Vans Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Vans Global Brand President  Doug Palladini  (no image)
Doug Palladini
332 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, good people, good environment(in 121 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment, good discount(in 70 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, stress factors aren't worth it at times, most if not all of the shoes after tax are worth more than your paycheck(in 48 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage, inconsistent schedule at times(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Vans and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      FUN

      May 6, 2021 - Cashier in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great starting job! Fun coworkers, good scheduling, and great experiences.

      Cons

      No bad reviews for this one guys sorry!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Experiences can vary

      Apr 19, 2021 - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Gilroy, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed dress code, good discount, possible to have a fun work environment. Depending on your SM, DM, it can be very valuable resume building experience. However, that is generally not the case.

      Cons

      ASM is easily the worst position in the store. 90-95% of the responsibility of a SM but only about half the pay, while entry-level associates will get 3/4 your pay and have no added responsibility. Brutal retail scheduling, not as bad as big box store hours but still bad. Unless you have a great SM (you probably won’t) that knows how to schedule and hire. The illusion of upward mobility. Corporate talks a big game and has training plans on paper, but they will fall short of meeting the terms of your employment agreement. That goes for raises and for promotion opportunity. Outside talent gets paid more than homegrown. Corporate will issue changes without considering the effect on operations. They are functionally retarded when it comes to actually implementing their ideas in a real store.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Talks the talk

      May 3, 2021 - Director in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tons of amazing people with many diverse talents and interests. The brand has real promise to continue long term growth. Lots of low hanging fruit both in the business and how the brand operates.

      Cons

      Vans executive leadership cares more about talking the talk than walking the walk. From I&D efforts to things like being consumer led, real strategic and long lasting actions are not being taken. Lots of box checking and time spent preparing scripts vs instituting real change.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, great place to work.

      Cons

      Low pay with limited hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Place to Work Considering it's Retailxd

      May 8, 2021 - Assistant Store Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a company that actually cares about valid, real-world issues and takes a stand on them.

      Cons

      Sometimes they implement things when it's either too late or doesn't make sense at the time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Vans for 2 years

      Apr 22, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good for just starting out, if you're still living with your parents and not in dire need of more than 400$ a month

      Cons

      ranged from 12-16 hours a week, the 4 hour shifts weren't worth it if you had a longer drive to work, and management went downhill real fast, towards the end of my time there once everybody quit and they had to hire all new people ... it started out incredible when i first got there bc the vibes were good, and i actually liked coming to work despite having the small pay, low hours, etc but once you start getting new people that get easily rude when they get stressed out , and move people like that up, it's not worth it anymore... the good vibes were no longer present

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun, easy, great first job

      May 2, 2021 - Sales Associate in Round Rock, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment is filled with fun people who acre about eachother and try and help you in any way you can. The starting pay is great and you get amazing discounts.

      Cons

      peak seasons can be very hectic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love Working for Vans!

      Apr 12, 2021 - Floor Supervisor in Whittier, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a part-time Floor Supervisor you get what I believe is the base layer experience for a management role in most other jobs. Being part-time also really helps when you're going to school. So the hours are flexible, all while getting some experience leading a team. Also a lot of opportunity to move up within the company.

      Cons

      I can't think of any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Reliable Worker

      Feb 24, 2021 - Sales Associate in City of Industry, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like working for Vans because I love the atmosphere of the company. There’s a feeling of community that I feel at work with my customers and coworkers that I have never felt at any other job. There’s also so much room for diversity in the company. I feel like Vans let’s their employees be themselves and I can’t say I have had any bad experiences from the company in my time working here. Finally, I feel like the managers at my store have set myself and my fellow associates up for higher positions. They’re continually challenging us to be better and show us how to do things the right way. I’m always well prepared and well informed because of my managers.

      Cons

      I don’t really have any complaints other than the new shoe boxes because they give me a lot more paper cuts than the last ones.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love it here

      Mar 22, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Besides the fact that you get a free pair of vans when you first start out AND you get 50% off on everything (30% on sale items), you have the opportunity to reach 70% off everything if you are employee of the month. It's also just a great retail store to work for. I love my coworkers & I love showing up to my shifts. I also love how we can wear pretty much whatever we want as long as it's family friendly.

      Cons

      There's really not any cons for me yet (I haven't even been here 6 months yet) but I wish I had more hours. Not really a con considering I *want to go to work more*

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,341 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Vans Job Seekers

    Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vans? Share Your Experiences

    or