STEMCELL Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

STEMCELL Technologies Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 133 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
STEMCELL Technologies CEO Allen C. Eaves
Allen C. Eaves
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very relaxed work life balance, employees are all very nice(in 20 reviews)

  • "Committed to a positive work environment and genuinely care about the customer's experience(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "relatively low salary for the cost of living in Vancouver(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay, small increase once a year can be very depressing(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "An awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I love working for STEMCELL. This company has a ton of integrity, and truly cares about helping scientists. With fast growth there is always lots to do, and I always feel I'm making a meaningful contribution.

    Cons

    In rapid growth companies there is always lots to do, it can be hard to fit it all into an 8 hour day.

    Advice to Management

    With such quick growth and so much to do, encouraging work life balance is an important an area of focus.

    STEMCELL Technologies2018-06-22
  2. "Awesome Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientific Sales Representative, Cell Culture Products in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Wonderful Company Culture! Bi-annual retreats with time for fun activities if targets are hit/surpassed. Real sense of teamwork and camaraderie. Very supportive management. Great opportunities for advancement. They treat their employees very well! They truly care about you and your professional development!

    Cons

    N/A - I really miss working there. :(

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome work!

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-04-05
  3. "Creative Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Supportive of career development Innovative Business strategies

    Cons

    Nothing major to complain about

    STEMCELL Technologies2019-02-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Dynamic Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Very forward thinking and innovative in the industry. Great resources available and great transparency throughout the company

    Cons

    Pay is a little less than the average role however the company culture is fantastic.

    STEMCELL Technologies2018-10-02
  5. "Amazing company with some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It's a rewarding place to work in the sense that the company is committed to furthering scientific discovery and is dedicated to innovation.

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly and is still implementing the systems they need, specific to performance review and management hierarchy.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and reward your young talent. The most innovative people may not look like the cookie cutter stereotype that are so often hired at STEMCELL.

    STEMCELL Technologies2018-08-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Manufacturing Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    - Co-workers are really nice and the group seems to have a lot of chemistry - Only 2 possible shifts, M-F (no weekends or night shifts!)

    Cons

    - Upper management relies on heavily on employees to know their stuff because management doesn't always know the details of projects

    STEMCELL Technologies2018-05-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "RnD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Good work social life balance. Investing in RnD to improve technology

    Cons

    Pay is slightly below market value because the company is extremely executive level top heavy with middle to lower level employees not getting deserved pay raises.

    STEMCELL Technologies2017-11-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lucky to be a part of STEMCELL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientific Inside Sales in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I have always felt supported in my role and cared for as an employee. While maintaining a great work-life balance, I was also able to take on additional leadership opportunities, and as a result have grown tremendously as an individual and professional. Having worked in companies where management failed to foster a sense of community and teamwork, I can confidently say that the culture at STEMCELL will be the driving...

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains of a successful company. There are areas where there is no existing system in place. Sometimes, it requires you to be adaptable and take on more initiatives.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire for resilient, conscientious, and ambitious talents, and train them to become high-performers and team-players that will drive the company forward.

    STEMCELL Technologies2017-07-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientific Sales Representative in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I transitioned from 7+ year career in laboratory science into sales with STEMCELL. This company operates like no other biotech I've seen - they are extremely selective in their hiring and treat employees very well. I have found policies to generally be extremely reasonable, and despite being a relatively large, distributed organization, communication is excellent and everyone treats each other with respect. I haven't...

    Show More

    Cons

    None so far - this is a happy place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing - and keep the company private!

    STEMCELL Technologies2017-06-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome biotech company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientific Field Sales in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STEMCELL Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company culture, great flexibility, company on great growth trajectory, excellent leadership and mentorship from everyone

    Cons

    Nothing worth listing so far

    Advice to Management

    Definitely appreciate the focus on hiring people who fit well into the company culture at STEMCELL

    STEMCELL Technologies2017-06-12
Found 133 reviews