Truven Health Analytics Reviews | Glassdoor

Truven Health Analytics Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 290 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Truven Health Analytics CEO Mike Boswood (no image)
Mike Boswood
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This company was acquired by IBM watson health and management does not follow neither Truven rules nor(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance on implementations is not good(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development 

    I have been working at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome, lots of fun. Generious

    Cons

    New member onboarding could use some more training.

    Truven Health Analytics2018-12-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Company Behind the Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, snacks, generous PTO, a couple of great colleagues, staff is overall hard-working

    Cons

    Low pay, no travel, stagnating growth, staff members complain to HR about frivolous things, too many senior managers that add little value, the AA office is so busy worrying about their jobs and changes in the tech industry that they try to keep everything the same (fear based culture), internal technology issues can make work tough to get done, day to day work is inundated with processes, no career growth - even... the favorites have been doing the same thing for 7-10 years, largely bureaucratic and "stay in your swim lane" culture, lack of inspiring or interesting work leads many to just coast and be complacent, constant fear of layoffs and likely that IBM proper is in the process of disbanding many of the groups that still remain in tact from legacy Truven

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior management has proven year over year to not produce, yet they continue to stay in their posts. Until management leans out and product lines become strategic, it is unlikely that there will be an increase in revenue. Company in desperate need of young, fresh ideas. Teams spend massive amounts of time on unprofitable projects, making it clear that there are too many employees for workload.

    Truven Health Analytics2019-09-12
  3. "Worked at Truven for over 10 years in payer side."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most employees are dedicated and work hard. Time off and flexible work from home schedule.

    Cons

    Very little process standards and controls.

    Truven Health Analytics2019-08-13
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Worst Career Decision I Ever Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can honestly say that my direct manager while at this company became a true mentor of mine and profoundly impacted my career development. So, there are some cool people within the organization. But this is only a testament to the character of some individuals, not the company itself. If anything, the company impeded my manager from having a bigger influence.

    Cons

    Very old-school management culture. Right from the start I heard about people getting pulled into offices and yelled at for minor miscommunications and failure to meet unrealistic delivery expectations. Turned out this was true, and the same happened to me a few months later. After getting acquired by IBM, things went sideways. My team spent over a year building a product while having no connection to user needs,... no understanding of the purpose of our work, and no customers from whom to solicit feedback. We were haphazardly paired up with teams in other countries whenever it felt like we were "behind", which of course only lead to difficult patterns of communication and much swirl. Orders were thrown at us by an astoundingly incompetent enterprise architect who in an email described my team as "kids to be kept in line" (this gives insight to the mindset of the organization). Eventually my team and many others were simply laid off because, of course, no one was buying the useless products we were wasting time building. Naturally, none of the architects of the disaster (veteran employees and senior management) were dismissed in that wave. I would not recommend this company to anyone. Stay far away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Zero point in even putting anything here as it will not be read, and if read, not understood, and if understood, not acted upon.

    Truven Health Analytics2019-07-12
  5. "Adequate job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility is a clear benefit.

    Cons

    The pay could be better.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to management.

    Truven Health Analytics2019-04-24
  6. Helpful (7)

    "This ship is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really don't know if there was a single pro about working here.

    Cons

    Where to begin?! - Pay is typically below average. - Benefits are just okay. - The culture is abysmal. - Management is inept and lazy. - This place is hemorrhaging clients and good talent.

    Advice to Management

    Good advice is something that management doesn't care to consider

    Truven Health Analytics2019-04-03
  7. Helpful (5)

    "dumpster fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Knowledge SME 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Truven Health Analytics full-time

    Pros

    the office layout is great, nice breakout and "phone booth" spaces

    Cons

    -the company can't keep SME's in any business area -IBM doesn't understand health care, each year fires several million dollars of resources (that's how they see staff) -folks left don't care about anything more than covering their tails -senior execs are doing nothing to grow the company or protect current clients, they simply are trying to hang on until their stock or similar exec benefit vests

    Advice to Management

    keep on pretending things are fine, it has worked for you so far

    Truven Health Analytics2019-03-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Too Much Flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truven Health Analytics full-time

    Pros

    Great Team; Nice Office Setting

    Cons

    Terrible Management; No support or mentoring; weird priorities

    Advice to Management

    Have managers reviewed by staff

    Truven Health Analytics2019-01-27
  9. "A great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Flexible timings Empowerment

    Cons

    Slow Career Growth No Onsite Travel Opportunities

    Truven Health Analytics2019-01-06
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Manager in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truven Health Analytics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of unless you really need a job.

    Cons

    High stress environment with mediocre benefits package. Raises hardly kept up with inflation. Then IBM bought us and the bottom fell out after that. Lower to middle management is only interested in covering their own rear ends and not in helping new hires succeed. Since many of the software tools are proprietary, the learning curve is tremendously steep.

    Advice to Management

    Take ownership and responsibility since your success depends on that of your subordinates.

    Truven Health Analytics2018-11-23
Found 290 reviews