Stroock Reviews | Glassdoor

Stroock Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Stuart H. Coleman
10 Ratings
  1. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stroock full-time

    Pros

    Excellent feedback and work experience, trusted with responsibility and client contact

    Cons

    As with the legal profession generally, hours can be extremely demanding

    Stroock2018-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stroock resorts to outsourcing its service departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Stroock for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The firm is up to date on the latest technologies and you can gain hands on experience (if you probe the right people).

    Cons

    Stroock recently decided to outsource their User Support and Word Processing departments to an MSP to recoup the money it lost during the mass exodus of attorneys headed by former head honcho Stewart Coleman.

    Stroock2018-11-08
  3. "Solid Firm, Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Stroock full-time

    Pros

    Great people, and opportunity to work on sophisticated transactions

    Cons

    Lower pay, limited opportunities for advancement, lack of transparency

    Stroock2018-09-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Little transparency, needs to modernize management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stroock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff and junior attorneys

    Cons

    Upper management is old-school. Bonus is not guaranteed even if you meet hours. Lack of communication on assignments from many senior level attorneys. Lack of work, and lack of quality work for junior attorneys to gain useful experience.

    Stroock2018-09-13
  5. "Yes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Stroock full-time

    Pros

    Experience, with document review and hard working

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    Advice to Management

    I have document review experience as well as close to 25 years of experience as a transactional experience representing banks and borrowers, developers in large and sophisticated transactions.

    Stroock2017-12-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Money is not worth your sanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stroock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Miami office staff is amazing; office managers great.

    Cons

    If you are looking to work at this firm do not apply for a position with one of the female partners. Horrible working environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep you partners in check. Working under hostile conditions does not promote good working environment.

    Stroock2017-11-02
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Staff Beware..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stroock for less than a year

    Pros

    You will meet smart people, as in most other Big Law situations. The contacts I made there were helpful in supporting me when I was trying to find other employment after what Stroock did to me...which leads me to the cons section.

    Cons

    Support staff beware. They recruited me out of a good situation with what was a better offer. They promised me longevity and job stability (that was one of my number 1 priorities). Less than year later, they let me go for lack of billable hours (and gave me a laughable severance package) even though everyone in the legal world knows that summertime is the slowest season. Not only that, they never even consulted the attorneys...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support staff is valuable and what management doesn't understand is that people are not meant to be working like slaves all year long. Biggest piece of advice is do a better job with your support staff before you lose all your talent and rightfully so.

    Stroock2017-05-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Help Desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stroock full-time

    Pros

    enjoyable, educational and promotional life learning teamwork

    Cons

    busy schedule, life interference, firm run around, constant study. unfriendly employees

    Stroock2017-03-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible place to work, HR treating staff like they are a dictatorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stroock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They are in the downtown area.

    Cons

    Human Resources needs training on how to approach and treat staff members. They ignore any complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to non-legal staff members.

    Stroock2017-03-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stroock full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are no positives at this firm.

    Cons

    Terrible place to work and most employees are looking to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Find a firm to save your ship

    Stroock2017-03-04
Found 33 reviews