True Value Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
True Value CEO John Hartmann (no image)
John Hartmann
101 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Change is the new culture"

    4.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at True Value full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small enough company to navigate and the company is ready for change

    Cons

    Limited size does create career path challenges, but the company has done a great job of addressing this limitation where they can.

    True Value2020-01-13

    True Value Response

    March 11, 2020Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we sincerely appreciate your feedback! At True Value, we take the initiative to create a robust company culture, while providing our associates opportunities to grow and develop. Please speak to your manager or HR representative to address any concerns you may have about your career path here. Thank you for all that you do as we continue to think differently and accelerate together.

  2. "I loved the customers and I learned lots"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Fruita, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at True Value part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was festive with new holidays then grow season.

    Cons

    Bad weather makes grouchy customers

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-03-25
  3. "Lives by their values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at True Value full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management team - extremely supportive and always willing to assist. TV gives me the tools to be successful in my position and I appreciate the structure they have created. Compensation and Benefits programs are extremely competitive. Truly, a great group of people.

    Cons

    Currently experiencing some growing pains in distribution, however it is being addressed and I have confidence it will be resolved.

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-05-29
  4. "Good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Harvard, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at True Value full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay with good people.

    Cons

    The hours fluctuated a lot

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-05-01
  5. "Unprofessional"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at True Value part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and bad pay

    Cons

    Mean personnel and good personnel

    True Value2020-05-11
  6. "Was promising, now slipping. Mgmt lacks vision."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at True Value full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people and culture of valuing retailers and communities but that is eroding. Some respect for work/life balance, but that is also fading.

    Cons

    No vision or leadership around technology. Fragmented approach to information management, hamstrung by a CFO who resists investment in tech and listens to arrogant dinosaurs who fear change. Ludicrous inefficiencies in business processes, ticketing, project management, and information accessibility and management. Still using mainframe data structure in 2020. Management is absolutely willing to and is sacrificing employees for the bottom line. No paths for advancement for younger talent. Promising young managers continue to leave for other companies due to the lack of opportunities other than waiting for managers to die. "Culture of accountability" doesn't apply to senior management.

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-04-30
  7. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at True Value full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, nice, clever, working hard

    Cons

    No Cons at all from No Cons

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-04-27
  8. "Average First Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Greenhouse Worker in Shawano, WI
    Recommends

    I worked at True Value full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fairly nice coworkers and customers Scheduled for a month at a time

    Cons

    Minimum training for actual position Complaints are not always taken seriously

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-04-10
  9. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network and Computer Systems Administrator in Allentown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at True Value full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    5 weeks PTO after you put your time in.

    Cons

    Low pay, union environment is tricky

    Continue reading
    True Value2020-02-16
  10. "Bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics in Woodland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at True Value full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *work was straightforward *Allowed to plan and execute projects

    Cons

    *Managers have poor communication and leads to unnecessary issues

    True Value2020-02-11
Found 297 reviews