Supercuts Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Supercuts CEO Hugh Sawyer
Hugh Sawyer
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "I started as a Stylist and was put through training to become more efficient(in 50 reviews)

  • "Training provided on haircuts and color(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not every stylist want to live up to expectations(in 92 reviews)

  • "It is the sweatpants and an old tee shirt of haircuts(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Vestavia Hills, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Retirement plan, paid vacation, health and dental.

    Cons

    Work late nights and weekends.

    Supercuts2020-04-25
  2. "The beginning of my growth as a beauty professional."

    4.0
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time

    Pros

    Team atmosphere, additional education, advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Only ment for an individual who enjoys staying busy.

    Supercuts2020-05-23
  3. "Exhausting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for practice and learning techniques. Building clientele. Decent pay. Tips.

    Cons

    Long hours, all about numbers, I feel like I am not appreciated by anyone higher up than my manager. No time off for family things. Walk in colors are rushed. Use crappy products.

    Supercuts2020-05-15
  4. "Supercut's hairstylist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Tylersville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable "start out" ( hourly) pay + tips: FYI Perfect for entry level employees! 1 vacation pay (1 week) Flexible with schedule Friendly environment of workers and clients Franchise owner promotes business and even bought stylist's business cards Team work Sometimes supplies pizza and snacks in the back for workers Cuts on both genders, colors, facial waxing, and styles: Perfect for experience if you don't know where to take your career and need to feel things out.

    Cons

    NO benefits besides 1 vacation pay Tips are half your income as hairstylist. Tips aren't always reliable/ consistent (warning). -> Work harder than what you feel you should have earned often Keeping stock of material gets behind, because roles aren't being met, or not enough rolls are brought in. Sometimes it feels like a booth rental (having to buy your own items). Sometimes you get no breaks, depending on the business. Certain services may be pushed onto you from other stylists, you have to be prepared to take that risk. Sometimes short staffed

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2020-04-22
  5. "Terrible experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Administrator in Media, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Supercuts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were honestly no pros to this job.

    Cons

    This job honestly made me depressed. I was hired as a part time employee as a Marketing Administrator but I was essentially at the lowest position. Management was very tough to deal with and I was constantly put down and it was a very unprofessional environment. This was a work from home job and even though i was part time, i found myself receiving emails past 10PM asking for materials and projects that same night. I was not compensated for this over time work and it became very frustrating. Another example of unprofessionalism in the company was when we received Christmas bonuses from the president, my boss texted me asking how much I received before I even opened up the check. Someone else also texted me who i assume she was talking to and the text read "Open it!!!!" this was uncomfortable and I assume they wanted to compare how much i got to how much they received. As mentioned in the beginning, the job made me very depressed and i went to therapy for a multitude of issues, this job being a huge contributing factor. I was also working on getting my MBA online, and it felt like they didn't support me going for an accelerated degree. I hope this experience doesn't happen to any other employee. I am a lot happier at my current job and working here showed me that Supercuts needs to work a lot on employer/employee relationships so everyone knows how to communicate effectively. Once my boss told me that she didn't even want to see my face anymore, thats when I knew I had to leave as soon as possible.

    Supercuts2020-05-25
  6. "Great days at supercuts"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to talk to different people Get to make people look and feel good

    Cons

    Long hours on feet with no break

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2020-03-30
  7. "Great for starting-out hairdresser"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Stylist/Manager 

    I worked at Supercuts full-time

    Pros

    steady paycheck, great way to build clientele

    Cons

    corporate is better than franchise

    Supercuts2020-05-05
  8. "Not the company it used to be"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Supercuts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cutting gets better,and education is great.

    Cons

    The pay is horrible,and usally management is clickish

    Supercuts2020-04-29
  9. "great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Salem, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Environment to work in

    Cons

    I do not have anything bad to say about this place

    Supercuts2020-03-23
  10. "Licensed Cosmetologist"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Cosmetologist in Grand Prairie, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salon is brand new and we pride ourselves on keeping the salon looking clean and sanitized. We care about the representation of the salon as well as everyone who steps into the door. The staff are great and they get along great. The atmosphere is genuine and authentic and very professional. The tools are updated and the vibe of the salon is lite and fun.

    Cons

    The work hours are different but there is always someone there.

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2020-03-19
Found 609 reviews