Veeco Instruments Reviews | Glassdoor

Veeco Instruments Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Veeco Instruments CEO William J. Miller
William J. Miller
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Exciting environment in a high tech job(in 8 reviews)

  • "At an individual level there are many good people with excellent skill sets(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's not perfect... but what company is?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    These are real people with families, doing the best they can. Everyone I have worked with has made this place feel like a second home. The employees support each other during tough times and band together like a tight-knit group. You get what you put in. At times it can be challenging, but if you come in with the right attitude you will get rewarded for your efforts. Overall this is one of the better places where I have...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some people have had bad experiences and left bad reviews. It seems like people only take the time write a review when they have had a bad experience here. While there's some truth behind what is said, and everyone has the right to their perspective, take the reviews for what they are: people venting some frustrations because some of their expectations weren't met. Yes, some things can be improved like communication between...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's room for improvement. Management can plan and communicate better. It will take some time but there is plenty of potential and willingness.

    Veeco Instruments2019-05-09

    Veeco Instruments Response

    May 14, 2019Head of Global Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. As you noted, there are always things the organization and its leadership can do to improve planning and communication, and we are continually trying to be better. If you have any specific ideas that might help, please consider sharing them with ...

    Show More
  2. "It sucked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Veeco Instruments

      Pros

      It was not Veeco when I joined

      Cons

      They are con men and women

      Advice to Management

      Get your act together Bill

      Veeco Instruments2019-03-30

      Veeco Instruments Response

      April 29, 2019Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      I recognize this response is a bit delayed, but, honestly, I've been struggling with how to respond to this feedback. I'm sorry this was your experience and I hope you had the opportunity to voice your concerns while you were here at Veeco. If you'd like to talk directly, I can ...

      Show More
    • "Buyer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Buyer in Somerset, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place to go to work andclearn

      Cons

      Hate going home at night

      Advice to Management

      Love management

      Veeco Instruments2018-11-13
    • "Accountant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time

      Pros

      Insurance, bonus plan, excellent industry

      Cons

      Let go of a lot of upper management. Communication issues

      Veeco Instruments2018-10-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Marketing Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Horsham, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to grow and learn with in the company

      Cons

      Projects can sometimes demand longer hours due to time sensitivity

      Advice to Management

      Keep listening to your reports and allowing them opportunities to grow.

      Veeco Instruments2018-10-10

      Veeco Instruments Response

      October 12, 2018Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      Great "Advice to Management" suggestion and thanks for your positive feedback!

    • Helpful (2)

      "Corporate Culture Evolution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time

      Pros

      Leadership team is evolving and company is welcoming fresh ideas, insight(s) and personnel. Great on the job learning. Fast paced environment that does not include a lot of micromanaging. My ideas are valued as are the others on my team.

      Cons

      Cross-functional changes are still slow-moving. Morale is low and accountability is lacking across teams, which is needed for a more positive business impact. Not all groups possess the "team spirit", passion and shared accountability needed to be best in class.

      Advice to Management

      Emphasis on training programs for all departments needed.

      Veeco Instruments2018-10-04

      Veeco Instruments Response

      October 8, 2018Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      Great to hear your perspective on things we are doing well. We'll continue to work on those areas like morale and accountability and continue to look for ways to provide training across the organization. Thanks for sharing your feedback!

    • "Changing organization with positive outlook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Lean organization where you will learn a lot - Talented and friendly employees - Investing in facilities, modernizing grounds, state of the art equipment - Competitive salary/benefits package - Stock purchase plan - Tuition reimbursement - Unique and interesting technologies - Changing middle and upper management moving the company forward

      Cons

      - Position flexibility - Culture - Some complacency among staff

      Advice to Management

      - Continue to listen and understand employees needs for work/life balance - Focus on and reward the positive work of employees - Address negative employee attitudes - Flexibility in work schedules, telecommuting

      Veeco Instruments2018-10-03

      Veeco Instruments Response

      October 4, 2018Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      Thanks for your feedback on your experience here at Veeco. It's important to us as we are always trying to improve. If you have specific ideas that could help us do that, especially around culture, we'd encourage you to discuss them with me, your manager, or your HR Business Partner. ...

      Show More
    • "Great opportunity for learning and growing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time

      Pros

      Corporate culture is changing and senior leadership is open to new insights, ideas and hiring change agents. Great opportunity to learn on the job and learn at a fast pace, especially if you are a self starter and work well without micro management.

      Cons

      Resistance to change for those who have been in their roles a long time. Unfortunately the opinions and voices of those who have been around a long time still hold weight and impact the day to day work dynamic.

      Advice to Management

      Investment in a comprehensive training program for all departments are needed. Relying on learning on the job is good but is not enough for the innovation and change the company will need to undergo to keep up with the industry and encourage "best in class" practices. Also more activities to boost moral, after tough organizational changes.

      Veeco Instruments2018-10-01

      Veeco Instruments Response

      October 1, 2018Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback. Great insights and a good suggestion for more activities to boost morale and more training. If you have specific ideas, you can share them with your manager or your HR Business Partner. Thanks again for sharing!

    • Helpful (4)

      "The good stuff..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Smart, smart people, latest and greatest technology, solid benefits package, engaged employees who are invested in the company's mission

      Cons

      Semiconductors and things related to them can be somewhat difficult to understand for those who aren't technology-focused. It takes some time for those of us in that category to comprehend all that Veeco does...but once we do, it's fascinating.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to keep employees accountable for their work product/meeting deadlines and keep them updated on the progress with ongoing and upcoming projects.

      Veeco Instruments2018-09-17

      Veeco Instruments Response

      September 19, 2018Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      We agree it's fascinating and Veeco is a place where you can contribute to solving difficult technical challenges and impact the world in a positive way. We'll continue to work on accountability and progress updates. Thanks for sharing your feedback!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Marketing/engineer working across multiple technologies"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Veeco Instruments full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Very sharp people, willing to help and explain technical challenges. Each division may have a range of experiences depending on the individual but personally, I have found it both empowering and a fun/challenging environment thanks to a great manager. Learning a range of cutting edge technologies from GaN Power/RF, VCSEL and microLED to EUV mask blanks, STT-RAM and more.

      Cons

      None really, but its more of a macro, industry-wide issue that needs to attract new talent. Lots of employees are super smart and clearly loyal -- many with 20+ years of experience, some even 30! A positive sign is seeing young research scientists and engineers who have recently joined. Will help retain our edge in this global competitive environment…they are the future!

      Veeco Instruments2018-09-19

      Veeco Instruments Response

      September 20, 2018Head of Global Talent Acquisition

      Definitely cutting edge technologies and our smart, talented, and loyal people are no doubt our competitive advantage. Thanks for the feedback!

    Found 118 reviews