Talkdesk Reviews | Glassdoor

Talkdesk Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 251 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Talkdesk CEO Tiago Paiva
Tiago Paiva
222 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains but even large corporations have pains(in 12 reviews)

  • "The impact is that the sales team is slower in execution(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Lightning in a bottle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time

    Pros

    Incredible culture lead by an enthusiastic and supportive management team. This is one of those unicorn jobs with a company that is about to explode plus the teams and culture make it so much fun.

    Cons

    Be ready to run! This a fast moving environment and sometimes you need to take it upon yourself to make sure things get done.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture consistent. Talented people want to be part of Talkdesk because of the insanely cool culture. Please do not lose that magic.

    Talkdesk2019-03-28
  2. "LOVE Talkdesk - innovative solution, stellar CEO and amazing team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership team, great opportunities, the leading contact center platform for our innovative solution and new features added consistently, very passionate and hard-working employees

    Cons

    No 401k match but everything else is great

    Advice to Management

    Keep empowering and enabling your employees - the opportunities are fantastic!

    Talkdesk2019-08-04
  3. "Growing Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Operations Coordinator in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture, Work Life Balance, & Room for Growth.

    Cons

    Multiple locations make communication different than local companies.

    Talkdesk2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Toxic culture but some really good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Talkdesk is that you need a job. There are a few bright spots at the company - Sales Ops was run (until very recently) by an awesome VP of Operations and a team of very helpful, very knowledgeable folks who would bend over backward to help you. Lots of the sales folks and SDRs are awesome too, just good people who put in tons of effort and heart even when they get no thanks. The... Information Security team, especially the Director of Security, go out of their way to help the sales folks who need it.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company culture is extremely toxic and is only getting worse. I joined Talkdesk with high hopes. Shortly after joining I learned that the departments are very fragmented/siloed. The CEO, Tiago Paiva, micro-manages decisions throughout the company and will shoot things down for random reasons. Many managers are afraid to speak up to Tiago because he has a quick temper and flies off the handle any time he feels... like his "authority" is challenged. As a result, there's a constant effort to manage him and his perception of what's happening, with predictable results. His attitude has probably contributed the most to the steady stream of executives and senior leaders who have left over the last year (several in the last couple of months). If you're in sales, the management is inconsistent. There are some great leaders still on the sales teams, but going to the deal desk for help with a tricky sale is a game of Russian roulette. Tiago rules the roost there too but you're just as likely to get shot down by some flunky in the finance department who doesn't have a clue how to actually close a sale. Benefits are on the low side of average, the company doesn't match 401k (somebody kept asking about it at every all-hands meeting a while ago, but that stopped all of a sudden), and the stock option offers are just stupid. But hey, you can bring your cute widdle puppy to work and all the recruiting team will oooh and aaah over it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a CEO who actually has a clue how to run a company. Fire your finance team and find someone who will support your sales teams. Start encouraging candid feedback from your employees and help them make good decisions instead of decisions that won't make Tiago mad. Treat your employees like adults instead of idiot children.

    Talkdesk2019-08-18
  5. "Growing opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Growth potential. Awesome people and product to work with.

    Cons

    Health benefits if you have a family. Executive team infrastructure. Too many direct reports into CEO and other orgs. Could change tho as they go through this stage of hyper-growth

    Advice to Management

    Better health benefits (affordability) and find bigger office space for the team in Lehi

    Talkdesk2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is an amazing company full of amazing people. It has changed a lot over the years and right now it's the best place I have ever worked. Keep it going!

    Cons

    Even after a big round we still don't have all the perks that other companies in SF have. Not much has changed spending wise to be honest. I expected some more after the round.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in the office in SF. All the other offices are amazing and the SF one has not changed.

    Talkdesk2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growing fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talkdesk has so much room for growth and is a great place to start a career for recent graduates or people looking for a change. Office space and culture here is amazing. Everyone is very friendly and easy to collaborate with. Unlimited time off and very flexible if you need to work from home or oncall for the day. The work will keep you busy with little to no dull moments. Pay is really good.

    Cons

    No 401k yet but will definitely come.

    Talkdesk2019-05-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "You'll want to see where this company is at in two years..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work/life balance and super flexible... they get it. The pay is above average for the area. The culture is genuinely to the core instead of surface level, which honestly is the most important thing to me. The opportunity for growth is unbelievable. There are no empty promises when it comes to career path and guidance. The pace of innovation here is more intense than I have ever seen in tech space... We just raised $100 million in funding.. so...

    Show More

    Cons

    There always seems to be urgency, which can be good in the sense that you work your butt off, but sometimes super stressful. They could put more money back into their employees when it comes to promoting Talkdesk (nice swag, offsites, office space and desks, etc)

    Talkdesk2019-04-30
  9. "Poised for explosive growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great technology, great future vision

    Cons

    Need to make the transition from a small company mindset to a mid-sized company-processes need work

    Advice to Management

    Need a true C-Suite to really make the transition to the next level

    Talkdesk2019-04-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Growing, moving, shaking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Talkdesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We're kind of a big deal. We move fast. We have fun. We build innovative products (truly). We are just at the beginning of it all!

    Cons

    We need more amazing people who want to turn the industry on its head.

    Talkdesk2019-03-19
Found 251 reviews