SportsDirect Reviews | Glassdoor

SportsDirect Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
2 Ratings
  1. "it was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SportsDirect part-time

    Pros

    easy to get job it was

    Cons

    manager were nasty a lot

    SportsDirect2018-07-19
  2. "Casual Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SportsDirect part-time

    Pros

    The advantage of working at sports direct is you get commission added on you pay and also discount for working their.

    Cons

    The downside of working at sports direct is the cut off dates on you pay waiting for the next month and also the pay is a bit low.

    SportsDirect2018-06-16
  3. "Data Entry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
    Recommends

    I worked at SportsDirect for more than a year

    Pros

    good working atmosphere, fun

    Cons

    disorganized, too laid back, isolated

    SportsDirect2018-04-06
  4. "Good as a part-time Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SportsDirect part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very flexible working opportunities, we were all able to work within our availability which was perfect whilst studying at university. Good career opportunities if you are offered. I was given multiple pay rises, given the opportunity to do 2 modern apprenticeships for free and learned loads of new skills. Although it gets a bad press, I learned so much here especially how to deal with difficult customers (internal...

    Show More

    Cons

    Favouritism was common which is good if close with the management but not good for others. Although good career opportunities if offered, very few permanent positions available and I know lots of people who were there for years who wanted permanent positions but they weren't able to offer them.

    Advice to Management

    Make some of the long-term staff permanent as they are very loyal to the SD brand.

    SportsDirect2018-03-11
  5. "Good but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SportsDirect for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay with incentives for young people

      Cons

      Monthly pay hard to progress

      SportsDirect2017-11-26
    • "Sports direct part time sales assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at SportsDirect part-time

      Pros

      0 hour contract works well in your favour if you’re a student as the job can be left open for you when returning home over the holidays.

      Cons

      Negative reviews in the press and no refund policy means you often have to deal with a lot of customer complaints

      SportsDirect2017-11-29
    • "Zero hours contracts work both ways"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Casual Retail Assistante in Southend-on-Sea, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at SportsDirect part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible (due to zero hours contract), good staff discount, social staff

      Cons

      Hours can vary wildly because of zero hours contract

      Advice to Management

      Training on different departments would be nice, and once trained having varied departments per shift would be good.

      SportsDirect2017-02-17
    • "Sales assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Croydon, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at SportsDirect part-time

      Pros

      Staff discount is the only good reason

      Cons

      Some of the staff behaves like they are managers You have to be available to work anytime but if you want to work more they never give you hours

      Advice to Management

      You should change this zero hour contract

      SportsDirect2017-02-18
    • "I don't even know what to say"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in Banbury, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SportsDirect part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      it had better pay than my current employer. recieved bonuses too.

      Cons

      -The management were terrible. Rude to customers and colleagues, when they didn't like someone they got rid of them not by firing them directly but by not putting their names on the shift schedule. mainly people who werent white got "let go" and talked about. there was a team meeting i attended where the manager stated "watch out for thieves especially those romanians and polish theyre the worst". Excuse me. since when...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      sort it out. all of the management needs retraining. Or just employ new staff because whatever the hell was going on was not right.

      SportsDirect2017-01-03
    • "Casual Sales Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at SportsDirect

      Pros

      Friendly People Okay Pay Commision can be good

      Cons

      Males are only on shoes Management not the best

      SportsDirect2016-07-04
    Found 40 reviews