SRAM Reviews | Glassdoor

SRAM Reviews

Updated Oct 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
85%
Recommend to a Friend
SRAM CEO Ken Lousberg (no image)
Ken Lousberg
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Our culture is fantastic, flexible, and bike centric(in 14 reviews)

  • "If you're passionate about cycling, you will work with great people who are equally passionate(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are a few who like to talk bike more than work(in 4 reviews)

  • "Little lack of diversity in some teams(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment where everybody is trusted to do their job without micro-management.

    Cons

    Not many options for progression in some positions.

    SRAM2018-10-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A good company facing the challenges of the modern world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SRAM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're passionate about cycling, you will work with great people who are equally passionate. There are many supportive leaders. If you can clearly convey good ideas, you may get a chance to shine. In sales, sales support, product management and marketing, you can get to see many parts of the world. SRAM has large offices and design centers in the USA, Europe and Asia. SRAM's bonus structure is very fair..., with a portion of profits being shared among employees in good years.

    Show More

    Cons

    The bicycle industry has been one of the last to embrace the digital era. There are driving forces within SRAM, but changes to the value chain are going to happen slowly. Choose one of the smaller brands or divisions if you embrace change. Long relationships combined with frequent low-value interactions are relied upon to get things done -- both inside the company and with customers. Choose the right position if... you're an introvert.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider developing a young leaders forum to see if you can combine your knowledge with their enthusiasm and new ideas. Look at an incubator to trial some of those new ideas. Be ready to adapt. Things may be good now, but indoor cycling, fewer people riding bikes, thinner margins and competition from bike makers are coming, or they're already here.

    SRAM2019-10-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Not a Good Ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time

    Pros

    -Passionate people -Casual dress code -Cool products

    Cons

    -Pay is significantly below market -Limited training and development opportunities -No upward growth -Extremely low department budgets -Ridged/inconsistent work policy based on department -Lack of diversity -HR department is disconnected from the rest of the organization -Benefits are mediocre at best -Outdated vacation policy -Change is strongly resisted throughout the organization

    SRAM2019-10-23
  5. "Corporate Life in the Cycling Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very structured and consistent environment with lots of support.

    Cons

    Slow moving and very corporate feel for the cycling industry.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget the roots of the company

    SRAM2019-07-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hip Company, Some things lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time

    Pros

    Laid back culture, shorts and tee shirts, 2 hour lunches to ride bikes, fun happy hours, and they make cool products

    Cons

    Consistently pay below market. If you're not a bike junkie you can get treated differently, they are very seniority oriented - for advancement and input. Change is painful and strongly resisted.

    SRAM2019-03-19
  7. "Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people, fun projects, and great work/life balance

    Cons

    compensation may be on the lower end

    SRAM2018-09-19
  8. "Industrial Design Apprenticeship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Industrial Designer in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at SRAM for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment if you're really active and into bikes

    Cons

    I think that company projects could benefit from being more structured and haveing set deadline's

    Advice to Management

    More evolvement with the junior designers and set a timeline on projects

    SRAM2018-08-06
  9. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, energetic work environment. especially if you like bikes.

    Cons

    A fairly flat organization, self-driven improve yourself.

    SRAM2018-05-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in San Luis Obispo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SRAM full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SRAM has excellent leadership, excellent perks, and excellent benefits. Our culture is fantastic, flexible, and bike centric. Lastly, the organization really seems to care about the individual, listens to how people feel, and does its best to make adjustments.

    Cons

    Our vacation policy is lacking compared to what I'm used to. The number of hours per year is small, and the number of hours that employees can accrue and hold year-to-year is also very limited. Our diversity is limited, with an extremely high male population. I don't feel that this is the result of cultural influence, and it is something the organization is currently trying to remedy. Also, for such a forward... thinking organization in an industry dominated by men, we have a very limited paternity leave policy. It is becoming more and more difficult for families to have children, and our paternity leave policy is minimal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improving the paternity leave policy and extending the number of PTO hours we can bank are the two major wishes I have as an employee.

    SRAM2018-04-05
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture and bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SRAM full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Excellent culture. It can be very stressful, but employees and managers do not carry that stress with them off hours. - Employees are given a lot of decision freedom and responsibility within a framework. - Managers steer from the front, not the back -- they say what direction to move in and help guide the execution, not stand back and point out what should have been done. More emphasis on doing than reporting... what was done or what will be done. - Work hard, play hard mentality is shared throughout most of the company. - Passionate coworkers. - Approachable senior management. And senior management seems to put a lot of weight on employee feedback. - Many managers allow flexible hours and understand there are life demands outside of work. The quality and timeliness of your work matters more than the hours you are at your desk. - Open and visible company performance and future goals. - Outdoor industry discounts. - The possibility of a substantial bonus. - Once hired, people rarely choose to leave, which is a positive indicator of the culture and work. - Employees are generally treated as valuable, individual resources, not disposable commodities. Even though I left SRAM just prior to the annual bonus payout, SRAM paid my bonus. They even acknowledged that I was no longer an employee but said I had earned my bonus and was deserving if it. I feel that is a good indicator of how SRAM treats their employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Base pay is below average, but that is true for most of the bicycle industry. - Health insurance plans are relatively expensive for families. - A bonus is not guaranteed, and if company performance is poor, there will be no bonus, regardless of your personal performance. A little too much emphasis is put on the bonus when hiring and it is paid too inconsistently for the attention it is given. However, layoffs... are rare. - There are sometimes substantial inconsistencies in how business is conducted from one location to another. - Managers and employees sometimes willingly choose not to follow a process or direction with no repercussion for doing so. - People in all roles are empowered to make decisions... which can sometimes result in bad decisions. - As the company size grows and employee longevity increases, turf wars are starting to emerge.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support employees and believe in their capabilities. You have successfully built a culture where there is a reasonable amount of freedom for each employee to make decisions without introducing chaos; don't lost that. Turf claiming, "not my job" statements, and settling-in to a role and producing minimum output is becoming more common as the employee base grows. Fighting that is going to be challenging... but necessary because those mentalities are contagious, disruptive, and toxic to the great culture.

    Show More
    SRAM2018-03-12
Found 52 reviews
</>Embed