
    SPARC2018-06-06
  4. "Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SPARC part-time

    Pros

    Great Experience, learned a lot.

    Cons

    Communication within organization is difficult sometimes,

    SPARC2018-03-15
  5. "This company is still great even if it's not the same."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SPARC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, some interesting projects and amazing people. Yes, it's different since the buyout but greater Booz Allen has pretty much kept out of our hair. A name is just a name! From reading other posts about Senior MGMT not doing their job makes me scratch my head. I've never seen anyones voice not heard or concern addressed, perhaps there's other things to those reviews.

    Cons

    VBMS is boring, some of the newer hires aren't the "rockstars " they claim to be.

    Continue reading
    SPARC2017-09-08
  6. "It"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SPARC full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere fun projects and new building

    Cons

    The purchase by Booz Allen Changed Management style in some departments

    SPARC2017-08-31
  7. "This Company Does Not Exist"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SPARC full-time

    Pros

    It was one of the best places to work when it existed.

    Cons

    The work wasn't always the most exciting back in the day.

    Continue reading
    SPARC2017-09-14
  8. "This company use to be great"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SPARC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and good restaurants in the area.

    Cons

    This company was once great and I enjoyed showing up to work every day. Since the company was acquired management appears to no longer care about culture. I now feel like I am working for a giant machine and no longer at the enjoyable company I was once at. The recruiting staff still pitches the fun and productive work environment Sparc used to have, but that is sadly no longer the case.

    Continue reading
    SPARC2017-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "This company no longer exists"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SPARC full-time

    Pros

    When it existed in 2015, it was a great company!

    Cons

    This company no longer exists. Booz Allen Hamilton bought most of the federal contracts and the people in an asset purchase and the company itself is basically vacant with no employees. SPARC is now just a fake brand name of a dev shop in Charleston S.C. and there is no CEO. All the systems are now BAH and this profile is very deceiving for future employees since they will not be working for "SPARC" since there is no entity named such.

    Continue reading
    SPARC2017-09-04
  10. "Chill Culture, Smart people, boring projects"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SPARC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - relaxed culture - competent leaders

    Cons

    you end up working boring projects

    SPARC2017-07-14
Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews