KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Totango

Is this your company?

Totango

Add a Review

Totango Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Totango CEO & Co-Founder Guy Nirpaz (no image)
Guy Nirpaz
17 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Totango is on to something

    Feb 21, 2019 - Product Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Totango is riding on a high. The high of having deployed the largest CS project in Enterprise history in record time!The excitement is palpable! Fairly flat management structure with freedom to perform and execute. Good mix of young blood with solid enterprise veterans. Everyone is treated with respect and lots of characters to always have fun! 2019 and 2020 will be defining years! Key hires are in place to take the company to new heights!

    Cons

    None really! I sincerely feel the company is being a bit conservative. We need to ride the high and grab market share more aggressively since the competition is clearly all hype and no substance!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don’t be fooled. Join at your own risk.

    Feb 2, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Location and subsidized Crunch Fitness membership.

    Cons

    I typically do not write negative reviews but I feel that prospective employees need to know what’s really happening at Totango. To put it bluntly, this is the worst place I’ve ever worked at. Executive team always “knows it all” and is “led” by a control freak CEO. No accountability from the top makes goal setting and planning a joke. Plenty of baiting and switching on promises made to employees. The executive team fosters a hostile work environment. There is zero focus on creating a positive employee culture. Morale is poor and employee turnover is high. Everyone is looking for the exits. As a previous Glassdoor reviewer mentioned, be wary of positive Glassdoor reviews. See LinkedIn for how many people have left before their 1-year mark. Despite this, management refuses to make appropriate changes. There are no full-time HR resources. If you have any HR-related issues (of which there are many), you are at the mercy of management. Poor communication. Zero trust or transparency. The office facility is in poor shape. The office carpet is stained and ripped. Cords and wires run all over the place. The furniture is uncomfortable and cheap. There is no privacy to take calls or meetings. This is not a company willing to invest in a working environment designed to bring out the best from their employees.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful

    Totango Response

    Head of People Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment so we appreciate your insights on where we can improve. It is disappointing to hear that you didn't get the help that you needed from our HR department. We want to make sure all employees feel valued and recognized for their passion and dedication to Totango. We are actively working to improve and hope you get a chance to see our progress a few months from now, including our new office! If you are open to sharing confidential feedback, ping me at deborah@totango.com.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great product, but culture and retention need improvement

    Feb 29, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall, Totango’s product is fantastic and their mission to help business’ customers be successful is a compelling reason to be in business. Customers and SaaS professionals alike are interested in the growing CS space and it’s nice to be recognized as an important contributor to the industry. There's a constant flow of product updates so there's always something exciting to talk about or something on the roadmap to excite customers and prospects alike. Benefits are top-notch for yourself, spouse/partner and children alike. 3 weeks vacation, FSA and a 401k match- fantastic for a startup!

    Cons

    There is little to no focus on culture or employee retention. The CEO places the responsibility of people leaving for other opportunities squarely on the Office Manager’s shoulders when typically culture/retention efforts are a top-down initiative. There’s so many great people who work day in and day out to make the company successful and there’s very little recognition or even so much as a pat on the back for significant accomplishments. Turnover is high with employees leaving for other opportunities before hitting the 1 year mark. Be wary of the positive reviews on GD- check LinkedIn to see just how many people no longer work there. Self-imposed red tape at many levels and departments slows down the business and it sometimes takes a long time to get simple tasks accomplished. There is also a huge lack of transparency from management to employees which is atypical for startups in silicon valley.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Firing on all cylinders

    Dec 27, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is seriously the most caring company I've ever worked for, not just in the Valley, but period. The benefits are very good, the vacation time is generous and PAID (not the lame "unlimited" scam many places try), the people genuinely care, and upper management seems very open to new ideas. I've only been here a short time and have already seen multiple opportunities for advancement present themselves. We also have the best product in a hot space - Q4 numbers prove it!

    Cons

    To avoid sounding like a recruiter wrote this, I spent some serious time trying to come up with a few things to put on the "Cons" list. What I came up with is the typical "things change a lot" complaint that could be applied at pretty much any startup. I'll go with this as well; management is forgiving and patient to a fault (which goes back to the top of the"Pros" list). However, there are some people who are not in the right job and need to "shape up or ship out." We also need to do more team-building and fun social events!

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Success Across the Board

    Apr 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Totango is leading the way in the booming customer success segment and the feeling of working with a team doing such amazing work is electric. Each day is filled with new rewarding challenges so you won't find a single person through all departments merely floating by. We're all aligned in one common goal doing the best work of our careers, built on the foundation of a remarkable leadership team. The office in San Mateo is truly a great place to be. Food/snacks, amenities, decor, and overall vibe are what you would expect from a mature Silicon Valley startup. Best of all, the mix of such driven, intelligent, and passionate personalities ensures there's never a dull day.

    Cons

    Perhaps the water pressure in the restroom sinks could be a little higher? I'm scratching my head wondering what to write here. Had this been a drop-down menu instead of fill in, I would have to select "N/A."

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing culture, fast and smart team and great product

    Oct 18, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has invented the customer success technology space and has developed a solid innovative product. They move fast, innovate fast, grow fast - a true amazing startup with a really incredible diverse team. The management team is solid - experienced across many previous companies they built. The CEO is an incredible guy, hard working and super smart - and kind - letting individual teams make decisions and go forward with their projects. Incredible engineering and client facing teams make it even easier to innovate and listen to customers.

    Cons

    This is not for everyone. If you are not used to a high paced environment, if you need babysitting, if you are not confident and hard working, if you are weak and not an expert in your domain - then this is not the right culture for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Place to Work

    Feb 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun environment of mutual respect across departments, up and down the ladders. There's a clear sense of purpose and organizational alignment, with the customer's best interests the whole company's focal point. It's a great group of people. Work-life balance is reasonable. We all kick in when we need to, but for the most part, the team is able to check out on nights and weekends. If you need to work from home because you have a doctor's appointment in the afternoon, it's not a problem.

    Cons

    Typical growing pains from a maturing company. Culture, training, and process are not clearly defined, but we're getting there.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Product, Management Issues Persist

    Oct 30, 2015 -  in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Totango is a solid technology start-up with a great product and lots of hard working people getting things done. I enjoy my time with my coworkers. Lunch twice a week and always having a full fridge of healthy food/drink options is a great perk.

    Cons

    Leadership is disconnected with line level employees. Lots of decisions seem to come out of nowhere and not very collaborative. Good people are leaving and no one is taking time to really evaluate why. It is annoying to have them dismissed by management as 'not cutting it' or a 'good thing' when there is lots of room for improvement by the management to retain quality people and create a culture of collaboration. Personally I don't feel there is a lot of career path discussions. Yearly reviews seem to be rare and not a priority.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Strong leadership, amazing growth opportunity

    Oct 24, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brilliant team of people working on a smart product. Constantly challenging and moves at a fast pace. Lots of growth means plenty of opportunity to pick up and help with projects, building, learning, etc. Individual contribution has a significant impact and is immediately felt. Culturally diverse workforce with a lot of character. Fridge is stocked with beer and cake.

    Cons

    Like any early stage company, it is a constant hustle. Not a good place for someone looking to clock in and out 9-5. Cake in the fridge is a constant distraction.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best place to work

    Dec 9, 2015 -  in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Totango is the first place I have worked where feedback from the team is truly valued. While not all feedback is incorporated into decisions, it is all heard and weighed carefully.

    Cons

    The environment is strongly influenced by fast growth so you need to keep your shoes tied in order to keeping pace with the rest of them.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Popular Careers with Totango Job Seekers

Senior Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Senior Backend Software Engineer
Learn About the Job

Work at Totango? Share Your Experiences

Totango logo
or