Telmate Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 65 reviews

2.5
40%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Telmate CEO Richard Torgersrud (no image)
Richard Torgersrud
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "free food a couple days a week :(in 8 reviews)

  • "They offer very good perks, every day in a week has something for the employees like BreakFast, massage, desserts , lunches and so on(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Employees are not part of the profit sharing even though it is in start up mode and no bonuses(in 4 reviews)

  • "junior members who have been at the company a while have so much power they are pushing out middle managers or those with more experience who are new(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I'm glad I came on board

      Aug 17, 2017 - Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People. The people here are amazing. I have rarely met such a dedicated and devoted bunch of people in one place. Level of knowledge is very high and the willingness to learn and take on new challenges is ever present. Management listens to input from both above and below the current position. Perks, food several times a week, massage twice a week, a few other things, but in the end that is not what decides whether the place is a good work place or not. At the end of the day, it is a great place to work. I am excited to come to work every morning, I am excited to teach and learn from my colleagues. I really wish there were more companies like this.

      Cons

      I can't really think of any "cons". Like any other company there are things that could be improved. I don't think glass door is the place to air them. What I am thankful for is the fact that I can talk about any of these issues with the appropriate people without fear of being ignored or retribution, and those people listen. They actually listen.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A Great Place to Grow

      May 11, 2016 - User Experience/Visual Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Telmate has allowed me to pursue my career in a way most other companies wouldn't. They recognize intelligence and talent and give their employees the space to grow in their field. I have been extremely fortunate to have several excellent mentors and bosses in my several years at the company. I've also been lucky to work with many coworkers who truly care about our customers and about building better products for an often overlooked and underserved population. Things other reviewers mentioned about the leadership may have had some validity at one time, but the tides are shifting. Process is being implemented, improvements are being made. The time when a company shift from start-up to mid-size is always a bit rocky, but changes made in the last year or so give me confidence that Telmate is moving in a great direction.

      Cons

      No place is perfect, not everyone fits in everywhere and not every path to success is smooth. I know these sound like clichés but they are true. If you left here disgruntled, chances are you don't have the sunniest outlook on this company. But prospective candidates should take that with a grain of salt. There are always bad hires, there is always political drama, no matter how well-run a company is.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I can't think of a place I'd rather work! People, Creativity, Industry! This place is great!

      Feb 22, 2016 - Director of Marketing Director of Marketing in La Jolla, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For me there are a tone of PROS to working at Telmate but if I had to pick my top three it would be: 1. The people - they are smart, experienced and authentic. I seriously like and respect the people I work with and that is amazing. We have fun doing good work, which to me is a gift. 2. The industry - this is a fascinating industry and a chance to make a real difference in people's lives. 3. The work - I love being at a company with enough resources to get it done, but with enough flexibility to be nimble and creative. This is a perfect time to join or be at this company.

      Cons

      To be honest, I'm not seeing a "con" at the moment. Sure nothing is perfect, and this is "work", but overall after 25 years of different professional experiences this is a great company and a great group of people that continue to make me proud to be on this team. Maybe if you like a "set in stone" corporate structure this isn't for you. But if you like movement, innovation and challenges this is where it's at.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I liked it. Your mileage may vary.

      May 30, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      .-Great office with fantastic views. Everyone mentions this, and with good reason: it's impressive. Free food is nice also. -Technology-focused company, and nearly a full Apple shop. During my time at Telmate, I never wanted for any hardware or software I needed to do my job. -Generous medical benefits and PTO. In the past the company's dental coverage was lacking, but that has improved.

      Cons

      -High turnover, due in large part to toxic leadership. My manager was fantastic, but the accounts I heard from countless others of their mistreatment by management were shocking. -Long-time employees, even those in non-management roles, have too much influence. -There's an appalling lack of professionalism and good hygiene among some IT staff. The company has difficulty attracting and retaining software engineers, so the ones that do stay are free to run wild, leaving disgusting messes throughout the office, including in conference rooms. Adults acting like children and refusing to clean up after themselves creates extra work for everyone and shouldn't be tolerated, but it is.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work at with general growing pains to accommodate fast growth.

      Jun 23, 2014 - Technology in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People here are enjoyable to work with in an open environment - smart, innovative, hardworking, friendly. Very unique market and several technology solutions (both hardware and software - web and mobile) around this particular market ends up being very challenging but exciting. Dedicated to Scrum including company sprint demos to show the teams' work Remodeled office with great meeting room views. Reviews and adjustments every 6 months. Catered breakfast/dinners certain days / separate kitchen eating or rec area Massage sessions twice a month. Company team building events. Hosted Meetups on upcoming technologies. Brown Bag technical lunch sessions. Opportunities for IT related professional training/conference attendance.

      Cons

      General growing pains to accommodate fast company growth - adjustments to new people and potential new teams as more people come on board - adjusting to dynamics of new teams/new people takes time. Private company, no stock options. Although innovative technologies are great - it's sometimes the Wild West when introducing new technologies, more standardization or leadership needed to avoid any potential technical debt.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      No bueno

      Jul 29, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Handful of good people here that are trying to do great things, but are up against some challenges that might be too big for them. They truly are not only talented and bring good experience, but they clearly have a soul if they can put up with the corruption that goes on here.

      Cons

      I've been propositioned by 2 senior leaders (who are married)...this is the weirdest thing. It makes me wonder if they are in cahoots. I've never in my entire career experienced anything more unprofessional. There are changes that are allegedly being made and sure, there have been some small updates. Most of it is smoke and mirrors. Our managers that lack experience aren't retaining anything they learn from training. it's just a huge waste of time and so very disappointing to keep the same people and try to teach them how to lead. We need new people. Trying to teach these old dogs new tricks just isn't working. And unfortunately, the company is having a hard time letting them go because of the gross nepotism. Are these leaders delusional or do they just not care about the overall business?

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Telmate Response

      Dear Anonymous Employee, On behalf of Telmate, I apologize for the behavior of the two senior leaders that you describe in your post. Telmate is committed to a work environment in which all individuals are treated with respect and dignity. Each individual has the right to work in a professional atmosphere that promotes equal employment opportunities and prohibits unlawful discriminatory practice, including harassment and abusive conduct. If any senior leader or other employee is engaging in harassment or abusive conduct, or is acting unprofessional toward you in any way, I encourage you to reach out to a member of the HR team. I promise you the discussion will be confidential to the greatest extent possible, and that appropriate action will be taken, including additional training or adverse employment actions for any person who violates Telmate’s harassment policy. Respectfully, Human Resources

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      My Experience in the Company

      Feb 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I realize that some may think that a five-star overall rating is extreme. As indicated by my review title, I'm going to focus on my current personal experience in the company. From my perspective, I'm having a five-star experience. I love the work I'm doing and the people I work with. Many co-workers have become good friends. I've been able to work on some fairly advanced technology and have learned a lot. I've been able to create opportunities for myself and succeed on those projects. The physical work environment, to me, is excellent, as many of the reviews of Telmate have commented. My work/life balance is good. I work hard but have ample time for my private life. The culture and values of the company are in transition. From my perspective, we're headed in the right direction. There's good camaraderie in the office and at off-site gatherings.

      Cons

      I don't think of this as a negative, although some might ... that is, at times, it's necessary to figure out our my way to grow and learn professionally. Telmate uses quite a large array of technologies, so there's a lot of opportunities to learn new things and advance my knowledge.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Telmate Response

      VP of Engineering / CTO

      Thank you for your feedback about your experience working at Telmate. We value all feedback, both positive and negative. I appreciate that you mention that this feedback is specific directly to your experience and understand that other people might have different experiences. I also agree that we are in a positive transition period. I am glad to see that the hard work and dedication of Telmate's employees is paying off. Transparency is an important value to me. I will continue to put in place process and work on a culture that embraces transparency.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good growth for junior members

      Jul 18, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Food! Views! Great opportunities for jr members or anyone willing to to put the effort in to make great change at a company with a lot of strong personalities and people with great influence due to their tenure

      Cons

      We're really trying to push for more senior members. It is desperately needed as we've struggled to grow over the past couple years because we have a lot of jr folks (less than 3-4 years of experience). Anyone mid-level that is brought in struggles to stay because junior members do have a lot of power as we've worked very closely with leadership/sr leaders and these leaders find it hard to let go of the trust they've built in these jr members - especially since most don't know what they're doing. It's hard to balance career goals as a junior member of the team when our leadership doesn't even trust all the people on the team or when they are bringing down morale with their approach/attitudes.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Telmate Response

      VP of Engineering / CTO

      Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of the company. I appreciate some of the specific items that you mention. I would like to address a few of the items, which you mentioned: 1. Yes, we are making it a priority to focus our hiring on more senior employees with specific skills related to our needs. We have been making some good progress in this area, but we still have room to improve. 2. I agree that it would not be appropriate for a manager to talk negatively about one of your peers. I will make sure to address this at our next company manager meeting. 3. If an employee is not performing up to job expectations, we should determine why that is the case. We can either train the employee or replace the employee with someone with the appropriate skills. It is not fair to you to take on the extra burden. 4. I am not completely sure with your comments on Jr. members having "power." I would like to understand this more.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      BIG mistake working for this company

      Jul 1, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      convenient location, very central and near everything

      Cons

      This company is a joke. Leaders here wing it and take it one day at time when they should be looking at the big picture and guiding our roadmap. Coming here felt like going to a playground where everyone was running free and not being productive, & making inappropriate comments (sexual/derogatory). Some of the managers think that being productive just means doing stuff, but we all know that isn't true. Most of them lack the skills and experience to lead their department. They think that just because they have been working for 20+ years that means they can run a department--FALSE! -Analytics team hides and manipulates their numbers. -Product team is a mess and isnt prioritizing efficiently. -Marketing has no clue what they are doing and are in their own world of promoting stuff we didn't have -- they proudly called themselves "smoke and mirrors" -- I think that speaks for itself, it's not very positive. -Customer service team is a joke. We get so much hate from customers and we don't care, nothing happens. I don't even understand how we are still in business. -HR is OK, I never really had any issues or negative experiences with them. -selling products we don't have -not addressing customer needs honestly -emotional leaders who let their egos run the show because they don't have what it takes to own up to the fact they are clueless and shouldn't even be in their role

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Looks great on the outside, but needs to trust its leaders

      Apr 7, 2015 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great technology. Cool industry. Fantastic co-workers. Interesting challenges.

      Cons

      The two founders/owners made themselves CEO and President, rather than what their skills truly lend them to be, Head of Engineering and Head of Sales respectively. They are good people, but not good executives or good at running a company. Decision making is bottle-necked as all decisions must go through them or the wife of one of the founders.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

    Work at Telmate? Share Your Experiences

    Telmate logo
    or