KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Telmate

Is this your company?

Telmate

Add a Review

Telmate Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 of over 67 reviews

2.6
42%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Telmate CEO Richard Torgersrud (no image)
Richard Torgersrud
30 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I'm glad I came on board

    Aug 17, 2017 - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People. The people here are amazing. I have rarely met such a dedicated and devoted bunch of people in one place. Level of knowledge is very high and the willingness to learn and take on new challenges is ever present. Management listens to input from both above and below the current position. Perks, food several times a week, massage twice a week, a few other things, but in the end that is not what decides whether the place is a good work place or not. At the end of the day, it is a great place to work. I am excited to come to work every morning, I am excited to teach and learn from my colleagues. I really wish there were more companies like this.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any "cons". Like any other company there are things that could be improved. I don't think glass door is the place to air them. What I am thankful for is the fact that I can talk about any of these issues with the appropriate people without fear of being ignored or retribution, and those people listen. They actually listen.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Ehhh

    Feb 25, 2022 - Field Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I mean It was okay

    Cons

    Management sucked. Some pros and cons both

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Installation technician

    Jul 22, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Freedom, overtime, lunch, seeing new things

    Cons

    Too much travel, not enough pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall Perspective

    Apr 17, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall positive 'can do' company persona.

    Cons

    Expectations can be a bit inflated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Interesting Industry and Technologies, Subpar Salaries and Perk

    Sep 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool tech stack and opportunities to work with many technologies.

    Cons

    Disjointed management and some game playing with compensation.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good and Bad - Love the People

    Jul 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture. Love the people.

    Cons

    Overbearing top heavy management and non-motivating management practices affect the job every day. Yelling at people, demeaning them and exerting your power is not business savy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Massive positive transformation

    Jun 6, 2017 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As another reviewer noted I can only speak to my personal experience here at Telmate, but I must say first and foremost that it’s been extremely rewarding both personally and professionally. I know in the past there have been shady management requests for good reviews, but I’d like to state up front that I was not forced, coerced, encouraged or even asked to write a review. I’m not in management and I was never part of the hated in-crowd from past reviews. Though I was rarely personally affected, I do not deny that Telmate was previously plagued by many of the negative issues mentioned in other reviews. However, Telmate has been in *major* transition over the last 12 months and I’ve seen so many improvements that I couldn’t have even hoped for 2 years ago. The engineering department especially has done a 180 thanks largely to a major overhaul in leadership. When I started I was fortunate enough to be placed on a tight-knit, well-run team with an awesome manager and I think that made all the difference in my experience here in the early days. Now I would be happy to work on any engineering team - Telmate has a great bunch of smart, passionate and fun individuals. Not all our tech is sexy, but it is extremely diverse and offers many challenges and opportunities for learning, growth, and ownership. I’ve also found Telmate to be extremely family friendly. Some people work earlier or later hours to fit their family schedule. No one bats an eye if you need to pick up a sick kid from daycare or attend your child’s band recital. I have never been asked or expected to work weekends or late hours, or to sacrifice in any way my personal or family life. The worst I can say right now is that the current engineering management/leads are a little green and still working on how to become the perfectly-oiled machine that we’re all aiming for. The company recognizes this issue and is actively supporting these changes and the individuals working toward them. I have worked at Telmate for almost three years and I am still excited about my projects, my colleagues, and my career here. I greatly value the friendships and working partnerships I’ve formed at Telmate and I hope they will continue well into the future! * Talented and passionate individuals * Good camaraderie * Family friendly and flexible * 401K matching * Office location * Free food and drinks (and sometimes booze)

    Cons

    * Benefits are getting better but they're nothing to write home about * While newer management ramps up on how to mentor and coach you'll need to be more active in your own career development (though you should be active in that anyway...)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Telmate Response

    VP of Engineering / CTO

    Thank you for taking the time to write this candid review. I know it takes valuable time to write such a detailed review. I also want to let you know how much I appreciate getting feedback that you feel things are moving in a positive direction. We have invested a lot of time and energy towards this improvement and it is very rewarding to know the effects are being felt by the employees. I also want to let you know that I feel we still have a lot of room to improve and we will not stop investing in making this an amazing place to work. Thank you for being part of the team.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    You can trust those reviews

    Jun 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice views from the office.

    Cons

    I saw all those reviews, and thought that I could make a difference. Those negative reviews don't lie. The company is a mess.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Telmate Response

    VP of Engineering / CTO

    I want to apologize if your experience working at Telmate was not positive. I notice that you are a former employee. There were certainly a number of areas that needed improvement here and we have been working hard to rectify those over the last 18 months. I always welcome specific negative feedback so that I can work toward improving any deficiencies that we may have.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Could it get any worse?

    May 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The technology. The location of the office.

    Cons

    Crazy place. Nepotism. Favoritism. Back-stabbing. Lack of direction. Lack of consistency. Lack of caring. There are a few people that are in tight. The rest...watch your step and your back as you run out the door.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    My Experience in the Company

    Feb 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I realize that some may think that a five-star overall rating is extreme. As indicated by my review title, I'm going to focus on my current personal experience in the company. From my perspective, I'm having a five-star experience. I love the work I'm doing and the people I work with. Many co-workers have become good friends. I've been able to work on some fairly advanced technology and have learned a lot. I've been able to create opportunities for myself and succeed on those projects. The physical work environment, to me, is excellent, as many of the reviews of Telmate have commented. My work/life balance is good. I work hard but have ample time for my private life. The culture and values of the company are in transition. From my perspective, we're headed in the right direction. There's good camaraderie in the office and at off-site gatherings.

    Cons

    I don't think of this as a negative, although some might ... that is, at times, it's necessary to figure out our my way to grow and learn professionally. Telmate uses quite a large array of technologies, so there's a lot of opportunities to learn new things and advance my knowledge.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Telmate Response

    VP of Engineering / CTO

    Thank you for your feedback about your experience working at Telmate. We value all feedback, both positive and negative. I appreciate that you mention that this feedback is specific directly to your experience and understand that other people might have different experiences. I also agree that we are in a positive transition period. I am glad to see that the hard work and dedication of Telmate's employees is paying off. Transparency is an important value to me. I will continue to put in place process and work on a culture that embraces transparency.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 Reviews

Telmate Reviews FAQs

Telmate has an overall rating of 2.6 out of 5, based on over 67 reviews left anonymously by employees. 42% of employees would recommend working at Telmate to a friend and 38% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Telmate employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Telmate. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

42% of Telmate employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Telmate 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.6 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Telmate to be benefits, career development, coworkers and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Work at Telmate? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Telmate Photos

+ Add Photo
Telmate photo of: Come for the View. Stay for the Vision.
Telmate photo of: Telmate softball - batter up!
Telmate photo of: Go #TeamTelmate softball
Telmate photo of: The Telmate softball team!
Telmate photo of: Team Yellow WON the 2nd Annual Telmate Office Olympics - YAY
Telmate photo of: 2017 2nd Annual Telamate Office Olympics - Nerf Gun Darts competition
Telmate photo of: The Telmate characters as food
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Telmate Job Seekers Also Viewed

Switchfly Logo
Switchfly

3.9

71 Reviews
Compare