Ventyx Reviews | Glassdoor

Ventyx Reviews

Updated May 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 196 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Matthias Heilmann
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There's no training or development of its employees(in 10 reviews)

  • "Senior Management thinks they figured it all out only for their buddies at lower and middle management to show otherwise(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Atlanta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ventyx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good learning of the agile methodology in projects

    Cons

    there is a lot of work pressure

    Advice to Management

    good

    Ventyx2014-02-27
  2. "Shell of its former self"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great peers, brilliant products that were built by legacy companies that have a loyal customer base and you will never work with better co-workers anywhere. Good vacation and 401k matching.

    Cons

    What a depressing place to work in which you will be constantly asked to justify working on profitable products. Closed door policies, punishment for speaking on behalf of customer needs and market trends, swearing at subordinates, spies planted to out dissenters, and a general disrespect for the entire staff. Oh and it's a horrid location for traffic, with little understanding from management.

    Advice to Management

    It's probably too late at this point, so much damage has been done.

    Ventyx2018-12-27
  3. "Too many CEO changes makes it really hard to create business continuity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Part of a well respected global engineering and manufacturing company.

    Cons

    Leadership turnover and constant struggle to integrate the business with the broader company.

    Advice to Management

    Give 3 years for the plan to work before changing strategy.

    Ventyx2018-09-16
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Ventyx

      Pros

      -Has ABB as a parent company

      Cons

      -Smaller organization within ABB Company

      Ventyx2018-03-28
    • "Lost their way"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Can’t really think of any

        Cons

        ABB killed this company

        Advice to Management

        Too late

        Ventyx2018-04-09
      • "Overall, good company."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - R&D Associate Engineer in Atlanta, GA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good benefits. Most direct managers really care about employees. Casual environment. Nice, convenient location. Good company values and focus. GREAT employees. Get to work with some innovative groups, on important solutions. Yearly opportunity for merit-based salary increases. Yearly opportunity for bonus, based on company performance.

        Cons

        Some teams struggle because they can't get the resources they need, such as upgrades for their outdated laptops, access to virtual machines, etc. Disconnect with upper-management, but this has been improving. Company performance is up and down quarter to quarter. Some teams have HORRIBLE work/life balance. Lots of pressure from management, creating a stressful environment for those employees. Outsourcing is becoming...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Focus on stability of current products before trying to shift focus to new. Teams that have stable/on-time releases can focus on new, but other teams that struggle to release things late, while sacrificing quality, need more attention/resources. I would also suggest investing in your younger employees more, rather than laying them off because they have the least experience. Also, need to up compensation to, at least,...

        Show More
        Ventyx2017-09-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Rudderless Ship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Consulting Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Good compensation, facilities, benefits and great US-based knowledge among employees.

        Cons

        Negative environment due to layoffs.

        Advice to Management

        Be bolder, the world is leaving you behind.

        Ventyx2017-09-07
      • "Sales Executive"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Executive in Durham, NC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Extremely deep pool of industry expert resources. Good team of market development personnel. Expansive solution set.

        Cons

        Integration between applications was underway when I left and company wisely saw need to push this initiative and also hone focus on strategic appliations within the portfolio. But in the meantime, this was somewhat of an issue.

        Advice to Management

        Focus on the key apps which play closest to the wheelhouse of ABB to take advantage of the huge strengths of the core business. Eg. Asset Health, Asset Management, SCADA, etc.

        Ventyx2017-03-02
      • Helpful (7)

        "Sr. Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Dunwoody, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        No pros to speak of.

        Cons

        Ventyx is probably the most screwed up company I've ever had the displeasure to work for. I should have seen the writing on the wall when I asked about the DR plan and I was told "We don't need to worry about that because we're just a software dev company". No work/life balance. Cheap VERY cheap company. Do not expert any perks or bonuses, but do expect long hours without any gratitude. Churn and Burn attitude. I was...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Management is clueless and always will be.

        Ventyx2017-01-30
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Ventyx full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The people are great to work with. Some areas allow work from home. Benefits are above average.

        Cons

        Management changes a lot. A new CEO about every 2 years. Middle management gets changed up quite a bit and so plans are a little chaotic.

        Advice to Management

        Stick to a plan. Don't change towards one direction and then back again a year later. Company needs a more consistent direction.

        Ventyx2016-12-13
      Found 196 reviews