University Health System Reviews | Glassdoor

University Health System Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 146 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
George B Hernández Jr.
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, Flexible staff, Great Opportunity(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great team members, good benefits, wonderful managers, perfect place to start a career(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management does not share their plan or vision for the future(in 5 reviews)

  • "Old system, long process and procedures to get tasks accomplished, not enough employee empowerment, and room for advancement seems slim(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Health Benefits, Competitive pay (especially for experienced RN's), lots of room to move for Nurses wanting to advance to FNP or just advance within the system as an RN.

    Cons

    Level 1 Trauma Center. At capacity most of the time. Busy place to work.

    University Health System2019-04-22
  2. "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at University Health System full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    Lower pay, than other systems but benefits more than make up for the pay deficit

    University Health System2019-04-21
  3. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Epic Principal Trainer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits package is only thing good about this place.

    Cons

    Lead Trainer (Boss) has favorites within the group and she also has spies. She only listens to them and does not care about your side of things. When you are a new employee training is null. You get no training to help you do your job. If you can not perform at 100% on your first day she will fire you. Promotions are only for their favorite. I felt overwhelmed and cried and every one just looked at me and kept walking.

    Advice to Management

    Training lead should not be in the position she is in.

    University Health System2019-05-17
  4. "Microbiology Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microbiology Scientist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team members, good benefits, wonderful managers, perfect place to start a career

    Cons

    Low paying compared to other hospitals.

    Advice to Management

    Advocate for your employees for better pay.

    University Health System2019-04-06
  5. "Lvn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at University Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension, benefits, networking to other medical specialty jobs

    Cons

    Pay wasn't ideal but I learned a lot as entry level nurse.

    University Health System2019-04-05
  6. "Favoritism obvious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at University Health System full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the RBG clinic in Ambulatory & Family Medicine. Benefits & as a first job experience, but that's about it.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, training period very short, FAVORITISM obvious. You can climb the ladder if you brown nose the right admin., coworkers rude & are not helpful. Employees are out to climb the ladder & will do anything to get there at your expense.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house and stop this practice of "who you know & not what you know".

    University Health System2019-03-20
  7. "HR is 15 years behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at University Health System full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some of the kindest people you'll ever meet! - Lots of new buildings means beautiful up-to-date workspaces. - If you stay long enough, you'll be promoted eventually (regardless of your skill).

    Cons

    - System is very slow and full of red tape. - Computers and computer systems are all about 10 years out of date. - HR is painfully behind the curve and don't seem to understand most job descriptions or which skills are considered coveted in today's landscape. - Benefits (aside from health benefits) generally are not great, and wages across the board are too low unless you are Executive Director level. - Outdated system...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    $10 gift cards are not a viable employee recognition program. Try giving better raises and promotions for good work, and more good workers will come to you. Also, research current job landscape and salaries - you are underpaying pretty much everyone who isn't a physician.

    University Health System2019-03-05
  8. "Fantastic place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at University Health System full-time

      Pros

      I work with a fantastic group. Our turnaround time is impeccable. My Director is reasonable with PTO request. He is also very proactive by working on future expectations that he predicts will be asked of us in the near future.

      Cons

      The only thing I can think of is that this is a big organization and sometimes communication can be an issue. This is something that they are working on by offering Town halls, providing email and paper newsletters, email communication, and huddles. It is a work in progress that I believe has improved during the time I have been there and will get even better.

      University Health System2019-01-10
    • "No work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Antonio, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at University Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good health insurance and great place to learn. Pay was competitive.

      Cons

      No work life balance. I received phone calls from leadership at all hours of the day and on weekends. CEO is no longer there but he was very corrupt.

      Advice to Management

      Treat hard working employees with respect instead of piling more work on them.

      University Health System2019-01-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Phlebotomist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Phlebotomist in San Antonio, TX

      I have been working at University Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits. Customer service for benefits assistance is great and informative. You have to have a reference from your PCP but it's worth the hassle. Management worked with my inflexible schedule when I was a student and as soon as I graduated they hired me full time. PTO is great. Management has been wonderful at all locations I've worked for.

      Cons

      I've noticed a bit of favoritism at some locations but for the most part if you get the job done you're valuable and appreciated. The training process is too short and not enough staff are qualified to train properly. If done by the book, it is a very informative trusting process and all areas are covered with on the job training. At my location we are understaffed and no time for proper training for someone with none...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take necessary measures to be sure all clinics are fully staffed. Sign off on training book for ALL employees. Follow up with previous conversations of concerns and requested changes.

      University Health System2018-12-10
    Found 146 reviews