SkillPath Reviews | Glassdoor

SkillPath Reviews

Updated September 15, 2017
78 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Cameron Bishop
9 Ratings

78 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The amount of money you can make here is insane, considering it's an 8-5 sales position with a great work/life balance (in 7 reviews)

  • Great benefits, healthy happy yet professional atmosphere, room to grow, excellent training (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Extremely high turnover even for a sales organization (in 7 reviews)

  • My niche was selling to Fortune 500 C-Level executives and this is a very different approach than nearly all other account managers (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Great benefits package you will not likely find anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent health insurance benefits, 401K matching, and vacation time allowance. Family oriented and now showing a true dedication to improved internal and external communications. New CEO and executive team are making positive changes across the board to improve what was lacking, while keeping what was good.

    Cons

    A recent change at the very top always inserts a little instability and uncertainly at the new structure and direction of the company is in flux, but nothing to suggest any of the changes will be negative.

    SkillPath Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your review - and your continued support as a longtime employee!


  2. "Great Place to work. Fun, friendly environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Operations in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Perks. Gifts for every year on your anniversary.

    Cons

    Management was terrible and claimed to have an open door policy but when expressed concerns and suggested ways to make job easier ideas were always shut down. But things are changing. We have new Management staff and so far things are much smoother.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to us!

    SkillPath Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Under our new leadership, listening to employees and creating a culture of which we can all be proud are top priorities. Thank you again for sharing your... More

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of professionalism at a training companhy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SkillPath full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You can make a good income plus good benefits if you are focused. This tedious no frills job will improve your communication, negotiation, and sales skills. I was there four years.

    Cons

    The leadership in the sales division was unprofessional and often unqualified. This trickled down to the account managers. The turnover is extremely high and distracting.

    Advice to Management

    Raise your leadership level and incorporate things that will improve the cultural and morale. Be picky about who you hire, then treat them with respect.

    SkillPath Response

    Aug 28, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We take comments like these very seriously. We are sorry you had a negative experience and wish you the best of luck in your career.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "A pretty darned good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits - health insurance has not decreased in coverage in 15+ years
    403(b) plan has company contributions, minimum of 25%
    Family friendly - several events throughout the year for both employees and their families.
    Casual dress - no dress code, no restrictions on tattoos or hair color
    EXTREMELY LGBTQ friendly - harassment or discrimination because of sexual preference or gender identity is not tolerated. And that policy goes back to be beginning of the company.
    I have been with SkillPath for over 15 years, and I would not still be here if it was a miserable work place. We are not micromanaged and new ideas are encouraged. My department head gives credit where credit is due and we work as a team. There is no backstabbing with someone trying to make you look bad or that you do poor work. Everyone is on a first name basis, up to and including the CEO.

    Cons

    Pay could be better for those who do not have commission based positions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing us forward. How people learn is a lot different now that in 1989.

    SkillPath Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Wow, thank you for sharing your incredible feedback about working at SkillPath!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales agent in a terrible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Mission, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits here are better than average.

    Cons

    Where to start? All these positive reviews have to be generated by the HR team here because I don't know ONE HAPPY PERSON working here. The level of hatred the employees have for the management team, especially upper level management, is astounding. Yet deserving. The management team is mean and vindictive. The leads are so old and recycled. The office is an outdated dump. People are miserable. Skip this place. It's a hell hole.

    Advice to Management

    Take the training courses your company sells. You need it.

    SkillPath Response

    Sep 15, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    We are so sorry you feel this way. With the addition of our new President and CEO in April and several new executive members who joined the company over the summer, we are working very hard to... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fair compensation packages, EXCELLENT benefits and company "perks". I enjoy coming to work everyday. People are wonderful too.

    Cons

    Haven't come across any cons yet.

    SkillPath Response

    Aug 4, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you so much for your review. SkillPath is very fortunate to have tenured employees like you!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Well kept secret in Kansas City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time

    Pros

    -Incredible benefit package, especially health and 403B
    -Casual work environment
    -Lots of employee focused events
    -New CEO and management team members that seem to "get it"
    -Tons of opportunity for those who work hard
    -Family oriented culture

    Cons

    -Lots of manual processes
    -Departments can be silo oriented
    -Communication needs to improve
    -Can be change averse at times

    Advice to Management

    So much potential here. Seems like you have some good ideas and are heading in the right direction. With some infrastructure, systems improvement and department alignment, this Company can really grow.

    SkillPath Response

    Aug 7, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are listening to feedback from employees and hope to break down those department siloes and improve employee communications! Thank you for taking the time to... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Work Life Balance
    Great Employee Benefits

    Cons

    A majority of the employees have worked here for years (not necessarily such a bad thing)

    SkillPath Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thanks for your review!


  9. "Exciting Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Amazing benefits - seriously, best medical plan I've had in years!
    - New leadership has exciting ideas for the future
    - Generous paid time off and vacation packages
    - Casual dress - jeans!
    - Excellent mix of veteran and new employees collaborating to make the company more successful
    - Focus on work-life balance
    - Social events for the family too
    - Nonprofit organization helping fund scholarships for college students
    - Retirement plan is amazing too!

    Cons

    - High turnover in our sales division in the past, but leadership is working hard to fix that.
    - As a nonprofit, budgets can be tight.

    SkillPath Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on working at SkillPath. We appreciate your feedback!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Give an interview a chance, you may find this is the place you've been searching for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Mission, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkillPath full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1. The recruiting team has outstanding follow up, and moves quickly in the hiring process
    2. The two week sales training for all new account managers is worth your time ten fold. AMAZING! Skillpath even invests in a coach to follow up with you after training to make sure the skills taught are being implemented and effective.
    3. Base pay is hard to compete with
    4. Huge Income potential is real for hard workers
    5. Benefits are very affordable and have great coverage
    6. Relaxed work environment as long as production is high!
    7. Awesome, positive, non micromanaging sales manager
    8. Fun, non catty, supportive sales team to work with!
    9. Mentor program that helps set you up for success
    10. Work hard, play hard culture.
    11. 100% 401k matching for the last five years for all employees!
    12. Flexible work schedule

    If you are a go getter who isn't afraid to work through a ramp up period to build your book of business and want the backing of a well established, debt free company in the training industry-

    Come have fun with us!

    Cons

    Bad Rap.
    For some reason there has been an excessive amount of negative experiences publicly exaggerated on Glassdoor. I have been an account manager with Corporate Strategies and Skillpath since the end of April. Prior to accepting an interview I had read the reviews on this site, and almost let it convince me to not consider the company during my job search. I am so grateful my gut told me to take a chance.

    Don't take their word for it, come check us out for yourself!

    Advice to Management

    You guys rock! Keep going in this direction, Skillpath will soon be known as one of the best places to work in Kansas City.

    SkillPath Response

    Jul 20, 2017 – Director, Corporate Communications

    What an amazing review - thank you! We're thrilled you're enjoying your experience at SkillPath!


Showing 78 of 90 reviews
Reset Filters