KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

VHB

Engaged Employer

VHB

Add a Review

VHB Reviews

Updated May 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
VHB President & Chief Executive Officer Michael Carragher
Michael Carragher
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company stable company good work environment employees are respected(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good work-life balance and amazing people(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "VHB likes to acquire other firms which leads to mismatches in culture within the offices and many resources dedicated to those acquisitions(in 12 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of communication between upper management and employees(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Company

      Feb 4, 2021 - Civil Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great, supportive company. Lots of opportunity for professional development

      Cons

      All remote working due to Covid

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback, we’re so glad you are having such a positive experience at VHB! We are proud of our great company culture with amazing people, like YOU!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful company

      May 28, 2021 - Engineer in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are friendly and have a great work-life balance.

      Cons

      No cons - I love working here!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      May 27, 2021 - Transportation Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture provides a healthy and productive work environment. Work-life balance is very good and the company is very accommodating of work-life issues. Work is undertaken in an ethical and technically-sound manner.

      Cons

      Would benefit from more structured and institutionalized mentoring systems. Opportunities for advancement exist but take many years to materialize.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work life balance is lacking

      May 3, 2021 - Environmental Planner in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hardworking employees. Great benefits and salary. Frequent opportunities for growth

      Cons

      The longer you stay at VHB, the more time you are expected to work on the weekend. Work life balance is not a priority for management. The company preaches innovation without giving employees time or space to think freely, given very tight deadlines. Bill-ability is incredibly high for entry level employees (98% or higher)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and are glad you’ve found positives during your time at VHB! We are taking your other comments into consideration as they will help us make VHB an even better place to work.

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 21, 2021 - Environmental Engineer in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere. All of my bosses and managers were excellent and competent and tried to encourage a healthy work-life balance. Surrounded by lots of junior staff so was good as an entry level job

      Cons

      Work life balance was sometimes not so great. It seemed to constantly be a topic of conversation with the management but there never seemed to be any headway there. Seems typical to consulting.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and are glad you found positives during your time at VHB! We will take your other comments into consideration and appreciate your input. Best of luck in your future endeavors.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Loved Working there

      May 19, 2021 - Helpdesk Technician in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The City is a Great Location

      Cons

      There is always traffic because everyone is coming in and out the city

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growing Pains But Love Company

      Mar 23, 2021 - Software Developer in Albany, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone I have ever worked with at VHB is wonderful. My boss is very open and I feel like a valued membered of every project I have ever worked on. They also have great opportunities to grow.

      Cons

      Since I started working here the applied tech section of the company has been growing very fast and because of this, they have experienced growing pains. They are still trying to figure everything out but everyone is open about and if you have complaints management will try to solve any issues that you are having.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for your feedback, we’re so glad you are having such a positive experience at VHB! We are proud of our great company culture with amazing people, like YOU! We are taking your other comments into consideration as they will help us make VHB an even better place to work.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      The people are what make it a good place to work.

      Apr 29, 2021 - Engineer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with talented professionals doing great work!

      Cons

      The people first aspect of the corporate culture has deteriorated

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and are glad you’ve found positives during your time at VHB! We are taking your other comments into consideration as they will help us make VHB an even better place to work.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Engineer

      Mar 7, 2021 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good group of people. Friendly and tight knit work environment.

      Cons

      Can't think of too much but I have heard the pay could be better as you further your career.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      We’re so glad you had a positive experience while at VHB! We are proud of our great company culture and the amazing people that help to shape it - thank you for your feedback!

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall positive experience

      Mar 11, 2021 - Research Assistant in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people on my team were serious about their work, but there was a sense of camaraderie and fun. People of all different life stages. I had several great mentors there as an early career professional.

      Cons

      Corporate office was not always sensitive or understanding of the reality in our office, which led to some seemingly avoidable conflict. Sometimes the fast pace of work could get very hectic. Overall there wasn’t much desire to challenge status quos.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VHB Response

      Communications Specialist

      We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and are glad you found positives during your time at VHB! We will take your other comments into consideration and appreciate your input.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 129 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with VHB Job Seekers

    Civil Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at VHB? Share Your Experiences

    VHB logo
    or