UC Riverside Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
UC Riverside Chancellor Kim A. Wilcox
Kim A. Wilcox
261 Ratings
Pros
  • "Clean and professional work environment(in 59 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours with Student Schedule(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Something that is a necessity for graduate students(in 19 reviews)

  • "Pretty low pay for the work that is actually required to be a good instructor(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of UC Riverside and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Apr 28, 2021 - Graduate Student 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice schcool with covet location

      Cons

      not so good weather, very hot

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Benefits and Professors

      Apr 22, 2021 - Teacher's Assistant in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits Help with Tuition Working with Good Professors and Getting to learn their lecture material Visible impact University is constantly acting in our best interests (help with Covid needs, help transitioning to remote work etc.)

      Cons

      Hours can depend a lot on the professor you work for Busy during your own exam times Sometimes lack of student effort is frustrating A lot of reading really similar work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Realities of a Teaching assistant

      May 7, 2021 - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Union has surprisingly good benefits: Health insurance, child care , maternity/paternity leave, and protections More departments advocate for TA/ Grad student rights

      Cons

      Absolutely no job security once you’re off contact. Positions are becoming increasingly limited with Covid and accepting more students. You always end up working more than you should. Pay is only 9 months out of the year. Pay attention to the union

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Depends if discussion or lab

      Apr 27, 2021 - Teaching Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When TAing discussion sections the workload is reasonable and good pay. Also besides the salary you get your tuition waived

      Cons

      If TAing lab there tends to be a lot of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Graduate Student-

      May 10, 2021 - Graduate Student 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great graduate research community. Overall good support, facilities, and teaching for grads.

      Cons

      Dated research focus. Needs improve diversity within grad community and faculty.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Apr 27, 2021 - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers, great opportunity to gain experience!

      Cons

      Not too many honestly. Dealing wiht undergrads is fun but can be tiresome.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Research Experience pays off after Graduation, but expect your sanity to get wrecked

      May 9, 2021 - Undergraduate Researcher in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Experience, networking, communication skills, planning

      Cons

      Your mental health gets ruined

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great coworkers, ok supervisors.

      Mar 13, 2021 - Student Assistant Mail Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coworkers (part time students and full time staff) that worked in the building with me were great, easy work, happy environment

      Cons

      Head supervisors that worked in business services were out of touch. Weird office politics above my paygrade. Head office passed up people with experience & promoted people in other departments with no mail experience to head of mail while overlooking supervisors with 20 yrs of experience. Brown-nosing got people places.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Calm & Peaceful

      Apr 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I truly enjoyed my experience at UC Riverside. Due to the size of my department, we had the opportunity to get to know one another on a personal level. Building a positive bond made it extremely enjoyable to come to work. In addition, my leaders set realistic and clear goals. I never felt that I was under supported in the worked that was asked of me, nor the expectations that were placed on me.

      Cons

      The only thing I disliked about my experience was having to pay for parking.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work environment

      May 4, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant in Riverside, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good location, close to LA and Irvine. Less populated and less traffic area

      Cons

      Very hot weather in summer. Less industry, so less job opportunity

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,011 Reviews

    Popular Careers with UC Riverside Job Seekers

    Assistant Professor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    High School Admissions Counselor
    Learn About the Job
    Public Education Specialist II
    Learn About the Job

    Work at UC Riverside? Share Your Experiences

    or