SoftBank Reviews | Glassdoor

SoftBank Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Masayoshi Son
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Top Management is not bothered about mid & Bottom level(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "You're lucky if you get to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SoftBank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible work schedule schedule and easy going, fun culture. - Great work life balance. Actually the best I've seen at any company. - Leadership team works hard to consistently improve and always open to feedback. - Company promotes from within so definitely many growth opportunities. - Many exciting products being worked on so this is a very exciting time in the company. - Holiday celebrations, off-sites, occasional...

    Show More

    Cons

    Company constantly evolving and things can change overnight sometimes, so you have to learn to adapt quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing and always keep us in the loop on what's going on globally.

    SoftBank2018-10-30
  2. "Questionable Employment Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SoftBank full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you get hired, and pass the "questionable" hiring criteria, it's good.

    Cons

    Most leaders are not speaking English as first language, and are threatened by the American culture that they do not understand and do not even try to understand.

    Advice to Management

    Those born in this country are not necessarily a danger to those who are immigrants. American culture is not the same as where most your employees come from. Your practice of hiring people from the same country and region for each group, should be scrutinized. It is questionable that employees hired by each group, tend to be from the same region or birth place of the hiring manager.

    SoftBank2019-02-17
  3. "Great Team & Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SoftBank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Driven, diverse group of talent Experienced leadership team Huge and exciting opportunity to lead the way in robotics

    Cons

    It takes a lot to be one of the first in robotics and pave the path. Lots of challenges, but that means more exciting opportunities.

    SoftBank2018-10-15
  4. Helpful (5)

    "astonishingly insecure company as a whole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SoftBank full-time

    Pros

    It is located in Financial district

    Cons

    There are a lot of envious people working here who have temper and additute issue, especially the sales team. The projects never get done because there are no firm decisions. One gang member within the team who is favored makes the decision, and will become enemies with you if you have an opinion. The tech team by any means have the educational experience or the technical background to make decisions. Pepper the robot...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have management skills to manage a team, you cannot even handle a team of 3 people. Your decisions are poorly made, no reasons or technicality behind it. Learn how to get rid of gang and bullying amongst your teammates.

    SoftBank2018-10-12
  5. "Sales executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SoftBank full-time

      Pros

      The company was start up environment, but also one of the most biggest company in Japan.

      Cons

      I don't feel cons side. But, we have to work after coming back to home. I didn't have private time when I worked in there.

      Advice to Management

      It was good environment. Employees were positive, fast decision maker and hungry sprit. Almost employees had them, but not everyone.

      SoftBank2018-07-22
    • "It was decent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at SoftBank full-time

        Pros

        Friendly coworkers, catered meals, nice office

        Cons

        I cant think of any

        SoftBank2018-03-20
      • Helpful (9)

        "Terribly political people."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Investor in San Carlos, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SoftBank full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        People are watching the company and more and more bankers which is a good way to professionalize the team.

        Cons

        One person runs the show

        Advice to Management

        You are not Masa

        SoftBank2018-02-15
      • Helpful (1)

        "Very good team at SoftBank"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SoftBank

        Pros

        People are open minded and willing to listen to your ideas. Teams area all talented.

        Cons

        Not very strong in software engineering.

        SoftBank2017-11-27
      • Helpful (1)

        "great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SoftBank

        Pros

        A lot of changes but enjoyed my time there.

        Cons

        Politics with Japanese business generally shielded yet still unavoidable

        SoftBank2017-05-31
      • Helpful (1)

        "Previous employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at SoftBank for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great group of people, fun and exciting work environment

        Cons

        Buggy software, strange managerial decisions, and lack of upward mobility for people lower on the totem pole contributing to a large turnover rate.

        Advice to Management

        Value and listen to your bottom line.

        SoftBank2017-05-11
      Found 62 reviews