Soma Intimates Reviews

Updated May 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Soma Intimates President and Chief Executive Officer  Shelley Broader (no image)
Shelley Broader
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All while having very passive aggressive upper management yell at you over things you cannot control(in 46 reviews)

  • "Low pay and impossible bonus structure(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "AMAZING"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Soma Intimates part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, uplifting, supportive environment to work in.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Soma Intimates2020-02-24
  2. "If Shareholders and CEO's make all the money why aren't they in stores?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Soma Intimates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Few and far between theses days

    Cons

    They take advantage of having a primarily female workforce and do not offer competitive or equal pay. I'm an ASM working full time that qualifies for MEDICAID because of how poorly they pay. The only thing they had working for them was bonus program and that's gone now too. This was the first year in seven years that I ever would have seen a raise that wasn't because the government made them pay me more and they took it away because they paid us for three weeks during the pandemic. They took away our bonus because they aren't making money without their workforce, so they're bringing us back to work in more dangerous circumstances for less pay. They have no value in us. There's no maternity leave, we get two weeks of vacation out of 52 weeks in the year and it can't be taken consecutively and we can't have two weekends off in a month. They claim work life balance because managers get in massive amounts of trouble if work overtime but they have given us entirely too much tasking without the appropriate scheduling hours. This means many employees work off the clock, unpaid, to meet their demands but also not get in trouble for doing their job. This company is depressing. They refuse to allow anyone except the store manager and ASM to work full time hours because they don't want to offer benefits to their employees. They aren't interested in keeping us or customers safe with the pandemic, they're interested in their pocketbooks, but what they fail to comprehend is the best performing companies are those that take care of their employees financially. It's how a company builds loyalty and creates passion. We aren't making ourselves money working for this company, we make them money, and they forget that even know when their profits are suffering horrible because they have a crap website and their omnichannel efforts are almost exclusively dependent upon their retail workforce.

    Continue reading
    Soma Intimates2020-05-09
  3. "Decent Stepping Stone"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead Manager in Northbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Soma Intimates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and learning new skills, could be a good stepping stone into the retail world

    Cons

    Extremely underpaid with unrealistic expectations and disorganized management

    Soma Intimates2020-03-17
  4. "Soma Intimates"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Novi, MI

    I have been working at Soma Intimates full-time

    Pros

    Very family style work environment, growth to move up in the company, flexible work hours

    Cons

    I don’t really have to many bad things to say about the company

    Soma Intimates2020-03-03
  5. "Soma is a very innovated company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Grand Prairie, TX
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Soma Intimates

    Pros

    Reasonable hours and works well around your school schedule

    Cons

    Pay is low, not as many chances for a raise, associates aren’t always trained the same.

    Continue reading
    Soma Intimates2020-02-28
  6. "No mobility"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Soma Intimates part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers were great and discount was good.

    Cons

    Everything. Pay is super low for anyone below store manager. The commission is a joke, it’s barely anything.

    Continue reading
    Soma Intimates2020-02-18
  7. "Great Part Time Job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Des Moines, IA

    I have been working at Soma Intimates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Connecting with customers and helping women find products that work for them and make them feel good about themselves is my favorite part of working for Soma. My managers and coworkers are incredible people and make coming to work fun.

    Cons

    As with any retail job, customers are sometimes difficult which can be hard to deal with.

    Soma Intimates2020-01-27
  8. "Decent retail job"

    4.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Soma Intimates part-time

    Pros

    Good employee discount, the dress code is easy to follow, the limited amount of product lines and consistent pricing makes it easy to learn the inventory. If you like working with people and forming close bonds, this is the job for you. Bra fit training was also awesome.

    Cons

    Average retail pay, managers were often overworked.

    Soma Intimates2020-01-24
  9. "Good Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Computer Forensic Examiner 

    I have been working at Soma Intimates part-time

    Pros

    Amazing Company, good salary, opportunity to grow in the company.

    Cons

    A lot of part time not full time

    Soma Intimates2020-01-23
  10. "Fun environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Soma Intimates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, good pay for a part time

    Cons

    You don’t get many hours

    Soma Intimates2020-01-08
Found 519 reviews